We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deadbolt on door did not work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Ranked #54 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Calif. USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deadbolt on door did not work”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Toured Australia with group of 8. We stayed at Metro for 4 days (Oct. 19th-22rd). The first night I heard someone enter my room. By the time I jumped out of bed, I could see the door closing. In the morning I voiced a complaint with the front desk and asked for a room change. Mgmt. said he would check with security to see what occured. Two days later when I asked what security found out, they said an employee entered by mistake. This is when I found out the deadbolt on the door is just for "show", they don't work. I was never given another room, and I was not able to sleep soundly for the remainder of my stay since I didn't feel safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mersay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Mersay

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the property, the dead bolts do work, the hotel has an electronic system, there has to be another explanation for your claim of the occurrence during your stay. Please feel free to contact me as we take our clients security very seriously. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski – Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    644
    280
    81
    33
See reviews for
194
486
165
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a superior room through Quick Beds. There are a few poor reviews on TA so I was a bit apprehensive but I have learnt that some people judge places on trivial things. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Location is fairly good, close to Central Station and World Square shopping centre. Car parking is at World Square which is a city block away. Only downside to this is that only one entrance and exit is allowed for your $35 which is ridiculous. Check in was quick and friendly. Our room - comfortable beds, very clean, tea making, flat screen TV. Looks as though it was one of the refurbished rooms. The whole floor looked good. Only downside was the bathroom which still needed more work. There was no toilet paper holder on the wall and the hand basin did not have a place to put the paper so that was a bit of a juggling act. The sliding glass door entrance to the shower was very narrow and there was a very high step to negotiate. Unsuitable for anybody slightly larger or with mobility difficulties. However all things considered the hotel is very good value for Sydney City where it is almost impossible to find accommodation for under $200.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is marketed as a 4 star boutique hotel but compared to the 4 stars we stayed in on the same trip in Hong Kong and SIngapore (and have stayed in in UK) this is, at the very best a medium 3 star. The location is OK. Staff were very pleasant but not very highly trained. Paint work in reception was very dirty and shabby. Food in the cafe was well cooked but very limited menu and largely 'and chips'. The Special was the same for the whole 6 days we were there. Did not have breakfast there, (The Pearl cafe round the corner has a brilliant breakfast selection)
The carpet in the corridors was rucked up (not just on our floor but all the ones I looked at).
Beds were comfortable and the rooms basically clean but very old fashioned and shabby. Furniture was badly chipped, chairs stained, lamp shades broken, great chanks of veneer worn away, loose taps in bathrooms, mold on the grouting and a dead moth in the spare blanket!
Stayed one night on the way to Canberra and was then booked for another 6 nights on the way back. Only went back because there was nothing else available for the 6 nights at that short notice.
This wasn ot value for money - by UK standards anyway, and I can't believe that standards in Aus are that much lower - and I certainly would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pholl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear imtyr1
Thank you for your feedback. Metro Hotel on Pitt is a 4 Star property, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel group that you have mentioned was advertising at a very expensive rates during the period that you stayed with us, triple the amount you have mentioned. Management doesn’t agree that your comments are a true reflection of the property, but thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. Kind Regards – Lisa Kapinski – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and found the location to be fantastic. Rooms clean but hotel getting on the tired side of life and needs a good refit to spruce things up abit. But like I said earlier if you are after a great location close to good bars, shopping and eateries this is pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear glennjackson

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our hotel and location. Metro Hotel on Pitt will be refurbished in 2013, which will be fantastic. Kind Regards – Lisa Kapinski – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed in Sydney CBD a few times for conferences. I have always started at Kent St meriron for $230 per night. Metro hotel for $190 per night it might looks like a very cheap 4 star hotel. But beware it is not worth $190 at all. I recommend everyone spend $40 more and stay at Kent St Meriton. DO NOT choose this hotel. This hotel makes meriton feels like a 8 star apartment.

Room Tip: Don't be cheap. spend $40 more and you will find Kent St meriton is like a 8 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imtyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

THE PROS
.Location
.Clean
.Easy check in/out
.Friendly helpful staff
,Free newspaper
THE CONS
.not good if you are a smoker,you actually have to go out on the busy main road for a cigarette
.beds/pillows uncomfortable,rooms tiny
.not enough blankets
.ugly brick wall view if you dont have the front rooms
.no bottled water
.no room service
.no laundry facilities(only drycleaning)
Overall i would rate this hotel average at best. Ok for business but definatly not for pleasure

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandoraperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear pandoraperth
Thank you for the positive comments regarding the location, cleanliness and the hotels friendly staff.
Most hotels no longer allow smoking anymore for health and cleanliness reasons, it is almost impossible to get the smell out of soft furnishings and causes many complaints if it is allowed.
We are a boutique 4 star property in the Centre of the city that offers very reasonably priced accommodation, we do offer room service and you can get extra blankets on request if required.
There is a local Laundromat in the area that you can use if required, otherwise yes the hotel does offer Dry Cleaning on request.
Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights at the place, main elevator not working at check-in, no hot water the first day. The worst was yet to come as the mattress had springs poking all over. Complained to reception the next morning before leaving for work. Came back at night and inquired about my complaint and turns out that no one had any knowledge of it!. So slept on the same mattress again the second night also. Still have back pains from it.

Room Tip: Go to room and check first before committing yourself to a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Asim
Thank you for your very important feedback, it is true our hot water was switched off for a couple of hours, due to some urgent repairs that needed to be done on our building; Management does apologies for the inconvenience to your stay, but this was necessary to the comfort of the hotels guests and beyond our control unfortunately, this is not a regular occurrence, and a time was chosen so guests were hopefully not inconvenienced.
The hotel seldom has complaints regarding bedding and this does concern me, I have spoken to the Team regarding there feedback when a guest has a complaint and it is unusual that you say nothing was done, if this is the case I apologies.
Thank you once again for your comments, this is an usual complaint, usually most comments are positive.
Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
777 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#125 of 179 in Sydney
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,152 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 179 in Sydney
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel on Pitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel on Pitt

Property: Metro Hotel on Pitt
Address: Metro Hotel 300 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pentura on Pitt)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Hotel on Pitt 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located, Metro Hotel on Pitt is the perfect option for both the leisure and corporate traveller’s seeking affordability and convenience in Sydney’s CBD. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Sydney Eye Tower and Westfield, QVB and Pitt Street Mall, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts, Entertainment venues and Conference spaces all over Sydney are within reach. Also many major corporate and government offices are within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station on our doorstep and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal both just a short walk away. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay and the Rocks. All rooms have high speed Internet connection and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk with printing facilities located in the lobby area. Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. Guests will also be able to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy a smoke free environment when they stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, which is a 100% smoke free hotel. Built in the 1930s, the original building was completely renovated and reopened as the Metro Hotel on Pitt, combining the classic art deco facade with a modern, state-of-the-art interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metro Hotel on Pitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney
Metro Pitt
Metro Hotel Pitt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing