We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Ranked #53 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Launceston, Tasmania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small rooms, convenient location”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night over the weekend. We had just a basic standard room which was fine for the 2 of us. Very small but we were only there to sleep so no problems. Room was clean, bed was comfy and the bathroom was good with a big shower. The rooms were quite dated and we had concerns about the nightclub next door as we got home thinking the music would keep us up, but we couldnt hear anything (our room was on the club side of the hotel too) which was a relief. This hotel has a great location for exploring the city and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Overall, a good hotel with great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamTas10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Edmundsd

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding the staff and location, the property is situated in the centre of the city, which is just a short walk from all the main tourist attractions in Sydney. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    588
    254
    75
    31
See reviews for
166
447
148
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here in February 1 night before our cruise and 2 nights after. Staff were very professional and friendly. Booked the standard studio room. Felt a bit clostraphobic as it was so small. Didn't have much room to walk around the bed. Horrible view out the window looking down on a roof covered in litter. Accidentally left my pj's behind, asked them if they were put in lost and found by the housekeepers on our second visit 2 weeks later and they hadn't found them and I know for sure they were left in the room so they were either taken or thrown out. On the was back we had an executive room. This had more room to move. Restaurant attached wasn't too bad. Food was quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Rebecca
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt. This property does not have a standard studio room, so I am guessing that you may have stayed in one of the more reasonably priced budget rooms on your first visit with us.
I am sorry that you lost your PJ's whilst here, the housekeeping staff are very trustworthy with the majority of the staff senior and have been here for 10 years or more and are just wonderful, they keep very thorough records of lost items, I am sorry that you couldn’t locate yours – this is unusual.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the Front Office staff and the restaurant.
Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It looks like an old style hotel, small room, no balcony nor a nice view...but it's clean and have a comfy mattress :) , located in the heart of Sydney, makes it a good location hotel with a good price. :) compare with another hotel which are more expensive on that area. Easy to go anywhere. 5 minutes walking to the museum train station or monorail, 10 minutes to the Harbour and Haymarket where you can find a lot of souvenir there. Affordable & comfort hotel in the city, definitely value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Olivia_Liem

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are located in a wonderful area in the absolute heart of the city. Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Metro Hotel on Pitt. We chose the Executive Deluxe room, as we wanted to make sure we had a bit of room to move around in. It was a large room, and was really good having the extra little lounge area. Both nights were really quiet, no traffic noise except for the occasional siren. Large and lovely updated bathroom. The staff are nice and helpful. The TV wasn't that big as others have stated, but we didn't go there for that! We were far too busy enjoying Sydney. For the cost of the stay it was perfect. So close to everything, we walked everywhere. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you would like a bit more room choose the executive deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lisa P

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt. Our Executive Deluxe rooms are lovely and so are all the bathrooms in the building. We are actually hoping to get approval for larger TV's in these rooms shortly, which will be exciting. Many thanks for your comments regarding are friendly team as well. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed overnight in a room on the 7th floor. Staff on check in are professional and friendly. The room was small but dated ie old tv and furniture. The bathroom although small had been updated with a wonderful shower! The room was very quiet with no traffic noise and the hotel is in a great location in the centre of the city. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear AdelaideJulie

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your service and stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt. It is greatly appreciated. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights along with another couple.
Very centrally located and easy walking distance to monorail etc.
The front desk staff were very helpful and a credit to the organisation.
The room itself was small and very dated. It technically had most things but one would not say they were quality. eg the TV was there but old. The bed was very average.
That said, we stayed there based on price and location so I guess I cant be too picky.
Would I stay there again? Most probably - mainly because of front office staff and location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Rodgs

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service and location of the property. Hopefully many of our hotels facilities will be upgraded in the near future. We are located in a wonderful location, many thanks for your comments. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Metro Hotel on Pitt. Hotel room is small but great location that can get you almost to all the places of interest. It sits in the middle of george street and Elizabeth street where u can get free shuttle service. Walking distance to even hay market (china town) where can catch a short monorail ride to fish market. Last but not least I must give credit to Paradiso Cafe and Bar. They have free wifi (not from the hotel) and very helpful staff who help us when we have some issue with the car rental and we almost got stranded in the town. I din get his name but I am really grateful for his assistance. He help to gave us advise and answer our enquires in times of helplessness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Puroland

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay and service at the Metro Hotel on Pitt and service at the Paradiso Restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#55 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#124 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel on Pitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel on Pitt

Property: Metro Hotel on Pitt
Address: Metro Hotel 300 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pentura on Pitt)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Hotel on Pitt 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located, Metro Hotel on Pitt is the perfect option for both the leisure and corporate traveller’s seeking affordability and convenience in Sydney’s CBD. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Sydney Eye Tower and Westfield, QVB and Pitt Street Mall, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts, Entertainment venues and Conference spaces all over Sydney are within reach. Also many major corporate and government offices are within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station on our doorstep and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal both just a short walk away. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay and the Rocks. All rooms have high speed Internet connection and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk with printing facilities located in the lobby area. Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. Guests will also be able to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy a smoke free environment when they stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, which is a 100% smoke free hotel. Built in the 1930s, the original building was completely renovated and reopened as the Metro Hotel on Pitt, combining the classic art deco facade with a modern, state-of-the-art interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel on Pitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney
Metro Pitt
Metro Hotel Pitt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing