We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful old building, centrally located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A beautiful old building, centrally located.”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel was a lovely old lady on the outside, but very modern on this inside. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Our meals were very nice and our room was all you would expect. Good location and hardly any traffic noise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,032
    1,064
    249
    67
    50
See reviews for
665
1,825
283
1,161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were booked for 2 nights during the week. We arrived on Monday morning after a long flight from Paris, so were quite happy when we called and they said we could check in at 10am.

We arrived at the Pitt Street entrance, which is downstairs from the lobby and reception. There is a phone there, which indicates you can call to have someone help with luggage, we did so. However no one came for a good 10 minutes. So we lugged our bags to the main entrance. As we were waiting for our room in the lobby, we heard the concierge tell one of the porters to "go downstairs, because there might be some people waiting with bags". It was probably just an oversight, but a bit annoying, nonetheless.

The room itself was quite nice. Modern, clean, nice finishings with a big bathroom.
The window is large, but starts from very high up on the wall, so there isn't the feeling of spaciousness that you get from rooms with lower windows. It's understandable though, as the room is right in the middle of the CBD and a lower window would probably give us a view into someone's office next door!

Breakfast was included in the rate and it was pretty good. Fresh OJ, different selections on the 2 days, good condiments.

The hotel is in the business part of the city, so it's a bit dead in terms of eating, sightseeing, culture. But it's an easy walk/busride to all the fun stuff.

We got a good rate and apart from a few small things, we were pretty happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBphoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Room was very comfortable and bathroom was first rate. It is very well placed with the Quay, bridge and Opera House within 6 or 7 minute walk and Darling Harbour a 10 or 12 minute walk. City centre adjacent.
We stayed for 4 nights and were very impressed.with all aspects of the hotel.
We would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a pleasant stay in Sydney.
The one possible difficulty may be with disability access - not to the dining room itself, but to the actual food for breakfast which is down a couple of stairs. It would be worth asking about this before making a decision as I may have missed an access facility.
Sydney itself is well worth a visit. At is a beautiful city with many interesting things to do and see.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFoley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Value for money
Very well managed
Albert the housebarman is attentive
rooms esp the upgrade ones are great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoophound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I regularly visist this hotel when in Sydney on business. It is in a great location, has very comfortable rooms and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis3836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July 2011.

Very good value for money.

Great location too.....minutes from both Circular Quay and Wynard Train ststions.

Very good gym / pool, which I used.

Very friendly staff and a superb concierge.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnogreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel with our two late-teen daughters for four nights. The hotel is quite conveniently located in the CBD within walking distance to shops and - if you are not too spoiled - even Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. If you like to eat out at night, the fact that the hotel is in the CBD does however rather limit your choices. On daytime you have plenty of take-away outlets throughout the area. Sit-down places with a nice atmosphere are however rare in the immediate surroundings. The rooms are comfortable and nice and the hotel can certainly be recommended as good value for money if you can get a good deal (in an Australian context) through a discount hotel site (e.g. Agoda); we got Friday to Monday for approx. USD 210 per room and night - breakfast included. The extension for one night at the rack rate of AUD 310 per room made the value for money we got for that Monday night accordingly less attractive, especially since it did not even include breakfast. Considering that the buffet costs AUD 35 per head, the equivalent package was hence more than double of what we paid during the first 3 days. We had breakfast, tea/drinks and dinner at and room-service from the hotel's brasserie/cafe restaurant. The breakfast spread was okay and the food quality also - but nothing to rave about (especially the bread/bakery section was on average underwhelming in quality, also the spread of fruits was boring and the savory hot food section lacked choices for vegetarians). I would not pay AUD 35 per head for it again - especially not for someone who has dietary restrictions (e.g. vegetarian). Dinner was fine in terms of quality and presentation but - if you are not yet used to how expensive Australia in general has become - it may be rather pricey. The staff was generally competent but in terms of friendliness and helpfulness we experienced the full range from excellent to quite poor. Variations occurred especially in the F&B section and the guy who took the room-service order was outright snooty and impatient. The receptionists/concierge and especially the bell-boys were however always a delight.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,192 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing