We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Ranked #13 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I needed a place to stay while working in Sydney for two months, and this place fit my needs for my stay. Quiet room overlooking the gardens, although the Harbour View has a most excellent view of the city and harbour. I've been told that because of the many ferries coming and going into the Quay, the diesel fumes can be a problem, but I can't say for certain. The staff here is very friendly and the rooms are clean and well maintained. There are plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, and shopping down on Pitt Street is amazing. Hugh number of places to spend your money. This hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Steve M,

I'd like to personally thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your stay with us.
I am so pleased we were able to accommodate your two months in Sydney and found the suites perfectly suited to your needs.
The garden view suites certainly offer a stunning and serene view which is great to relax in front of after a working day.

I hope you have now found a home away from home for your next trip to Sydney.
I trust you travelled home safely.

Kindest regards,
Wayne T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was the first time I had stayed at this hotel, during a business trip to Sydney. Hotel is well located, close to ferries and rail system. You can walk to the Opera House and there are many restaurants and bars in easy walking distance. The view over the harbour and the bridge is amazing. Service was first class. A night-cap at the upstairs bar overlooking the harbour is a must do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Broadmeister,

I so value you taking the time to review the hotel after your stay with us in September.
What a treat for a business trip! It would have been a wonderful experience to relax in front of sensational Harbour Views after a big day of work.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Sydney.

Warmest regards,
Wayne T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room was clean and spacious. We had an incredible view of circular quay and the harbor bridge. The suite was set up as a complete one bedroom suite and was stocked with kitchen supplies. We didn't attempt it but you could have cooked a bit if you wanted to.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LoveTheSunshine82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear LoveTheSunshine...,

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your stay with us in June.
I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay, enjoying our incredible views and finding the suites well equipped and suited to your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards,
Wayne T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank salphillis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Margnorm80
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for nine nights and honestly from the moment of check in to the moment of check out you could not fault this lovely hotel. We booked via telephone ourselves and requested a Harbour view which was accommodated for us with no problems and presented itself as gorgeous. You can see the bridge and all the comings and goings of circular quay and over to Luna Park. We sat out there in the morning for breakfast, at lunchtime and also in the evenings and there was something new to look at each time including a cool cruise liner which came in early one morning, stayed all day then sailed off in the evening. A lady I met in the lifts said the Hyde Park view was restful so if you want serenity maybe that's the side to go for!
All the rooms have a fully equipped kitchen with stove, full sized fridge, microwave, all utensils and cooking pots, cutlery crockery etc. which is really nice because we always want to self cater for breakfast and sometimes lunch and dinners and you can do that easily here. There is a little to medium sized IGA supermarket in the AMP building across the road where you can get groceries but be aware that this is not open on the weekends, a little weird when hotels and apartments surround it but no matter.
The bedroom was a huge size with two wardrobes and ample drawer space and a nice touch was the bedside lamps with two light choices, one much dimmer just to check the time or leave a little nightlight on and not disturb you at all. The bathroom has a walk in shower and a full sized separate spa bath which my husband pronounced very relaxing and the complimentary toiletries smell delicious and were restocked several times.
We requested and received each day two newspapers; The Telegraph and The Sydney Morning Herald including the weekend editions and were delivered outside our room about 630am and when I opened the door to collect them I could see other rooms had received those in addition to The Financial Times or The Australian if you wanted those. So a nice choice and there were also papers downstairs near the desk as well.
There are bathrobes and shower shoes and pool towels available to use in your room and we used them to go downstairs and use the pool and spa which was very relaxing, the weight room looks well appointed and the pool loungers where you can sit and see Circular Quay going past are good too.
There is a washing machine and dryer in each room and laundry trough for hand washing, these are so convenient you can do a load of laundry and not have to leave your room or worry about your washing being stolen from a laundry room lest you don't stand over it!
We ate at the Restaurant downstairs which is lovely and the food delicious and also had room service from a menu that offers plenty of choices including a delicious asparagus and lemon soup, if that's on the menu you can't go wrong!
When we first arrived the original room we were shown too seemed fine, we were just about to unpack and the manager called and said that maintenance had reported a shower leak in that room would we like another? We said yes please and they came and moved us within five minutes to a room two floors up and gave us a bottle of champagne because we had been inconvenienced! We hadn't, we hadn't even unpacked and didn't even actually know about the leaking shower so it was a lovely gesture on their part to do that.
Downstairs the desk is knowledgeable and friendly and can provide helpful directions and advice as they did for us about trains and buses to Moore Park and ANZ Park and where various Sydney streets were. When you live in regional NSW and have to go to Sydney you try to cram as much as you can via appointments and things to do in one visit! Thank you David, we appreciated all your help with directions.
At the Grand Quay you are only a short train ride from the airport to Circular Quay but be aware that the line to the airport is privately owned and a true rip off in the cost; six stops and 16-per person one way, might be cheaper to get a taxi, c'mon Sydney this is NOT a good advertisement for people arriving into the city and being fleeced in this way, that trip is too expensive! It's only 7- return from Manly a 30 minute ferry ride away!
If I had any criticisms of the hotel at all it would be these.
If you want the switch to turn on the balcony light or raise and lower the balcony blinds these are way over by the light switches near the kitchen and actually bear no correlation to their location. A little notice on the part of the hotel showing what these switches are for might be useful so you don't have to phone the desk to find them! Also a note inside the laundry door showing a conversion temp from C to F for American guests might be helpful as the washing machine shows Celsius water temps only. Other things. Can hotels please give us a clothes horse or rack of some description if they provide laundry facilities because we don't want to dry everything such a woollens in the dryer and there is never anywhere to line dry! A hook in the shower would be useful too for wet bathers or a bath mitt as would a line or rack over the bath for similar. Just little touches.
The other thing about this hotel that could be changed is their weird and unnecessary practice of continuing to hold your funds for up to six days after you've checked out. I've never come across this before. We went to check out and paid for some incidentals because we'd paid in full for our room on the second day of our stay and the clerk told us that was fine and we could pay for the incidentals and the hotel would still have a hold on our funds $400- for up to six days after we'd left. Why? We had paid for everything in full, why would they still need to keep holding onto $400-? It was truly bizarre and Vanessa the assistant manager was more than a little snippy about it insisting it was common practice in hotels across the world. Well, including three stays of more than forty nights each in Accor properties in Paris and more than a few hotel stays across the globe we've never come across this practice. Yes when you check in and whilst you're staying I accept a hold on your funds for incidentals. But for more than six days after you've checked out? I don't think so. This was the only sour note of your stay, Vanessa's attitude that we didn't know what we were talking about and her huffiness that plenty of hotels do that.
We would stay here again, we liked its location and the fact that even though it was nearly full we didn't hear any noise from our neighbours, anyone on our floor or anyone above us. It is lovely ambient hotel and we would thoroughly recommend it. Thanks Grand Quay, next time we're in Sydney we'll look you up!

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour View, you'll never be bored!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndiJ_AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear AndiJ_AJ,

I'd like to thank you for taking your valuable time to compose such an extensive review of your stay with us. I truly appreciate the detail you have used to describe every facet of your experience and provide readers with exceptional advice and expectations of what they can look forward to themselves.

I am so glad you had a wonderful stay with us over the week and a half.

I'd like to also thank you for your constructive and feedback of what can be done to improve the experience.
In regards to the incidentals held on your card, I apologise for the miscommunication. When a pre-authorisation is held on the card when checking in, if that same card is not used for the final payment when checking out, then the funds are released automatically by your bank within 5 days because the hotel has not touched the funds. If the same card is used when checking out, the funds should release straight away.
If the pre-authorisation is yet to be released into your account, please do not hesitate to call Reception and they can fax your bank and request an immediate release of the funds. Phone number: (02) 9256 4000.
I hope this solution assists.

I am truly thankful you had such a wonderful stay.
Thank you again for your review.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
Wayne T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rodger M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 180 in Sydney
1,333 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 180 in Sydney
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 180 in Sydney
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Address: 61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#3 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $274 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Sydney, the Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour is a 5-Star apartment hotel located at the edge of East Circular Quay boasting stunning views of the iconic Harbour Bridge or the beautiful Royal Botanic Gardens. This luxurious and boutique hotel features spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites, the iconic Hacienda Sydney bar, one of Sydney's finest restaurants Q Dining, 3 versatile function rooms and superb hotel recreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay Grand Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay Grand Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing