We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good on all counts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Very good on all counts”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Having stayed twice at the Observatory, I wanted to try something different, and the Radisson was very close to my workplace. It's a modern hotel, popular with tour groups, airline staff and business travellers.

My room was a decent size with all the amenities you'd expect. The safe is a little small though, only just taking a 13" laptop. Despite being on a main road, I could hardly hear any traffic noise. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom is reasonably sized too, with a separate shower cubicle.

The breakfast buffet is quite expensive ($35) but the selection is very good. The evening menu is quite short but the food is well prepared. Service is efficient and friendly too. I didn't try the headline Bilsons restaurant though.

The free WiFi works well and is quite fast. The gym looks well equipped but the pool is short and narrow, much smaller than the one at the Observatory.

I had two problems, with the safe and the bathroom fan, and both were sorted out very quickly, with an upgraded room the fix for the second fault.

Overall, it's highly recommended. Would I choose it again over the Observatory? Yes, as it has a better location, free wifi that works everywhere (very important for me) and offers food choices more to my liking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bergkamp9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,193
    1,104
    254
    69
    53
See reviews for
716
1,892
297
1,220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed one night. Room was fantastic (on top floor). No views but room was very large, spacious and clean. Also got a later check out for the next day. Didn't eat at the hotel for either breakfast or dinner as cost was a bit much - but plenty of places around the hotel to choose from. It is also a short and easy walk from Wynyard station (taking the train from the airport was very easy and quick).

Room Tip: On honeymoon we got a free room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slakmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Our room was spacious, modern, clean and quiet. Bathroom very well appointed and super-modern (Tip, leave the complimentary shower products behind, the lids cannot be secured and they'll leak terribly). Buffet breakfast was excellent. Arrive early to avoid a queue. Check in/out super-fast and staff very friendly. On arrival just after lunch, the hotel looked a little shabby as the carpet in reception looked like it needed a good vaccuum but the rest of the property was in A1 order. Bed was very comfortable. Take water, drinks & a few snack as the mini-bar is pricey. We had a fantastic time and would return in a flash.

Bilsons restaurant was a great experience, the degustation dishes were a little bamboozling, even for seasoned diners like ourselves and following a full description by the wait staff. A little card served with every course detailing components of the dish would have been a welcome addition.

In an excellent location on a quieter City street, The Radisson Plaza gets the thumbs up from us.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from hall swing doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 500Beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Augusta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Staff WANT to make your stay memorable, not just a job to them. Nothing too much trouble. Central to all Sydney has to offer. Rooms well presented and provisioned. Room service and Bistro wonderful. Can't wait for my next trip to Sydney!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and nice furnishings. It has a great location within easy walking distance to just about everything. We didn't eat at the hotel. Like many 5 star hotels, breakfast was outrageously priced. Fortunately, there were many places to eat nearby. The service was exceptional. I left a jacket in the lobby and was not able to come back for it until after the the end of the trip. One month later, I walked in and described it to the concierge, Ten seconds later he appeared with my jacket. I give them 5 stars for service that is both caring and responsible.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspiring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Radisson on the last leg of our Australian holiday-what a good decision.
The hotel is ideally situated for Circular Quay and all the tourist spots.
A good sized room with excellent bathroom.
Spotlessly clean.
We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many options nearby. If we ever return to Sydney we would definately stay at the Radisson.
Unfortunately with the Australian currency being so strong against the English Pound we did find Sydney expensive.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IMPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 845 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Having read several good reviews on this boutique style property, we decided to check it out instead of returning to our usual hotels on George Street and Kent Street.
Our check-in was swift and efficiently done. The receptionist was very cheerful and obliging with providing information. The Concierge was also most helpful in providing a free map and directions. The entrance and lobby area is not as grand as one might expect, probably due to the constraints’ of the existing structure of a restored heritage-listed building dating back to the 1800’s.

Our luggage did not take long to arrive in the room. This was followed some minutes later by a staff from housekeeping to check the in-room fridge/bar, to ensure that the stock was complete or we’d be charged for what the previous guest might have consumed. I asked about the provision of complimentary bottles of drinking water as the 1.5 liter bottle provided in the room had a $7 tag on it. He immediately said that he could provide us with a complimentary small bottle of drinking water and this came within minutes after he left. Impressive!

The room has been refurbished, and everything from carpet to upholstery looked clean. The bed is made up everyday and should you want to them to change the bed linen, you need to place a card on the bed to indicate this. This is their ‘greening’ effort to conserve the environment. Another feature not usually seen in many hotels, is the option to request for pillows (ranging from Boomerang, Contour Foam, Feather or Down, Micro-fibre or Latex Rubber), so that with your preferred pillow, you may sleep a little longer in comfort! The mattress is comfortable, although on the soft side. I rate the sleep quality as 4 plus. Not five as there’s still noise heard either from the road below, or through the thin walls? I can hear if the occupant next door turns on the water tap or whenever the toilet is flushed! The room has a small balcony but the view is not fantastic. A Travel adapter plug is provided and Internet access is free, as it should be these days in any good hotel.

The toilet is rather small but this did not hamper movements. There were sufficient towels and the usual amenities like a hair drier, lighted mirror, bathroom scales, etc. provided. There’s a bathtub and a separate glass enclosed, shower area. A window over the bathtub opens to reveal the bedroom so the entire suite has the appearance of looking bigger.

As the room itself is not large, there is no proper table for boiling water, and space for making tea or coffee. This is done either at the table where the flat screen TV is positioned, or on the writing table. The air conditioner has a good thermostat and the temperature can be set to your desired level easily and effectively.

The best thing about this property is without doubt its location, which is midway between Circular Quay and the Queen Victoria Building on Pitt Street. Depending on how fast you can walk, it takes between 7 to 10 minutes to get to either destination. Once in the vicinity of the QVB it’s no problem to get on to the monorail to Chinatown, Paddy’s Market, Darling Harbour, etc. And at the other end of Pitt Street, to Circular Quay and a short walk further to the Rocks, the Sydney Opera House, Royal Botanic Gardens, etc. Tip: Get to George Street by crossing through Hunter Street outside the Hotel, and catch the FREE shuttle bus no:555 that runs around in a loop within the CBD every ten minutes!

The Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel besides having good food, a nice bar, and other facilities like their swimming pool, gym, business centre, health club, etc. also has close by, many ATMs, Banks, convenience stores, small cafes, restaurants and bars around the area. If you’re not too fussy about having great views, but will be in Sydney for shopping and sightseeing, this is a good hotel to be in.

Room Tip: Check out hotel deals, eg. stay 4 nights pay for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John-KT-Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,809 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing