We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but was expecting more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Ranked #42 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok, but was expecting more.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

+
Location
Excellent service
-
No gold recognition. No upgrade, no welcome gift.
Award price (compared to Radisson Blu)

Price: 50.000 club Carlson points per night

Originally I wanted to book the Radisson Blu which is located closer to the circular quay, where we would spend NYE. But as I was paying with club Carlson points, I had to choose the other Radisson which solely was available. This redemption was 50.000 points a night, which to be honest, is a lot, especially since the Radisson Blu (supposedly a five stars), costs the same.

Anyway, the situation being like it was I was happy to have found a decent hotel for points at the end of december. We would make the most of it.

The hotel is located in a relatively quiet street (one way traffic, but the monorail passes here), and a few meters from Chinatown. It does not smell Chinese food in the hotel nor the room as I read in some other review, that is plainly ridiculous. But there are plenty of Korean, Thai, Japanese and Chinese restaurants around, which is great as we love asian food. It is also close to darling harbour and plenty of attractions for singles and families.

Our room was according to my request on the 8th floor, but we were not upgraded despite my Gold status. There was no welcome gift in our room either. The room itself was nice, quite large, with a king bed and a small kitchen area. Kitchen utensils can be borrowed from the hotel. We did not use that. There was no Nespresso machine but instant coffee and a French press with grounded coffee.

The bathroom was ok but dated. Amenities were also ok, but again nothing exceptional.

Room was clean but you could see that they will need to renovate some areas of the room, and do some painting soon.

Conclusion
No regrets, mainly because of the location and the excellent service, but I missed the little extras. So next time I will try the Radisson Blu next time which costs the same amount of points.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond_ppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    637
    166
    53
    36
See reviews for
559
395
93
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week with our 3 year old.

At first I was surprised at how tired the rooms looked, after reading the great reviews, but then after only a few hours I realised why people spoke so highly of this place.

Yes a little tired in the rooms, but who cares when you deal with the staff and each and every one of them offers 5* service. Nothing was ever too much trouble and everything was done with care and attention.

We did not eat here, so I cannot comment on this. But great location, great nights sleep and great staff. Thank you, we will certainly look out for further Radissons on our travels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aadavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Radisson Hotel and Suites is the perfect location for a long weekend. The staff throughout our entire stay were friendly, knowledgable and customer centric. The restaurant's food and service is flawless. We stayed in a business class room and this was clean, spacious and well appointed. The only criticism is we could here the noise from the street during the night, but I have no doubt that if we had asked to be moved they would have accommodated us if they could. When I asked my 8 year old son if he enjoyed his weekend in Sydney more than our month in Ireland he said "yes" and that's because the breakfast was a 10/10 :). Thank you for making our stay almost perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggsmac101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good location next to Darling Harbour & Chinatown. Free shuttle bus to Circular quay, just 1 block away from hotel. Lots of convenience stores in neighbourhood, to buy food for unit.

Easy walk to Circular quay -- approx 25 minutes -- can catch ferries to zoo, Manley beach, etc from there.

also close to train stations to neighbouring suburbs.

Good size, well-equipped 1-bedroom unit -- kitchen provides opportunity to buy foods and eat-in breakfast, and other meals, if desired.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We encountered the need for hospitalization of one of our group for about 27 hours. The staff tolerated our changing plans three times while we didn't know how soon we could get on to the next city and hotel, which was Melbourne and the Radisson there (which also was extremely helpful during this time). And they did it with a smile and an offer for more service if we needed it.
Service was great, food was good, hotel is handy to points of interest, all staff were friendly.

Room Tip: We rented the suite which had a lot of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresaandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having stayed in the property for the first time later last year, I was offered a 50% off voucher for my next stay. This is what was written: Gift certificate includes 50% off the best available rate on your next stay at the hotel.

When I got to book my next stay which was a 4 night stay in their business class suite in July 2013 (the period I like to book is 6 months away and it is not during our school holiday or any special events). I was told by the reservation & revenue supervisor that the offer is for one night only. She argued that the voucher has "conditions apply" printed on the back of it. As I thought this is very plain English that it is written "50% for my next stay" meaning it is not for "one night only". Instead to write " 50% off my next 1st night stay" is much clearer and simple if they really meant that.

The supervisor could just simply apologise their misused of wording on the voucher but instead she insisted this is the policy and they have the rights to the terms & conditions.

To be honest even at half price, the hotel was rather average. What borders me is their attitude of dealing with customers at management level. From memory all their front staff were helpful courteous & friendly except from the front desk manager (? Indian male manager). This is the second time I deal with their management level and the experience has again left me with a very bad taste. It definitely put me off staying there again.

I believe customer service standard not only need to be high, but also be uniform across an organisation.

What would you expect a business be like if their management level is not doing the right thing and put themselves in the customer's position..

Room Tip: Do not go near there. Very rude management staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaroochydoreLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just after Christmas, for 3 nights and had a great time. We stayed in a double room/double suite and it was perfect for a couple and 3 teenagers. The room was very clean, quiet and even had a small kitchen. The breakfast (included) was also good with many options. We liked the location too, just a few steps from Darling Harbour and Sydney Tower.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cquad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
972 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 174 in Sydney
546 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney

Property: Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Address: Darling Harbour 72 Liverpool St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#41 Business Hotel in Sydney
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Luxury at one of the Premier Sydney CBD Hotels at Radisson Hotel & Suites Sydney.Located in the heart of the Sydney Central Business District, the Radisson Hotel & Suites Sydney is the ideal place for business and leisure travellers. Our 4.5 star Sydney CBD hotel's location is within walking distance or a short drive of many attractions, including Darling Harbour and Capitol Theatre. Chinatown, the city centre and other notable shopping districts are just minutes from our Radisson Sydney accommodation. All of our hotel's oversized guest rooms feature large balconies, kitchenettes, well-lit work desks and complimentary WiFi access. Spacious suites with one or two bedrooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Sydney
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing