We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quay West Suites Rock!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (The Rocks)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, Australia
1 review
“Quay West Suites Rock!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Quay West Suites. Got an excellent deal online for the room. Please have more of these deals! The staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing and room service was like being in a restaurant - excellent quality. Will definitely stay here again. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank simsfamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    302
    79
    38
    15
See reviews for
480
243
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is near walking distance to Sydney Opera House and boats that can take you anywhere you want to go. Pool is in door so you won't get much sun.... Breakfast isn't the best so maybe grabbing it somewhere else may be better. The Rocks is a little more expensive so going to another area may be a good break for the wallet. If I didn't need a 2 bedroom I wouldn't have stayed there but we needed the extra room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaChris_erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Quay West Suites for four nights in February. My room exceeded my expectations! It was large, modern, clean and had lovely views. You can't beat the location at the Circular Quay. I could walk downtown and to Darling Harbour easily - as well as the Botanical Garden. The Opera House is just a few blocks away. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Kathleen W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Quay West Suites Sydney. It is so lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you made the most of your four nights with us exploring all that Sydney has to offer!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Warm regards,
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having arrived in Sydney quite late at a pre-booked apartment in Darling harbour - Goldsbrough Apartments - , we were so so disappointed, they were disgusting and filthy and easily the worst part of a 2 month tour... so we jumped in a taxi straight to Quay West because we were aware of the place but knew it was above our budget... but we had to escape Goldsbrough and escape we did with the help of a waiting taxi!

Quay West is amazing and if there was ever a time when I wish I'd just spent the money to start with, this was it... it is 100% great value for money and if you want to see Sydney, this is the only way to do it and the panoramic views will last a lifetime in the memory!

It's so well placed for everything too... and the staff were lovely - thanks guys!

Room Tip: ...just get one as high up as possible and overlooking the Quay of course :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahameJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I could not imagine a better room or view of Sydney! And the customer service was wonderful as they were flexible when I asked for a higher floor for an even better view (and more privacy). The room was actually an apartment. And we couldn't get enough of one of the few balconies in Circular Quay with the view of the bridge and the opera house.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citygirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel which is in easy walking distance to Sydney Opera House and The Rocks area. There is only valet parking (on the cheaper side for expensive Sydney) and it took a bit of time for any staff to notice me parked outside and assist with the luggage check in. (There is only limited and temporary parking outside the hotel.) Otherwise check-in was perfect and when it turned out there was a problem with our room's airconditioning we were immediately give an upgraded room with a limited harbour view although we had not booked a harbour view room.

We have already booked to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersonian1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslet, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If just sitting and drinking in the famous view of Sydney Harbor is on your "must-do" list, this is the perfect hotel. We shared a two-bedroom apartment-type suite with our traveling companions (another couple) and it was great for all of us. A tidy kitchenette, stacked washer and dryer, large living and dining areas, two bedrooms and two bathrooms and that view! The front desk staff was unfailingly helpful and efficient. An easy walk to the Rocks, Circular Quay, the Opera House. A little longer walk to shopping, the museums, the Botanical Garden. One of our group even walked across the Harbor Bridge from here. An added plus is that the entrance is on a quiet side street, so no dashing around traffic to exit taxis, etc. We only ate in the restaurant once, for breakfast, and it was adequate. Mostly we used the kitchenette (after locating the Cole's a few blocks away) for most meals. It was a perfect location for our exploration of Sydney for three days and close enough to the cruise terminal at Circular Quay that we just pulled our luggage and embarked upon our cruise vacation as we checked out of the Quay West Suites.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the Harbor View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tx32f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Property: Quay West Suites Sydney
Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing