We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Luna Park Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guildford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overnight Luna Park Package”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived during the International Fleet Review to celebrate our kids birthday. We were greeted by the Valet driver who promptly unloaded our bags and delivered them to the concierge.

The hotel was extremely busy considering the event taking place. Our room took an extra 20mins to get ready so we walked around the city and came back in time to pick up our key. The rooms are immaculate condition, love the huge windows, and the little window view to the bathroom, especially with the kids enjoying bath times, can keep an eye and still stay dry from the other side. The robes were huge, nice and warm too!

We also had the buffet breakfast at Bistro Fax, got there in time because when we left there was a queue up. Good variety but I've had better buffet at other hotels. Has a wonderful ambience though - nicely lit and comfy seating.

Just had a few hiccups with our stay.
* The Luna Park package couldn't be redeemed as it was International Fleet week so we paid another $200 at Luna Park (my fault for not checking up the events in the city during the weekend).
* The Movie deal that also came with the package did NOT deliver snacks. Front desk told us to call when we were ready, when I called to ask for our snacks, couldn't understand what the Indian guy was saying and he seemed more frustrated than I did!
* Although the pool is ideal for the kids being 1m deep, due to the massage, spa etc around, kids can't make as much noise which is hard with our terrors.
* There's no ramp at the entrance so the concierges have to help with our strollers up and down the stairs every time we went out.

Great location as it is close to Wynyard and Circular Quay train stations. Also, there's so much to see around the area. Unfortunately, the weekend went fast that we didn't do much city sightseeing.

This is a four star hotel but not ideal for my family, I prefer to stay at the three star hotels where we're not snubbed off and "fun" is acceptable! Staff are great, lovely and friendly though. Except for that annoying Indian guy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akstar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Ake A,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your overall experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney and that you had a great family weekend.

However I was concerned to learn of the hiccups you endured during your stay. The Luna Park Package was certainly available to be redeemed, my sincere apologies for this. If you could get in touch with Alex Barnett, our Marketing Communications Manager he will facilitate a refund from Luna Park for the additional tickets. Contact him on 02 8214 0149 or abarnett@radisson.com

Please be assured I will follow up on this matter with the related departments and reiterate our family package deal and the friendly “Yes I Can” service we strive to provide at all times. I also took note of your comment in relation to the spa pool area. Although it is our aim to ensure families utilize this area for leisure, there are also guests seeking relaxation in the spa area and this has been a challenge for the hotel to look after all our guests needs. We do have a project in place to section off the spa from the pool to ensure our guests are not inconvenienced as such.

On a future visit, please contact our Guest Relations Manager- Jeniffer Cardoso via jcardoso@radisson.com and she will be happy to ensure you are well looked after.

Kind regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,191
    1,102
    254
    69
    53
See reviews for
715
1,891
296
1,220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has been beautifully refurbished since the last time we stayed there. From the great pillows and mattress to the roomy and functional bathroom, there is attention to detail. The staff are friendly, attentive and courteous and there was nothing that we needed that wasn't provided. We will definitely seek this hotel out for future stays in Sydney.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the atrium in the centre of the hotel, so there was no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penesloppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Penesloppy,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney again and that you found our staff friendly, attentive and courteous. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels around Australian Capital cities and The Radisson Blu is at the top of the tree for service and quality. You won't be disappointed. Valet parking, check in, room cleanliness and furnishings were all top quality with friendly staff and late check out included complimentary. Loved it and have paid more and got less in many hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ytedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Ytedz,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and you rank us in your TOP 3 hotels for service and quality. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Premier Room with our 2 kids aged 6&9 for 7 nights & didn't kill each other!! The room & bathroom was spacious with doubled height windows. The beds were comfy & large. All complete with a 5 choice pillow menu.

The pool / spa / steam room area was a great respite for us all after a day exploring the city (albeit a little small & not conducive to lounging about reading a book)

We used the room service & the beauty therapy services, both of which were great.

All staff were super friendly & always checking to make sure everything was ok. Xander (doorman) was very helpful indeed.

Given we stayed during the Fleet Review, which was a peak time with tourists, I can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucylouperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Lucylouperth,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel with your children. In particular you found that our Premier room was spacious enough for your family. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Radisson Blu from September 30 to October 4. We were able to check-in early (11:30a) and were even upgraded. That set the tone for the stay. The room was spacious, the bathroom was bright, big and clean, and the location is excellent. Just a 10 minute walk to Circular Quay and The Rocks and just a few minutes more to the Opera House, Hyde Park and the Art Gallery. We were acknowledge every time we left or arrived by Concierge. If my travels ever take me back to this great city, I will definitely stay at the Radisson Blu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear itravelaround,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel all the way from Cleveland, Ohio. I'm glad we were able to accommodate an early check-in for you on this trip. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The last time I stayed here was on my wedding night nearly ten years ago.

This hotel has a great location for accessing Circular Quay. The quality of the food for both dinner and breakfast is great. The rooms are ok, nothing amazing but functional and a great bathroom.

All of the staff were fantastic, especially the Concierge team.

I stayed for three nights mid week, the cost given the location was pretty good.

The pool area is great for kids and is indoor so regardless of the weather your good. There is also a spa and sauna if that's what your into :)

Would I stay there again, yes indeed. The room service is also worth a mention, as my commented, the meal she had one night whilst I was working was better than what was served in the restaurant.

One negative is that it does take some time to retrieve your car as they park them a few blocks away. So plan ahead if you want to get away and give the concierge notice. The rooms could do with a little more natural light.
Great work guys...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Jason O,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quality of food for both dinner breakfast at Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar.

My sincere apologies we did not effectively communicate our valet situation. It takes between 15-20 mins for cars to be retrieved and we ask that guests call concierge and let them know when they require their car.

The exit for our hotel car park is on Pitt St with the entrance of the hotel on O'Connell St due to all the one way streets Concierge have to go over two city blocks to get back to the front of the hotel.

Despite the hiccup with valet i'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaxland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent value up grade to business class for $95 gave us a better room, buffet breakfast for two, and best of all from 6pm to 8pm free drinks anything u like and canapes as much as u want. Bargain!!! Excellent service from all staff. Very personal and helpful. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Up grade to business class. Bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Gregory W,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Business Class Lounge and your stay with Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,807 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing