We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Sydney without the price tag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #10 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Sydney without the price tag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is just a stones throw away from the Botanic gardens, Woolloomollo, the Opera House and Darling Harbour- perfect!

The hotel went through a refurb a year or so ago so is really fresh. Great food and a cool cafe across the road that does great breakfasts. I stay here every time I come to Sydney - it rocks!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakeroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,387
    888
    212
    58
    40
See reviews for
493
1,501
238
895
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great hotel for sightseeing. Central location within walking distance of all major attractions. Very clean and excellent size rooms. Superb pool area- very relaxing after a days walking around the city

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbalinaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just two nights and found this hotel to be just perfect. The staff were all very helpful and polite. The room was very clean and modern and the free WiFi is fantastic. The location of the hotel is brilliant. Ten minutes walk to Circular Quay, The Rocks, The Opera House etc. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bigcol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I spent a few days here recently on a business trip. Check in and check out was efficient and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Free internet in the room was appreciated and should be the standard in all hotels these days although the signal was a little weak in my room.

Location is good for business travellers and for tourists the Rocks and Circular Quay as well as the Pitt St mall are only a 10 min walk away.

The main drawback to this hotel is that its rooms and decor are a bit tired. It is in a heritage building and so there are restrictions but a facelift or freshening up is needed if it is to compete with other 4 or 5 star hotels in the area.

The breakfast is also not quite up to the standards of its competitors. There isn't enough variety and the service was quite slow.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent our last 4 nights here as part of a tour of Australia. A wonderful city with iconic buildings. The hotel was once a newspaper building and has lots of character. Friendly welcome and very helpful staff. The bed was extremely good with nice cotton sheets. Shower room was spacious with lots of space to MY things. Free WiFi throughout the hotel, although the business centre computers could do with updating. Breakfast was good. Our room did not have much of a view, ask when booking for a decent view. The room itself was spacious and well equipped. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a confortable room with two queen beds and this allowed us to save the money for our child's bed. The hotel is less than 10-15 minutes walk from the Opera House, the Rocks, the Harbour's Bridge and the Royal Botanical Garden. It's near to the airport, around 20-25 minutes by taxi from the airport (we paid 50 dollars for a ride). And at walking distance you can find a supermarket (Woolworth) and is plenty of places if you prefer have a breakfast not in the hotel.
Anyway, the hotel breakfast started from 7.50 dollars. The hotel staff was always friendly and allowed us to save on the price of the room. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny1076902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel has become our usual haunt when staying in Sydney and has a great location, free wifi, extremely comfy beds, nicely laid out rooms, superb business lounge, beautiful toiletaries on the Executive floors and a decent restaurant.
But honestly, the reason we keep coming back is the service truly has no parallel in any hotel we've stayed at in Sydney and we've conservatively stayed at least once in every four and five star hotel in the CBD and along the habour front over the past decade.
There's a difference between a hotel with good customer service and a hotel whose staff make you feel like you're returning home, this is indisputably the latter.
I have never encountered a staff member, from the doormen and the cleaners through to the manager (who personally responds to any feedback) that I wouldn't nominate for a staff-of-the-month award, its just 'standard' here.
We've stayed here so many times, we've now tried all the rooms from the standard and Executive rooms to the spa suite and even the Presidential suite but no matter what class of room we stay in, the level of service is consistently stellar.
The only time we don't stay here is when they're booked out or we need a multi-bedroom apartment (which they don't offer). And when we don't stay here, we spend our trip wishing we were!

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,506 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,248 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 362 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, A superb restaurant, Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing