We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the service, and love the bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the service, and love the bed.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We travelled with a family of 5, and we are all happy with the service. Every staff in the hotels are so friendly, esp the door men and the information services, they all very much happy to help you. The location is great too, we can walk to the rocks, circular quay, shopping centers and restaurants, and etc. Besides, the bed and pillows are so nice, so comfortable, I like them even better than my home's. Overall, we are happy about staying in this hotel for its good value, good service, and good location.
The only thing is the swimming pool is not as big as what i expected, but I am still happy about the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c4m22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,032
    1,064
    249
    67
    50
See reviews for
665
1,825
283
1,161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singleton, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed in this hotel for an overnight stay .staff pleasant and helpfull and a nice hotel.everything was there for a 5 star accomodation only room was on the small side.apart from that great location and everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I think overall this hotel is great as long as you can find an affordable rate in the $200 range. Certainly not very hip, but the location and the overall service and price combination is hard to beat in this expansive City. Here are my list of pros and cons:

- Location is great as it is only a few block away fro the pier and close to shopping
- Breakfast spread is great, I want to say that it is better than the Park Hyatt Sydney
- We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was good there too (bit overpriced)


Cons:
- Rooms feel a bit outdated, not very hip

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ucipass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
321 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a three day weekend at this property with the family recently and had no complaints.

Check in was quick and informative but not too time consuming but also not rushed.

Rooms were nice and clean and decently appointed. I dont know that I found them to be spectacular but they were nice. I would equate them to be on more of a four star level but no complaints there either.

The hotel has complimentary internet and it works for multiple devices and my room had wired as well and both worked really well except for one hiccup in the morning after arrival but it was fixed within a couple of hours. Speed was very good which often is not the case with properties that provide free internet.

Location is very good and you can get to quite a bit of the sites with a medium to long walk for $10 taxi ride. Nice to be close to the action but not in it so you can relax after returning for the night.

We did dine at the restaurant one evening upon arrival and at first though that it would be all show and no good food but luckily the food matched the professional service. It really was excellent. It was a bit pricey but it is a hotel restaurant so that is the way it goes but at least it was really good food. Nothing worse than overpaying and going to bed still hungry. The service was good but not stuffy which is how we like it. We did not have breakfast there but did take a look at the menu online and thought it looked like pretty good value for the ala carte items but the buffet at $35 was a little much for what I would want for breakfast.

Staff was all friendly. We did not come across a rude or lazy person and everyone seemed empowered to help with anytime we needed and went beyond any request we had.

I cant see any reason not to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stay here regularly for business and in a way its a home away from home. Staff are very friendly and I'm often upgraded which is always a treat. The beds are very comfortable and I also love the big bath!

Bistro Fax, the restaurant, serves great meals and the 2 course $35 special is very good value they also stock Clifford Bay which is one of my favourite wines.

My only negative is that the rooms can be a little warmer than I'd prefer during the night

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LonghornTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The fact that the hotel offers in-room free wi-fi convinced me to rate it with 5 stars, as most places in Australia charge for this service. High ceilings, large bathroom, quiet and clean room, comfortable bed, and an excellent location close to Circular Quay, where you can catch ferries, trains and buses that will take you almost anywhere in Sydney.

The building is stylish and traditional, and the service is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyingthislife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
238 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

During our 4 nights stay we consistently experienced friendly and warm encounters with all staff from concierge / reception to cleaners and restaurant service, which clearly evidenced superior training and service culture. We took advantage of the pillow comfort guarantee and switched to feather and down option that gave us superb rest. As Carlson Club members we benefited from the room upgrade and restaurant discounts and this membership is strongly recommended for best quality and value experience. We enjoyed breakfast (a la carte), room service lunch, and dinner experiences, with the restaurant staff bringing their top game to each guest. With our spacious room and above average quality room furnishings, we had a very happy experience with easy walks to The Rocks, Darling Harbour, Botanic Gardens, Opera House and QVB etc and we thoroughly recommend this hotel, planning to return in the future.

Room Tip: Obtain Carlson Club card in advance for room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,190 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing