We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location for the Rocks and Quay area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb location for the Rocks and Quay area.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Arrived and had valet parking, very efficient and polite staff.
the reception staff were Very polite and check in was quick.
We had 2 x 1bedroom apartments for our group of 4. One apartment had a city view and was a little smaller but still roomy, than the other that had views over the Barangaroo and west port Jackson and City views also. the apartment was roomy, comfortable, quiet and the kitchen was sleek and with modern appliances and a double bar fridge, one with mini bar items.
The bathroom was roomy and modern with a bath and shower cubicle. Spare towels, bath robes and towels for the pool all provided. the bedroom was roomy and the bed was a king and very comfortable. opening windows and zoned air conditioning. separate laundry.
the pool has a great outlook and was empty at opening time at 6.30am.
checkout was quick and the staff very friendly. We were able to leave our car til the afternoon and the luggage taken to our car for us with valet service on our return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Linarosa,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and facilities as the location.

I hope you enjoyed exploring Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    342
    94
    42
    16
See reviews for
557
277
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a one bed apartment. It was a good size, lounge with sofa, desk and dining table. Kitchen had dishwasher, fridge, microwave and a laundry with washer and dryer.
The bed was comfortable. TV in the lounge and bedroom. Adequate tools, shower and bath in bathroom
Good location to circular quay, George street etc.
small gym (1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer, 1 bike). Gets very hot in the evening when sunny.
Had room service once, no complaints.
A more homely stay than most of the 5 stars around.
Only downside was the dreadful wifi. I gave up most nights and didn't bother.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank garkless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Garkless,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at The Quay West Suites Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience with us and I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Warm regards
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I approached this property with some trepidation. Other reviewers had warned of lengthy delays for lifts and other services. In contrast, a lift arrived within moments each trip and the front office staff were prompt and efficient.

The property is a block up a steep slope from George Street, very close to Circular Quay. Just far enough away from the busy-ness of central Sydney to be quiet, but close to everything.

A real bonus was the near-by archeological Big Dig and the convenience to The Rocks including the lovely weekend street market. We were able to take in a gallery tour, the street markets, a ferry trip to Manly and more in a lay day after my business was complete.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher up the building the better the view The view from the top floor pool in the later afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear GeorgeEdmonds,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and facilities as the location.

I hope you enjoyed exploring Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
271 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel. It is a basic hotel where one retires for the evening. Nothing fancy.

The rooms are very good. Nicely laid out, spacious and well equipped. Not everything was perfect though.
1) I hate the fact that the bathroom is not an ensuite.
2) The "king sized" bed is just 2 double beds pushed together. That never works properly because of the joint in the middle.

I can't say anything about the staff other than to check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear PerthFrequent_Flyer,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Quay West.

I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience with us however I am sorry to hear you did not like the bathroom/suite layout and king split beds. Should you stay with us again please feel free to request a king bed that does not split as we offer a mix so the rooms can be split into twin configuration.

I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Warm regards
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is in central Sydney. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished but do not have much personality. There is one restaurant that doubles for breakfast and dinner. We only had breakfast, which was acceptable but, again, the restaurant is basically a balcony without any personality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbh9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you 'rbh9508' for your feedback and for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Quay West Suites. I am sorry that this did not meet your expectations, and we have since revitalised a number of areas across the property. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your faith in our property.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

A friend recommended the quay suites and being loyal Marriott fans we decided to go for for the space and the view. It was wonderful to have our morning coffee sitting in the living room over looking circular quay and the opera house. We have also stayed at the Marriott and the four seasons in circular quay. Both great but if you can get the spacious room of the quay suites with the harbor side view it is better. Only issue was the towels were not that soft. But a washer and dryer when you are traveling for two weeks helps the packing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLLMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear LLLMaryland,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Quay West Suites Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience with us and especially enjoyed the wonderful views our harbour view siotes have to offer!

I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon when you next come to Sydney.

Warm regards
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
6,081 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Property: Quay West Suites Sydney
Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing