We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“fab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

fab views of Harbour, opera house,amazing few days But god hilly went round harbor on ferry really worth doing beautiful walk along the pier lovely little bistro's plenty of entertainment continental market hand made goods so much to see

Room Tip: the hotel seemed really quiet bring good walking shoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    302
    79
    38
    15
See reviews for
481
243
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great harbour view rooms, great location and service. Clean well appointed spacious apartment style rooms which are self contained and still enjoying the benefits of a hotel. Food in the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is a great discovery in Sydney. Nice quiet location tucked down in the Rocks area but handy to everything.
Rooms were great with lots of living area making it very different from a normal hotel room.
The staff were really helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble..
Will definitely be staying there again...and asking for a higher floor as the views were beautiful.

Room Tip: Higher floors get a great view of Sydney
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

this is a lovely hotel to stay at, and with the savings i get, being a Le Club member, it made it more worth while.
the only issue was that i found an empty drink bottle under the coffeee table, two bus passes under the foot stool and a glasses case under the bench/drawer in the bedroom.
i think the cleaning needs to be a bit more thorough or at least inspected afterwards if they are new staff.
concierge was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank stephen1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Stephen1511,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Quay West Suites Sydney. It is feedback such as yours that we value in our journey of continuous improvement. After reading your review we have re-trained the housekeeper that cleaned your room and used your review as a training example within our team, showing how we need to go about our daily tasks with intensity and passion to get the job done correctly.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the positive feedback on our concierge team and that you enjoyed staying with us, it is comments like these from our valued le club members that act as motivation for the team and drive them to do the best job they can for our guests!

Thank you again for your feedback and on behalf of all of us here at Quay West Suites Sydney, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the soon future.

Warm regards
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed a few night at the Quay West Suites and I have only positives. Great location, great room and great staff. The view from the higher levels of the hotel are stunning and there probably aren't many better to be seen from The Rocks.

Within walking distance of both the Harbour Bridge, Opera House and the rest of the Sydney CBD there is plenty to fill your time with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolskenMaanesken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear SolskenMaanesken,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and facilities as the location.

I hope you enjoyed exploring Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Warm regards,
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I went for a business trip in May 2013 and stayed for 3 nights. It was the first time I'd stayed here in over 10 years.

Friendly, unobtrusive, professional service the whole time.
I stayed in a 1 bedroom city view apartment on the 10th floor. The suite size is fantastic. I had a fairly standard queen size bedroom, good wardrobe space and plenty of drawers. TV in the bedroom. The noise from the street could be heard: I'm not sure the glass is thick enough on the windows. Maybe ask for a higher up room if you are a very light sleeper. I'm a moderately light sleeper and managed to sleep ok. Comfy beds but not as good as the Shangri-La if mattress quality is your thing.
Living area was excellent. Another TV, a good sized desk for work and a dining table to seat 6. Plus a couch and coffee table. All nicely furnished and comfortable.
Excellent proper kitchen with small fridge, cooker, dishwasher and microwave.
Excellent laundry with laundry sink, washer and dryer and drying rack. I was pleased I was able to do my laundry without having to hang it over the bath. Good size bathroom with decent shower and modest bath.
All very clean and well serviced.
Breakfast: you can buy breakfast tokens on check in. Breakfast buffet was good, not outstanding. Service was again friendly and not overbearing.
Swimming pool on 23rd floor was lovely (indoors and a very Roman baths feel to it).
Easy check out.
The big thing I liked was that it was quiet and not bustly like the hotels in the area. Great location not on the main thoroughfare, but not too far from it.
I liked the staff and I've booked to stay there again on my next trip in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a harbour view. It will be quieter with more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spikethecat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Spikethecat17,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is so lovely to hear your comments about our friendly and helpful staff. They take great pride in consistently offering high standard of personal customer service to our guests.

It was also a pleasure to read our comments about our suites and hotel facilities such as our 23rd floor pool and recreation deck with its beautiful views over Sydney Harbour, the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quay West in the coming weeks. Please also feel free to contact the hotel to arrange your request for a higher floor!

Kind regards,
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Quay West for five nights recently. I called a few days before our arrival, as our flight arrived into Sydney early in the morning and I wanted to see if we could have an early check in. While the staff made no guarantees, they did say they would make every effort to have a room ready for us on arrival, and they did. The views in the room were great--the harbor, the Opera House and Harbor Bridge. The staff was very polite and helpful. The location of the hotel is outstanding--within easy walking distance to the Circular Quay, Botanical Gardens, the Rocks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mburtonslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear mburtonslc,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us at the Quay West Suites Sydney.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for your lovely comments about the room and our great team, they love hearing that their efforts to make every guests stay special are acknowledged.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Warm regards
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Property: Quay West Suites Sydney
Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing