We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way. Will definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way. Will definitely be back”
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I was only here for 2 nights unfortunately as I could easily have stayed at least a week! What a lovely hotel in every way. Great service from start to finish, fantastic room and brilliant location. What more could you ask for?
The location is very central and so whilst you don't get a view of the Harbour once you leave the hotel 5 minutes later you are at Circular Quay.
I updated to a suite which was nice but I think a standard room would have been perfectly fine. There was nothing to fault in the room Huge comfortable bed, great bathroom, fantastic shower and plenty of space.
I didn't eat in the restaurant or go in the bar but they both looked really cool. The reception is a great place to hangout when you are waiting to meet up for the day's activities.
Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel and it was a thoroughly pleasant experience to finish off our trip before flying home to GB.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,191
    1,102
    254
    69
    53
See reviews for
715
1,891
296
1,220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at the Radisson Plaza for the first time and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment we pulled up in our car to the moment the left, we could not fault this hotel. Staff were experienced, professional and friendly and went out of their way to help and make you feel welcome. Check in and check out was hassle free, the room was immaculate and the bathroom superb even having bathroom scales so that you could weigh yourself (For those of us who are health and weight obsessed that was a wonderful touch!) The gym was very well equipped and the lap pool was delightful with a beautiful view especially if you are doing backstroke!.....I was the only person using both facitilies each time.

We had the buffet breakfast both mornings and the selection was wonderful and if there was something you wanted that wasn't on show, they would get it for you! We dined in Bistro Fax both nights and contrary to other reviews found the prices very reasonable for Sydney. We both had 2 courses and drinks each night and the bill came in at under $100 each time. We often visit Sydney and stay at 5 star hotels in the CBD, selectively trying a different hotel each time we stay, but found the Radisson to be amongst the best, mainly for its more intimate and boutique feel. We booked the Radisson package and at $215 for the room and buffet breakfast , this was excellent value for money. We will definately choose the Radisson again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTJ058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

It was our 3rd visit to Sydney and we had booked the Radisson after a horrible experience at the Cremorne Point Manor in North Sydney....thankfully we moved in to the Radisson and instantly felt at home.

We caught a ferry into Circular Quay and the hotel is just a short walk up into the city, perfect if you are planning on catching ferries our to the zoo, Manly or Darling Harbour or is you just want to enjoy the lovely restaurants and bars around the quay or the city centre.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and our room despite being the standard room was spacious and had a lovely big kind sized bed and large bathroom. If I went back I would however ask for a room with a nicer view than office buildings!

I would highly recommend booking a massage while you're there, definitely the best I've had.

A very nice hotel. Oh and the wireless broadband was complimentary which were thought was a nice touch....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_G03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

The hotel is excellent, very comfortable and quiet. A carpeted room with two very large beds and good quality linen. Choice of pillows. Irritating music in the public areas, complimentary wifi efficient in our room on 4th floor (supposedly only working in lobby). Good breakfast choice, but coffee somewhat tasteless. The hotel is very central and only about 10 minutes on foot from circular quai and in the other direction to Pitt Street shopping and the central plaza. Highly recommended with agreeable and helpful staff. There is apparently an excellent, if pricey, top quality restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Got five nights for the price of four with Trailfinders after booking early. The hotel is in a great position, right between Circular Quay and the main shopping centre.
The standard room was excellent, spacious, contemporary with clean lines. Bathroom was enormous and bright with plenty marble, big bath and a walk-in shower. Staff were polite and helpful and I was allowed to check-in at 11am which was great after travelling from Scotland.
Atrium room didn't have much of a view but the room represented good value and I had no other quibbles.

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MistyLaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Very central hotel 5 minute walk to the bridge. Room was ok. Staff were really snobbish and made you feel a bit awkward.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmandnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

A little puzzled by some good reviews of the club lounge. Firstly, it's not a lounge, it's a room with 6-7 tables squeezed in very close together, even whispering people across the room could hear you. The little room upstairs with a few tables and mini-tub chairs in, is dismal. Considering the average breakfast spread and the early closing of the whole area, staff attitude apart (as they were very good) these are the worst club facilities we have ever come across.

The room was small, but comfortable, small, but nice bathroom - excellent powerful shower - but very small towels (only 3 between us, called for more, then got 6, which we needed as they never seemed to dry properly).

Staff were hit and miss, reception greeting and check-out wasn't all that brilliant, concierge and 'bell-boys' very good.

It was in a great location, but there are others in the same area, that if we went back we would try. If you do go, save your money, club isn't worth it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,807 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing