We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is focused on customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This hotel is focused on customer service!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for my daughter's 14th birthday! We rented 2 rooms on the 12th floor. the hotel was at maximum capacity and we didn't feel it. The managers Adam and Oscar were wonderful and everyone was helpful and polite. The hotel was clean, buffet was delicious, the location was great (only minus was that we didn't have a nice view). We asked for an extra robe and it was up in 5 minutes. Bathrooms were fully renovated and wonderful. Beds were comfortable. What can I say, great value for money for a Sydney boutique hotel with great service! Well done.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Syldawg,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel in particular our duty managers Adam and Oscar. Unfortunately we are a no view hotel but as you found out we are close to all the sights and attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,021
    1,059
    249
    67
    50
See reviews for
664
1,818
283
1,153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a great hotel located in one of the most prime locations in Sydney. For me, the strip along Pitt Street between Circular Quay, where all the ferries launch, and the shopping along Pitt Street in the other direction is the best place to be in Sydney. Ever since the upgrades in shopping and dining venues were made in anticipation of the Olympic Games in Sydney, Circular Quay has become an even greater destination. Of course, the Opera House has always been a huge draw for photo opportunities, but now there are even more reasons to be near the Quay. The nearby historical area known as The Rocks is also chocked full of eateries, shops, taverns, and other tourists attractions. And this area is also just a couple minutes walk from the hotel.

Just past the Opera House is the Botanical Gardens, an area that is maybe the best place in the city for a walk, jog, or even a picnic. I never miss an opportunity to visit the gardens there for exercise, fresh air, and to be near the water.

The hotel's rooms are clean and spacious and there are a lot of channels on the TV. My WiFi signal was strong and reliable and the hotel staff is outstanding, friendly, and helpful. In fact, from the concierge to the front desk to the housekeeping staff I don't think you will find a friendlier and helpful staff anywhere, at any price! The bed was very comfortable too, but the room was a little cold. I couldn't find a way to change the temperature, but I never contacted anyone on the staff about it. I guess I wasn't in the room long enough to make that a priority.

My only two criticisms of the property include the hotel gym and restaurant. The gym is very small and not very well equipped for a anyone serious about exercise. There are several treadmills and a strange and limited multi-station machine that really does not allow much of a full body workout. And why would you need treadmills in such a beautiful city, with the Botanical Gardens so close by? As for the restaurant, I can't judge the food because I did not eat there. But I still criticize it because it is prohibitively expensive. In my several days there I never saw more than a few people in the restaurant, which was no surprise. There are too many other options outside the hotel that are a much better bargain. I have never understood this pricing concept. I would think great volume at more reasonable prices would be a better strategy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manu204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear manu204,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel in particular our location and rooms.

Please be assured that we do take everyones comments seriously. We have a recently re-vamped our dinner and lunch options for the hotel to $35 for Two Course Dinner and a $39.95 Two Course Lunch including a glass of wine. My apologies as this was not effectively communicated to you. You are right our gym is small and we recently updated our equipment unfortunately with the size of the gym it does limit to the amount of equipment we have available. But we do have a limited offer available for guests with free passes to Fitness First across the road from the hotel. This is a trial at the moment with a more permanent solution to be put in place in 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scb13
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel included a lovely example of amazing customer service. With special thanks to "Oscar" the Head of Customer Service, who very thoughtfullly and graciously lent my darling husband, his personal set of cufflinks when we had forgotten to pack a set. When we made this request at the front desk during a very busy time, "Oscar" promptly offered his cufflinks and hand delivered them to us. A small gesture, but a lasting one. The hotel has all the qualities you'd expect from one of this standard, but this experience made it something special and memorable, and we would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear scb13,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel in particular our service and found Oscar particular helpful, dubbing him now the 'Head of Customer Service' which i'm sure he will be chuffed with, he certainly adds a lot of character to the hotel and looks after every guest attentive and is a true asset to the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Anyone visiting or looking to stay at this hotel should definitely think twice. I stayed there for the first time on Saturday and booked my hotel through lastminute.com which I often do and normally go for a secret hotel.
Many of times that I has booked a secret hotel I ended up getting The Jameson Amora on Jamison St which has been fantastic, I have stayed there over 8 times this year and do not have a bad word to say.
Last week when booking a secret hotel I ended up getting the Radisson Blu which I thought great, looking forward to staying at a different hotel for once, boy was I WRONG.
I checked in and all was fine till I got to my room, firstly it was an outdated room that looked like it was designed in the 80's, secondly the fridge did not work, so they sent a technician up, so my afternoon was spent watching a technician figure out if I needed a new fridge.
I went back down to reception and paid an extra $95.00 for an upgrade as I knew the fridge was going to have to be replaced and did not want people walking in and out of my room.
Well my upgrade was in a smaller room and to top it off they charged my credit card $95.00 as well as taking the cash for the upgrade, so I was charged twice.
I bought this up with Georgina(front desk) there and she was not helpful at all, her from desk manager was thou.
They have since refunded the extra $95.00 that I paid but I was totally disgusted with the service and the way they handled everything.
I stay in hotels quite regularly because of my Job but I will never stay at another Radisson again, they did not even offer me a discount nor an apology.
I am totally disgusted in this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Giorgio J,

I understand that you have been in touch with my staff regarding the matters you have outlined above and I’m pleased to see you rebooked with us and coming back next month.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed overnight (Saturday evening function), would definitely stay again.

Completely impressed by the flawless & professional service provided; from the Concierge, Front Desk, Room Service, to the Restaurant staff. (coming from a Lover of great Customer Service).

Rooms were Clean. comfortable.

We stayed in a hotel style room, which gave the impression of space, perhaps from its rich stylings..

Everyone appeared efficient.

Completely impressed.

Thank you Radisson Blu staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cle076076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear cle076076,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel in particular our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Great location , excellent quality throughout hotel and staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Rooms were large and amenities were new and clean. Was located in a great part of Sydney, the room rate was priced well. Don't hesitate to book.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Daisylu2005,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel in particular our rooms and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

After much research and deliberation we chose the Radisson Blu Plaza and conclude that its a super choice for our short stay in the Sydney CBD for a Sunday and Monday night. We can’t be sure, but suspect that it may a bit quiet on the weekend as we noticed that many of the small kiosk style eateries which we found on the Monday are infact closed all weekend. The hotel is in the heart of the business district which is really busy in the week. Starting Monday there are some great lunch options over the road - look for the umbrellas in the open piazza in Pitt Street. These are casual, inexpensive and quick. Up the road is Chifley Place for shopping and eating, and famous Rockpool if you're into something more expensive. The Rocks market kicks off on the weekend and is not far away.

The hotel is convenient for trains from Martin Place, buses and Circular Quay ferries, and is about a 10 min walk from Circular Quay. The Sydney Opera House and The Rocks are about 15min away. Our room was very quiet for a city hotel. Even if it was a standard room it was very spacious and comfortable, ditto for the bathroom which is all clad in white marble. One possible negative was the soft mattress, but then we found all Australian mattresses to be too soft. This one was a bit of a "boat" and we have reported this back to the hotel so hopefully the mattress will be changed.

Free wifi Internet is available in the room (thankfully). We did not use the pool or gym but they looked good. The staff are efficient and warm, the chaps at the front entrance all look like models (!) and were friendly and always super helpful. Thank you, guys. Overall this was an excellet choice, good value for money by Sydney standards and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisylu2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Daisylu2005,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel in particular our location staff members

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,174 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing