We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic view and Excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“fantastic view and Excellent food”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I have stayed in alot of hotels, but this experience had to be the best . The view was fantastic and too my surprise the food was phenominal. I have never had a better dinning experience t Quay West Sydney.

The chef names is Dwight Peters and i would recommend that everyone eats there.
A small restaurant hidden in the hotel.

Fantastic fantastic

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baku_20201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    342
    94
    42
    16
See reviews for
557
277
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Home Base - Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We are finishing an eight night stay in Sydney this morning. Our home base has been the Quay West Suites in the Rocks. First of all this is a good hotel. No complaints. The location is perfect. Right in between the Shangra La and the Four Seasons says it all in terms of location. Minutes from the Rocks, Circular Quay, the Opera House, George Street, etc. Having a suite with a view of the Harbor Bridge and the Opera House was special. Could never get tired of this view at all times of day. Having a washer and dryer in the room is very useful. Small kitchen great. We went shopping the first day and loaded up with breakfast foods as we had breakfast in our room each morning in our PJs before heading out for the day. Not only was this easier, but it saved lots of $$$ each day that we could spend on other things. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We looked into a suite at the other hotels close by and they were priced much higher. This is not a five star hotel however. Their is not an effective concierage service as an example. No great restaurant. For us this was fine. We read and figured out what to do on our own. There are endless great places to eat close by. We did not need our nose wiped every time we sneezed. If you are a needy traveller stay somewhere else. If you are independent and are looking for a nice place to sleep, shower and relax, the Quay West is a very good choice. We will return to this property again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MassTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed there during the Chinese New Year Parade. The suite we stayed has a very good view. It was very good to rest in a large and comfortable suite after spending a long day in Sydney. We had tea and coffee which are complimentary in the kitchenette. Only the pool and gym sections could be bigger and functional.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was our 5th stay in Sydney but we unexpectedly needed 3 nights accommodation during the Chinese New Year/Valentine's Day crush. Hadn't tried Quay West before although we have stayed in other view spots around the Rocks and the Quay. Gorgeous rooms and appointments! (these are suites with bedroom/living room/compact kitchen and dining area) Smallish terrace and we couldn't get a Quay-side view during this busy time so overlooked the Botanic Gardens (tranquil but not quite the same...). Only possible criticism is the $500 per night tab - I think the Harborside would have been worth it though. Recommend highly if you can get a better rate and the view!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frequent travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, Staffs
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Our family of 4 adults and a baby stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom suite. The panoramic view from the sitting room is truly awesome. There can't be a better view of the bridge and opera house anywhere in Sydney. The location was excellent, just a short walk to Circular Quay.

The suite was well equipped with a full kitchen and washing and drying machine.

On the downside, the decor was looking a bit tired and shabby and what really let it down was the housekeeping. Although the suite was clean on our arrival, the daily clean was poor and despite several phone calls our tea, coffee, bath gel etc were not replaced daily. The bath towels were old and thread bare - one even had a large hole.

The staff seemed disinterested - several times during our stay we phoned the concierge and we were never successful in even getting a reply.

Quaywest is large and impersonal. In my opinion the management need to make some investments and concentrate on staff training before it deserves to be called a 5 star establishment..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

On this web site this hotel is rated as 5 star, if you have stayed in other 5 star hotels around the world, Europe, US, Thailand etc you will be disappointed. This is a problem we found generally whilst traveling through Australia.

If you book the right room the views of Sydney harbor are unbeatable, the concierge in particular are extremely keen to please and can’t be faulted but in essence the place is very tired, in desperate need of a refit and probably 3 or 4 star in quality by international standards. The furniture looks 10-20 years old and is worn and chipped; the carpets are stained, although the place is kept well cleaned.

So it depends what you’re expectations are, we initially booked our room at over $600 per night, at this rate it was poor value. By chance on the second day I noticed on the web site that the same rooms had been reduced to just over $300 per day. Under the cancellation policy I was ale to cancel and rebook at the lower rate, at this rate it was fair value, although we would have preferred to pay 5 star prices and receive a 5 star venue as originally anticipated.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My friends & I had a post cruise stay in a 2BR suite. Even though we arrived hours before the stated checkin time, the receptionist juggled her bookings and 15 minutes later we were in our suite. The location cannot be beaten, a short walk to the rocks or circular quay and although we did not have a balcony (only available to 1 BR suites) the views from the windows in the lounge were spectacular. The apartment was very spacious and well maintained throughout our stay, giving us the opportunity to catch up on our laundry following our cruise..

The restaurant was closed during our stay, but there are plenty of options available for breakfast, lunch or dinner in the Rocks, or at the Quay so I cannot say we felt we missed anythhing.

Would recommend

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen3154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
6,083 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Property: Quay West Suites Sydney
Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing