We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free WiFi Across the Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #71 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
nottingham
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Free WiFi Across the Square”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had an executive Studio apartment for 6 nights and it was perfect for two, plenty of room, nice living area and balcony with views of Australia Square, all the kitchen facilities you’d want and a nice bedroom area, set at the back of the room, so we didn’t suffer from street noise, also being on a high floor helps. We found Sydney cheaper than Melbourne but Oz is still expensive, so we tended to eat in more and there’s a large supermarket and booze shop, very important, a few blocks up George Street. The hotel entrance is a bit sanitary and reception wasn’t over friendly, by Australian standards but we got what we wanted there and the rooftop pool was outstanding, although other skyscrapers did shadow it, in the late afternoon. However, I’d contracted a septic toe, so I couldn’t use it or have a dip at Bondi Beach, much to my disappointment but our involvement with the Australian Medicare system was pleasant, plenty of Health Centres about and we got a refund on some of the cash we’d spent, well worth knowing about the refund.

The hotel situation was superb, most places were within a few minutes walk and there was a Wally Tourist bus stop nearby, in the morning the tourist bus would be full by the time it got past there, so it was a good situation. We met a friend in Katoomba, in the Blue Mountains and instead of getting an expensive tourist bus we bought a ticket at Wynyard Street Station, just across the road which covered, the metro, the train and the Katoomba Tourist Bus, terrific value. Also, you can buy day passes for the ferries and public transport at Circular Quay, where the huge liners pull in and we loved the Rocks area, although never did find the craft brewery we spent ages looking for and we did feel very safe wondering about the main areas in the city.

Our only major complaint about the hotel, apart from the fact I kept on tripping over the small step into the bathroom, was the usual one of big chains charging for WiFi, we saw a poor woman sweating over how to get onto her iPad, in reception and paying through the nose for it. As usual, there are plenty of places who are glad of your custom and let you have free access. Our favourite was the Grand, about 50 yards diagonally across Australia Square, a busy bustling square favoured by the office workers, early doors. We didn’t try the restaurant at the Grand but the bar was like an old UK one with wood panelling, friendly staff, reasonably priced beer by Oz standards and easily accessed WiFi, the only thing that surprised us was, it shut on a Sunday, bit like Scotland when I was a lad.

Room Tip: When in a city centre hotel, always get a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    891
    383
    131
    86
See reviews for
545
638
94
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms are a little on the cramped side, but to be expected in the inner-city area. Great location to circular quay and only 30 second walk from major train station and supermarket, a short walk from the main mall. The kitchen is sufficient for making breakfast etc. Two issues were that the sofa bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in in my entire life. Secondly, the drainage in the bathroom had some issues which caused half of the bathroom to flood when the shower was used. However the room was clean and the hotel appeared to be well maintained. Would stay again however would get two rooms instead of a two-bedroom room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2012

love the mantra in the cbd. Rooms are large and clean and the hotel is a short walk from pubs, restaurants and the train station. I stay in the cbd with work several times each year and mantra is my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfo_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, Moray , Elgin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Arrived march 2012, a trip around Australia for a month. Hotel very disappointing. Had 3 different rooms. The room we eventually stayed in for remaining 4 nights vetted by receptionist who advised that it was the best of a bad lot. That one if the rooms they were going to give us she wouldn't have put her dog in because it was so unclean. We originally booked a studio apartment which was dirty on our arrival advised if we spent another 40 dollars per night we could upgrade usually 80 dollars.. Took this offer but took another 2 rooms before it was reasonably ok. Hotel in need of major refurbishment. Unfortunately would not recommend friends to stay ehich is a grat pity as the location is fantastic. Pull your socks up mantra. Get the hotel fixed and clean up your act such a shame!!!!,

Room Tip: Take a one bed apartment at least, studio suite very small. This hotel/apartment style rooms all ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexanders44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

The room was comfortable, bathroom lovely and the location is fantastic. We stayed in a group of two couples. We booked a two bedroom suite and were told this would include a living room and two bathrooms. It turns out we were given 1501A, which is two bedrooms and a common bathroom locked off from the rest of a three bedroom suite. So there was no lounge or common area in our unit, just the two bedrooms and a hall leading to the bathroom. This was fine but disappointing and not as advertised.

When we arrived to the room the beds were half made, the mini bar was obviously halfway through being restocked and it was clear maid service wasn't complete.

Also there was a large sopping wet section of carpet in one of the bedrooms, and the huge balcony, which stretched on to incorporate a couple of other suites (so be sure to lock your balcony doors), was covered in sand. We asked for someone to sweep the balcony and see to the wet carpet, neither of which happened.

Despite those negatives the hotel was worthwhile and served our purposes. We got a good room rate directly through the hotel and breakfast downstairs was fine.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very good, tidy, city hotel. Had a 2 bedroom apartment with a huge balcony. Was on a girls weekend and it was just perfect. 2 doors from the Establishment and a block from the Ivy. But this would also be perfect for families as its central to Circular Quay, Wynyard station and the city. Only downside was the 2 bedroom only had 1 bathroom!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJANDLJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for four nights.
It was a lovely, spacious, comfortable apartment with a modern, well equipped kitchen area. It was very clean and serviced every day. The cooker, dishwasher and washing machine were efficient.
It was a short walk in one direction to the harbour and in the other to the shopping area and a large supermarket.
From the swimming pool area you could see the top of the Bridge.
There is a parking bay outside the hotel which you can use to unload your car, if it is full ask the receptionist for help and you should be allowed to park for free, for a short time, in the hotel carpark.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroliz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#76 of 177 in Sydney
429 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. Maintenance Notice: Mantra 2 Bond Street is planning an upgrade of rooms and facilities to begin on Tuesday 13 June 2017. It is expected the works will continue until 30 September 2017. The hotel does plan to minimise disruption towards all guests, but understands there will be some inconvenience incurred. For all up to date information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing