We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel! For $119 a night my friend and I had a brilliant stay - the reception staff were welcoming and friendly and couldn't help enough! They showed us the best ways to get to all the top attractions and gave us discount stamps too!
Room was also really good. The bathroom was spotless with a big shower and the twin bedroom was clean and comfy with tea and coffee facilities and a fridge. The beds were fresh and so comfortable! Had some of the best nights sleep. It was so quiet considering its bustling city location - definitely a peaceful stay! I'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to spend a fortune but who wants all their creature comforts. Thanks for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina_beech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback, I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    561
    249
    73
    31
See reviews for
161
434
145
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Me & friend stayed here over Australia day weekend.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
The room was very comfortable, very clean.
Fresh towels everyday, friendly housekeeping staff!
We had the best nights sleep here, even slept in one morning, the beds are too comfortable!
Would recommend this hotel highly.
Very pleased with our value for money!
Would definately stay here again :) it was an absolute pleasure :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeneralallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment regarding our friendly staff, location and hotel in general, just lovely, Thank you Lisa Kapinski - EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night over the Australia Day long weekend. On the whole, I definitely wouldn't stay here again. If you want a budget inner-city hotel you can get better quality and a cheaper price than this very average hotel.

Location-wise it is fine, on Pitt St and near to Town Hall, QVB, supermarket etc. however, there isn't much else that is positive except for the quiet room we got at the far end of the corridor.

When I checked in, the guy on the desk said he had no reservation for us. I had to get my iPad out of my luggage and search through my emails before he finally accepted I was a real guest and looked for the booking. Not friendly, not apologetic.

The room is small and fairly shabby, with very few amenities. Two cups and saucers, a very old kettle, bar fridge (which didn't work properly) and two spoons is all you get. No knives and forks or plates (so had to eat my own breakfast out of a plastic container), no microwave, nothing. The bathroom has had a refit but the room itself needed one badly. I've paid less at the Travelodge and had all these things included, so given what we paid I was very unimpressed. Not to mention the view from the window, a brick wall and cement ground covered in cigarette butts.

The beds are okay comfort-wise, average. I slept okay out of tiredness, but could hear people in the corridor so I imagine light sleepers would struggle there. The bathroom was the saving grace, with a good-sized shower. The hotel restaurant was reasonably priced but in Sydney eat out instead.

All in all, a disappointing hotel. Definitely look elsewhere if you are after a good budget hotel. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank room_downstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear room_downstairs

Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the property, although Management does not agree with your feedback I wish you the very best in your travels. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, no real complains whatsoever. Our room was ready and we got to sign in at 8 am (no extra cost). Small room, no views but had an A/C, comfy bed, fridge, coffee&tea making facilities, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries etc. Internet in room is slightly pricey & old fashioned (need to be plugged in with a LAN cord), but the cafe next to reception has WLAN which is free for customers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martsavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Gorper

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at the property, I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Overall, I have good things to say about the hotel. Staying at Christmas in Sydney can be expensive, and this was a good priced option. The location is definitely good. Did a nice long walk from the hotel the the Harbour Bridge, Opera House, Botanical Garden, past the War Memorial, and back the hotel. The Museum Bus stop is a five minute walk away which can quickly get you to Bondi Beach.

The only real issues was the appliances. The hairdryer was broken, the fridge froze our stuff, and the tv would periodically turn off. If the appliances could be updated it would really add value to the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay over the Christmas period. Our location is fantastic and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Basic budget room at $100 per night.

Pros:
Basic facilities are met with quiet room, TV, private bathroom etc.
Good dining area / buffett downstairs.
Good location in mid-CBD region (most budget hotels are towards the southerly end of CBD near Surry Hills/Central).

Cons:
Fairly small room for a single queen sized bed.
No microwave, no fridge, no free milk to make coffee.
Parking is expensive at $35/day at World Square.

Probably more options to choose from elsewhere at this price point and category (e.g. Y Hotel, Travel Lodge).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear M L

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt. Just to let you know there is a minibar fridge in every room with milk; it is in a cupboard, so you must not have found it, if you stay with us again, it is definitely there. The hotels you have mentioned are not as centrally located, as this hotel as it is a 2 minute walk from Town Hall station and a 5 minute walk from Pitt Street Mall, in the middle of the city. Once again thank you for choosing to stay at our property.

Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the location. It's very close to QVB and other shops. The train station is just around the corner and the buses around the other corner. However, the room was small - the beds tiny and they moved, the staff lack personality and the view - well to was the view into the room of the people across from us. Unless you get this hotel at a very goo d price - which we did not I wouldn't bother. it's very disappointing and whilst the location is good, you can probably find something just as good for the same money. There is little positive I can say about this hotel. I guess it's clean and the rooms seemed to be soundproof, but there is nothing endearing about it at all.

Room Tip: Higher floors might have a view of something other than the rooms across the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ero40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Ero40

Thank you for your feedback. Management does not agree with your comments, but thank you for your contribution, all guest opinions are important.

Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#122 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel on Pitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel on Pitt

Property: Metro Hotel on Pitt
Address: Metro Hotel 300 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pentura on Pitt)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Hotel on Pitt 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located, Metro Hotel on Pitt is the perfect option for both the leisure and corporate traveller’s seeking affordability and convenience in Sydney’s CBD. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Sydney Eye Tower and Westfield, QVB and Pitt Street Mall, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts, Entertainment venues and Conference spaces all over Sydney are within reach. Also many major corporate and government offices are within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station on our doorstep and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal both just a short walk away. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay and the Rocks. All rooms have high speed Internet connection and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk with printing facilities located in the lobby area. Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. Guests will also be able to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy a smoke free environment when they stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, which is a 100% smoke free hotel. Built in the 1930s, the original building was completely renovated and reopened as the Metro Hotel on Pitt, combining the classic art deco facade with a modern, state-of-the-art interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Metro Hotel on Pitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney
Metro Pitt
Metro Hotel Pitt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing