We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if you can afford it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #10 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is our favourite place to stay in Sydney. Unfortunately the prices are always high. It is almost impossible to get specials any more. Have stayed at other places and they just don't compare. The location for us is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max21au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear max21au,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular the location.

Unfortunately due to peak periods and high demand we aren't able provide the specials you might be after. However I can assure you that a Sunday night is a great night to stay in Sydney CBD and great value for money for our hotel. Also perhaps book direct on our website as this will always provide the best rate for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,518 - 3,524 of 4,897 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect location to explore Sydney. All main attractions including bus routes and train stations only short walk away. Only about 20 mins train journey from airport. The service at reception is excellent we arrived at 0600 and they allowed us straight into our room! The rooms are very clean and very quiet,the beds are extremely comfortable... Perfect!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wendy24-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear wendy24-10,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and we were able to accommodate an early check-in which is not always possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

1st time to Radisson Blue in Sydney. Decided to stay here after seeing reviews. We arrived early around 11am knowing that we probably could not check in yet but were offered a room of the same standard with 'internal' view of other buildings right then OR we could wait to check in later and get one with 'external' view over the street. We opted for the early entry room and I was thinking this might be a bit dim and dark, but as soon as we opened the door the sun was pouring in through the window.........so although you are just looking at the backs of other buildings the room was very sunny and bright and surprisingly large. The bathroom was lovely and spotlessly clean. The bedroom was also clean and fresh - although I have to say lacked that 'luxury' feel and I think this may be due to lack of window dressings and art on the walls.
Although the window has a roller sunblock blind and a black out blind the lack of side curtains gave the room a bit of a unfinished look so I did not get the '5 star' feel that this hotel has been rated, however this room was super quiet. The bathroom has a nice quirky piece of art that folds back into the bathroom to expose a window between bedroom and bathroom and can be closed up to expose an artwork in a frame - novel idea. The hotel location is great and close to everything no matter which way you are heading and the staff are extremely friendly. Check in was top notch, Check out was top notch and the doorman are always there for a greeting, or to make sure you know where you going or help with the bags. All in all it was a nice stay, and the room was very roomy with plenty off options to sit including a window seat, but for the price paid it just felt a little 'bare'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hangar2jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear hangar2jo,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular our Atrium rooms which seems it provided everything you needed for your stay.

I'm sorry to read that you felt you didn't have a 'luxury' stay, I can assure you of our five-star standard and we continue to do vigorous competitor checks to ensure we are value for money and a true five-star experience. I've passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper regarding the window dressings and black out blinds to investigate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel rooms are spacious and modern yet retain the character of the old building. The staff are always friendly and attentive.
The hotel location is good and within walking distance to most of the CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear yvc129,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and experienced what i'm proud of is attentive and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

For a hotel that charges so much for a room for the night I must say I was a little underwhelmed. We were 8 floors up and didn't get much light In to the room as were just surrounded by buildings- no views of the city at all. I would have hoped for the price we could have seen something out the window.
In saying that the service was great, the beds were really comfortable and rooms very clean. The bathrooms were especially lovely and almost the highlight of the room.
We were able to leave our bags and car after check out until we were ready to leave the city- this made things easy for us as we had more time to spend in the city.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Mauricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Mauricia P,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular the service and rooms.

Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel we are unable to promote we have views, however this obviously was not communicated to you effectively and I will have our Marketing and Communications team look into our current communications as we are known as a no view hotel. However we feel as it appears you did experience we make up for it with our attention to detail and excellent hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

About to check out from the Radisson Blu after spending two days in Sydney. The hotel is comfortable but essentially in the middle of no where. Most of the rooms face another office building where you can actually see what they are typing and they can see what you are doing in your room. The breakfast is ordinary compared to other 4 star plus hotels in Sydney.

You are likely to feel good about the hotel if this is your first time in Sydney and you haven't experienced any other hotels. However, a lot of hotels in Sydney have amazing views (Shangri-La on Circular Quay has Opera house views from most rooms with an amazing breakfast; Novotel and Ibis have great Darling Harbor Views) and it would be a waste to not enjoy those.

Room Tip: No help here. Most rooms face an office building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear ppfc,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. You are right we are in the middle of Sydney CBD and I can see by your review this was not what you were exactly after. I want to take this time to apologise that we have not done our job on your recent stay with us. I’ve asked our Marketing and Communications team to revisit our website and some of the booking websites to ensure that we are not communicating we have harbour/water views. I feel that our we make up for this in our hospitality and the friendliness of our staff.
I’m sorry your stay was not quite five-star and I’ve passed on your comments to our food and beverage manager regarding breakfast and asked him to do a comparison to other hotel CBD properties.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Peter Tudehope
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very nice hotel, ideally located for travellers to Sydney. We liked proximity to Circle Quay and all the main tourist attractions.

Rooms large and clean and, all staff very friendly and helpful. Beds large and extremely comfortable.

Bathroom and shower were excellent.

We took breakfast on our first morning and enjoyed a great selection of fruit, juices, and pastries. My only complaint here is cost - why must nearly all hotels levy excessive charges for breakfast? I'm sure if prices were more reasonable then breakfast dining rooms would be busier places!

We would stay here again if we come back to Sydney.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ScotTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear ScotTourer,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular the location and rooms. Regarding breakfast we have a range of options available not just our hotels buffet and I’m sorry as this was not communicated to you effectively. I will speak with our food and beverage manager on how best to market the more economic options available to our guests. I can assure you that we are competitively priced with other five-star hotels around the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
2,012 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $178 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing