We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“It's Great”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are lovely, the room and bathroom (Premier) were very attractive and a very comfortable bed. The rooms are well-cleaned and the room service is good. The free internet is wonderful and should be available everywhere, especially where people are paying for 5 star accommodation. I was both with my partner and solo duing my stay and i found it all to be suberb. The hotel is very close to the shops and also to Circular Quay and don't miss the wonderful Rocks markets on Saturday and Sunday morning. I hope to come back to the Radisson very soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Out0ft0wner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,022
    1,061
    249
    67
    50
See reviews for
664
1,821
283
1,153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is a top end hotel and the room rates reflect that. On the plus side, it is in a great location, is modern, has a nice gym and pool, the staff gave good service, and its looks nice from the outside. On the minus side, the hallways should have been monitored and cleaned more frequently (e.g noone wants to look at other people's room service left- overs) and my major gripe was the noise from the hallways into the room. My room even had a set of earplugs that I did not expect to require. There was a lot of noise from people's voices and doors slamming in the night. This was particularly bad on the Saturday night but noise was an issue every night of our 5 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Runninguy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I absolutely LOVE this hotel. I've stayed here a few times. Having moved out of Sydney for work, i love indulging whenever i get back home, by staying in a CBD hotel. I've stayed at a few different hotels this year, however this piece of heaven is my favourite place to rest and unwind in Sydney! Perfection from beginning to end - always an easy and quick check in. The valet staff are so polite, as are the check in staff and housekeeping. The staff here are so genuinely nice - i know people get paid to be pleasant, particularly in customer service type industries, but the staff at the Radisson always come across as happy in their jobs and very lovely people. I've stayed in other Sydney hotels where you barely get a smile. That is why i always rave about this hotel to friends and work colleagues (we all travel a lot, so i always recommend the Radisson Plaza Sydney for a 100% fantastic stay!).

Enough of the gushing - to practicalities. The rooms are always so immaculate, and the decor very pleasant. The beds are like beds for a princess (or prince) - so high and comfy - being an occasional insomniac, i always fall straight to sleep without waking during the night. On my recent stay, as previously, there weren't any problems with noise from outside. The room service menu is by FAR the best of any hotel! I highly recommend the spaghetti wagyu beef bolognaise as a late night treat - the best pasta meal ever, I always doze comfortably off to sleep every time.

The hotel offers so many services such as internet, newspaper delivery in the morning, in room massage (divine!), access to your account via the tv (so if you're on a budget, its easy to keep on top of hotel expenses - very handy) with the benefit of Bilson's restaurant just downstairs. The location itself is perfect, and close to all the touristy sights, which as someone born and raised in Sydney, i now get a kick out of participating in, now that work has kept me away. The vibrancy of the city is right at your doorstep!

I recently took a weekend away on my own as a stress reliever and to recharge my health, and ive got to say, the stay was better than any health spa or counselling session could ever be! ;o)

Yes, the hotel can be pricey, but the experience is so worth the expense.

PERFECTION! BLISS! INDULGENT! UNPRETENTIOUS!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savy_Sydney_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Obviously this hotel isn't cheap, but if you're looking for unquestionable luxury then it's worth it. It was the icing on the cake of our stay in the city. You really feel like a VIP by all the staff, who can't do enough for you. The nice thing about these really good hotels is that you don't have to worry about 'extras', all stuff like internet, left luggage, doorman, taxi hailing, etc. is complimentary. Can't stress enough how good the staff were, and the room was so amazing we didn't want to leave - everything down to the ceiling heater and waffle robes in the bathroom!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethan659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The Hotel-
first impressions were fantastic - after all, who doesnt like men in top hats and tails opening doors for you?
Beautiful building - orinially housed a newpaper print, and then a bank.. has retained a lot of its heritage.
gorgeous entrance and impeccable service.
On arrival, we were informed we had been upgraded to a spa suite (I had informed the hotel our stay was for a special celabration) on the 7th floor.
The room -
The suite was stunning - a corner room with a massive bed, workstation and lounge area.. down the seperate hallway was the toliet and possibly the most beautiful bathroom i have ever seen. Also waiting for us was a bottle of sparkling wine on ice and some chocolate dipped strawberries , with a note congratulating us :D
The suite was tastefully decorated
The bed was massive, extremely comfortable and had a pillow menu (which made me giggle).
Facilities/service-
we checked out the pool/gym area - didnt use it, but it looked gorgeous.
Didnt eat in (as we were on a really tight budget)
cannot fault service - concierge staff very friendly, turndown service made me giggle again at the opulence, Ingred (the customer service officer?) went above and beyond to make our stay special

Location-
gorgeous spot - just out of the bustle of the main shopping precint, but close to everything. 5 minute, if that, walk to the rocks (ferries, harbour bridge, opera house), probably same distance to pitt st mall.. we walked everywhere, and were buggered at the end, but we did a couple of loops of the city, and to oxford st and back to see one of Australia's best bands - My Future Lies :)
there's plenty of budget food places close by, and coffee.

Overall, could not recommend this highly enough to others, and will return ourselves as soon as possible

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntiehairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrith
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed here for my Birthday and i couldnt of picked a better place. I have stayed here before and the service was just as good. Because it was my Birthday room service bought up a bottle of wine and wished me happy birthday. All the staff here are so friendly always saying hello and are so helpful. Breakfast was lovely our waiter sat us down and bought us a pot of tea and coffee straight away. Our room was perfect we had a premier room and the bath had shutters that opened up so you could see into the bed room. The bed was so compfy and everything was spotless.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The bed was very comfortable, the sheets luxurious and the room quiet.The hotel was undergoing some renovations and presumably replacing some furniture as my desk chair was on it's last legs. Room service food was very good and seemed fast. Almost all staff extremely friendly and efficient. Room was a bit dark. Decent length heated pool was very handy. Terribly street parking availability for anyone visiting. Virtually no street parking ever so option is $40 in lot nearby. Great wi-fi at no additional cost. Walk to Botanical Gardens. Good coffee shops close by. Great doormen.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leightwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,182 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing