We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sydney stay without the frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #66 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sydney stay without the frills”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Mantra on Bond in downtown Sydney has become my regular when in town on business, and it serves its purpose well enough. An apartment hotel rather than the more conventional room complex, it has a bit more space to it than many central city hotels. I prefer the self-catering option most of the time so the kitchen is welcome and the living areas are a decent and comfortable size.

The location can be something of a pain to get to, especially in peak traffic, but for someone on foot it's easy to reach. I've been caught in gridlocked traffic at times and it's taken an hour or so to get to the hotel from not far away - a nuisance we can all do without.

The rooms are generally quiet, which is nice, and apart from locating the air-conditioning controls (they're in the wardrobe, BTW) most things are in a logical place.

Car parking can be an issue - there are not enough parks for the hotel guests in the underground parking garage, and you don't want to be the last one in of an evening.

The hotel serves its purpose as far as I'm concerned - it's comfortable and the staff are competent and efficient.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be much the same - haven't found a special one or a real dud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Road_Kiwi,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Our apartments are designed to ensure flexibility and comfort with kitchenette and laundry facilities in each room. Our location is ideal for those wishing to visit most of Sydney's major tourist attractions. Have to agree though the traffic in the city can be a bit hectic at times. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    827
    353
    121
    83
See reviews for
502
591
89
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

No kidding. $169 a night for 2 nights got me a modern, clean renovated suite with:

Bathroom - washing m/chine and dryer
King sized bed
Step down into lounge living area
Small modern kitchen with m/vave, d/washer and stove.
Gym and swimming pool onsite (though I didn't use them this time so can' really comment)

Plenty of space, great location on George and Bond Sts. Checkin and out very easy. Ok room service selection and prices reasonable. Very comfortable. One of the best value of all my stays across Oz, and being cbd Sydney is extraordinary. My stay of choice in Sydney without doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewwwGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear AndrewwwGeelong,

Thankyou for your wonderful review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Reviews like this are a pleasure to read and justify the hard work that is put in on a daily basis by all the team. Extremely happy to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the facilities we provide. Look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in 2 different apartments at the Mantra on Bond Street, Sydney. It was the most amazing experience and all staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. I would definitely return there if returning to sydney cbd as so central to everything including public transport. The apartments were very clean and had everything we could want. A most enjoyable experience and a hotel I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get one that doesnt face the main street. Our second apartment faced George Street and a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear annie8082,

Thankyou for your wonderful review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Your conmments have been passed onto the entire team who were extremely happy to read such a positive review. We are glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for three weeks in April. The Executive Studio has a kitchenette with a dishwasher and medium-sized fridge. There is also a top-loading washing machine and tumble dryer. There is no bath, but the shower is good and the room was clean. There are proper curtains, not the roller blinds you sometimes get in Australia. There is reverse-cycle air-con. The room was quiet and the glass on the sliding door was good enough to keep out the George Street noise. Housekeeping is good, although how often your room is serviced will depend on the tarrif you have negotiated.

The bedding and general fit-out is of a high quality and modern. There is a roof-top swimming pool and a barbecue area. I saw one what appeared to be a one-bed penthouse because I was using the washing machine because mine broke down. It looked very nice with a Poggenpol kitchen and huge balcony with furniture.

The staff were competent, friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again. When I am back in Sydney this place will be my first choice.

Room Tip: You want to be as high up as possible. Taxi drivers queueing up outside The Establishment (downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear McGreedy,

Thankyou for your wonderful review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the housekeeping and front office team were able to assist and make your stay one to remember. Look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
381 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in late February and had an excellent modern and spacious apartment. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The lounge was big enough for 2 to lounge.
We didn't really use the kitchen apart from keeping drinks cold in the fridge, but it had everything you needed to cook, dine and wash up. The bathroom was smallish but had everything you needed including a washing machine and dryer (which we used when we got soaked in a downpour).

We didn't use the swimming pool as we forgot it was there, but we had the odd coffee in the reception cafe which was good.

The only difficulty is that the entrance is right on a really busy street corner and vehicles cannot pull up right outside the front door, but several metres down a side street. For most people this isn't a problem but if you were elderly or slightly infirm this could be a bit tricky. In this case pop in and ask reception for some assistance. When we left our taxi turned up in a side street on the other side of the busy road so we had to wheel our cases about 100 metres in the busy lunch hour when it seemed like the whole world was on the street.

I am quite a light sleeper so I was a bit worried whether street noise would keep me awake. I shouldn't have worried as the noise insulation is really good, so wasn't a problem.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear TravelNutBristol,

Thankyou for your very kind review of Mantra 2 Bond St. The rooms are designed with comfort and space in mind so it was great to read that they met your requirements. The hotel is located on a busy street as you mentioned however for guests wishing to be dropped off or require a taxi service Bond St is ideal for this as it is adjacent to the hotel and off George St. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in the Mantra 2 last week for wife's birthday. We had a suit which was relatively spacious, but the room need maintenance. 1st bathroom fixtures had not been cleaned, and the toilet needed service. One issue was the room thermostat which only after calling the hotel we located it in the closet... who puts a thermostat in closet? We liked the bed, and furnishings, especially the washer and drier as it was needed with the wet weather. Avoid the internet... you can find service outside the hotel.... Positive its close the rocks area and many restaurants!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Madwolf,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Our apologies for the lack of communication with regards to the air conditioning this should have been explained to you on check in. We are in the process of discussing a refurbishment program which will futher enhance our product so hopefully on your next visit you will notice the difference.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a number of times and think this place is terrific, particularly if you can get a good deal. This time we took the kids and still love the place but found the 2 bedroom apartment very small and the kitchen facilities missing basics such a fry pan and tongs etc. Minor issues really but otherwise would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_H_Sydney_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Chris_H_Sydney_...,

Thankyou for your very kind review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Our apologies for the missing items in the kitchen. The matter has been raised with the housekeeping department to ensure all items are available. Very happy to hear the family had a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#65 of 174 in Sydney
423 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing