We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Ranked #10 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
North Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I cannot rave enough about my stay here. From the warm welcome at check in, to the wow that you get from the view in your suite, to the tasty food and great service in the Quadrant. I can't wait to be back in Sydney so I can experience this again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Harbour view. Definitly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wuzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst in Australia we relaise you have a choice when making a reservation and truly value that you chose this Hotel. Im happy to read that you were impressed by our amazing views and location and that you ejoyed your experience in Quadrant Restaurant please know i will share your feedback with the team.
Safe travels we look forward to wowing you in the future.
Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    223
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
335
584
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived after 21 hours of flying from Germany at the Quay Grand and recieved a warm welcome - with one drawback: "Oh we are sorry, your reservation has been cancelled". The hotel was totally booked and it seemed they gave us the last room they propably hold in reserve for people like us or other emergencies. (I booked the room myself via the Accor Site and recieved a confirmation) It was on the first floor with a street view. We were looking forward to the harbour view suite we have booked and since being totally exhausted we were absolutely frustrated. Since it was 11 p.m. room service was not even serving hamburgers or club sandwiches any more and we ended up with approximately 200 drunk teenagers at McDonald´s on Circular Quay. (The Quarterpounder was actually the best I´ve ever eaten!) Since we definitely wanted a good view, we went over to the Four Seasons, which we did not like. The rooms are rather on the small side and the place is old.

Finally we got a call from the reception that they will move us to harbour view the next day. They also gave us a complimentary breakfast for AUD 100 Dollars which was extremely delicious. The two young ladies who work there were also very, very nice and helpful.

Our room on the 10th floor on the next day was fantastic. It was light and clean, the view over the harbour was fantastic and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watch the people, the ferrys and the little cruise ships.

There are weddings going on all the time and everybody is smiling. Staff are absolutely friendly, especially the people we encountered at the front desk.

We have looked at all the five star hotels in Sydney and we think that the Grand Quay is the best value for money. As someone else has already stated, Sydney is really not the city for glitzy Peninsula or Ritz Carlton style accomodation. Maybe the Hyatt is the only one that can reach this level, but 800 USD for a 40 sqm room is just too much.

Beaware of the 7 Elevens and all the convenience stores! This is just robbery what they do there. Water is about 5 AUD, Marlboro Cigarettes go for 17,50 a box for example. Try to hit a Coles or a Woolworth grocery store and buy all the stuff you need. There is a big refrigerater and a fully equipped kitchen - and it´s so much fun cooking Spaghetti with Meatballs while looking out to the harbour bridge and the beautiful cruiseships.

Room Tip: Harbour View top floor is perfect. 1005 is a really nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Pullman Quay Grand is the best hotel we have stayed at in Sydney. Fantastic staff ... awesome room ... great location ... I don't have a bad thing to say about it.

From the Pullman we were able to walk through Circular Quay around to Campbells Cove. We also walked through the botanic gardens to the NSW Gallery for the Archibald Prize paintings. This hotel is in a prime position to see the best of Sydney .. the Opera House, the Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay, the Rocks and the botanic gardens - all within easy walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank janandt0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my bridal party for my wedding at the Opera House. Service was outstanding, not request too hard. Everyone so glad to help when needed. Rooms beautiful. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. 6 stars!

Room Tip: Splurge on the Harbour view. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooneurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to stay with us over such a monumental occasion. I sincerley appreciate the feedback on your stay and more specifically on our staff's guest service culture we continously strive to exceed our guest expectations and i know that your comments will serve as further motivation to excel in this area.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to celebrate your annivesary.
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were going on a cruise to New Zealand the next day o Queen Mary 2and this hotel was as convenient as you can get. We had a veiw of the international terminal and was able to see the ship arrive at 6.30am.Even though we only spent the one nightit was very enjoyable ,the dinner and breakfast were excellent and would have no hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank benwest630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Point, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Clean, very well appointed and friendly helpful staff. We choose park view apartments as they are cheaper and (I assume) quieter. The location is perfect too with easy access to transport, shops and entertainment

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent five nights in what has to be one of the most stunning suites in Sydney. Waking up to the fantastic sight of the Harbour bridge and the ferries pulling in and out of Circular Quay can't be beaten.

However don't be lulled into a false sense of security the glass is neither one-way nor tinted, so pull your blinds before getting dressed if you don't want to offer fellow tourists a sight they weren't expecting. (This applies to the lounging area by the swimming pool too, people can see in and will watch you in your swimmers quite happily!)

Service at this hotel is laid-back Australian with no one rushing even if you tell them you're in a hurry (particularly at breakfast where the waiting staff were lovely but one-paced)

The real problem with the venue which keeps it at v good rather than excellent for me are the appalling lifts (elevators) You can wait for five to ten minutes to get out of the building and the knack of using your room key to get the lift to your floor is never explained - it's a question of trial and error and a wasted journey in a packed lift when you can't get near the controls!

It's a problem the hotel is aware of, but does little about. One of the residents who owns one of the apartments within the hotel suite said the lifts were a disgrace and I should demand a 50% reduction on my bill (I didn't!)

That aside you can't be more central and the view is to die for. We did all the main Sydney Harbour sights in our trip and it was wonderful to 'get home' so quickly after stepping off the ferry.

The apartment itself was well apportioned and offered everything you could want including fully functioning kitchen and washing machine.

The kids asked if we could buy one of the suites (they'd have given it five stars) but the concierge said our two-bedroom suite retailed at $2 million, so we're staying put for now. . .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WriteInBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the duration of time spent waiting on our elevators. Unfortunately a delay in parts caused us to have one elevator out of order and some interruptions to our guests. I can assure you this is highly unusual for this property with monthly servicing of all mechanical equipment ensuring this. Know that I have also addressed your comments regarding breakfast with my Food & Beverage Manager.
I was happy to read that you truly enjoyed our location it’s hard to beat and I’m glad that your children also thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
I hope to welcome yourself and your family back to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour in the future.
Sincerely
,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,648 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#3 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,972 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Property: Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Address: 61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sydney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#12 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star apartment hotel located at the edge of East Circular Quay boasting stunning Sydney Harbour views. This luxurious and boutique hotel features spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites, Sydney's best Bar by far ECQ, a newly refurbished restaurant on the mezzanine level of the hotel Q Dining, 3 versatile function rooms and superb hotel reacreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay Grand Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay Grand Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing