We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHABBY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Regis City Centre
Ranked #128 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We attended the Seekers Concert at the State Theatre and booked this hotel for convenience to the theatre. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel is old and desperately in need of renovations. Our small queen room was on the seventh floor and badly appointed; minimal hanging and storage space, paint peeling on the walls, musty smell, one small bedside table with lamp (no space for a second bedside table), however the bed was clean and comfortable. If you are a light sleeper, you may have trouble with the noise coming from the street.
The bathroom was disgraceful; very small, no vanity only a sink with a small hot water service attached to the wall under the sink, and only a small shelf on the wall next to the sink on which to place personal toiletries. There was no shower screen only a curtain on a railing, no fan, no loose soaps or shampoos, just dispensers on the wall in the shower and above the sink which contained soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash and shower gel. These dispensers dispensed the various contents very slowly and it was terribly frustrating trying to get a good lather up in this tiny shower. The small hot water service was completely inadequate and it was difficult to regulate the water temperature.
There is a rooftop relaxation area with views, however it is very shabby with dying plants and stained furniture. This could be a lovely haven in the middle of the city but in its present state is not attractive.
Overall, this property desperately needs upgrading, especially the bathroom. I would not stay again and will not be recommending this property to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road may be quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REDNAN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear REDNAN23
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. I am pleased you found our reception staff friendly and efficient. Concerning your comments about the condition of your room I would like to apologise. The hotel is currently painting rooms which are lifting the appearance together with installing double glazed windows to reduce the outside traffic noise. The bathrooms at our hotel do not have bath tubs and have a shower only with a shower curtain. I will pass on your comments regarding the dispensers and the storage in the bathroom to our General Manager to review. The rooftop observation deck and swimming pool does not look the best at present due to scaffolding and essential maintenance work taking place. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Kind Regards
Cheyne Stebbing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,176)
There are newer reviews for Park Regis City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,742 - 1,748 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

No frills, basic 3 star hotel with all the amenities required in a very convenient location. Bathroom was a little tight for the average but still very accessible. Beds were very comfortable, room comes with iron and ironing board if required but no slippers.
Overall was a very pleasant stay and would be highly recommended for those on a bit of a budget but would still like the convenience. Only a block from Town Hall station and QVB for some shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear GrantCunningham

Thank you for staying at Leisure Inn Sydney Central. I appreciate your positive review of our hotel and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. The hotel is located within walking distance of Central train station. The new Central Park development and shopping centre has now opened and is a few minutes walk from the hotel and worth a visit. As you mentioned all guests must swipe their room key to enter the building after 9pm and swipe again to use the lift. It is good to hear that our staff was friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. Thank you again for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I understand that Sydney hotels are expensive so the first thing you need to remember is that you get what you pay for. The location of this hotel is good. Close to Museum Station which provides a direct train route to the airport, close to Pitt and George Streets, QVB Building and Darling Harbour. The property itself is run down, the shower is terrible and the noise overnight was unbelievable. I had to invest in some ear plugs which did help on the second night. When we arrived only 1 lift was working so long waits, our television in our room wasn't working and the shower water temperature is difficult to modulate. There is supposed to be a pool on the very top floor and views out to all of Sydney but when we went up there the pool was out of order and it appeared the residents of the building were ensconced, smoking and drinking coffee so we didn't feel we could intrude in their space. We spent very little time in the room so it was OK but only that, nothing special. Next trip I will look for somewhere else and accept that perhaps we have to spend a bit more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear macrules

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found our location convenient for your stay in Sydney. We are very centrally located and within walking distance of many attractions. Regarding your comments about the hotel property itself, we are looking to improve the quality of our rooms and have recently started a program of painting corridors and rooms and installing double glazed windows. There are 2 lifts in the hotel, I apologise that 1 lift was unavailable during your stay however from time to time maintenance work is necessary. We do have maintenance staff working at the hotel to resolve any faults that appear such as the TV which stopped working. In addition all rooms are thoroughly inspected prior to each guest arrival. The rooftop observation deck and swimming pool are located on level 45. These areas are shared between residents and hotel guests. The area on the rooftop is quite large and will easily accommodate more than one group. Our swimming pool has recently been out of order due to urgent maintenance work. I would like to thank you for staying at Park Regis City Centre and leaving a review.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Requested room at the higher level due to noise but was ignored. Rooms are too noisy and windows are to thin, you can hear the traffic! Hot/cold water in shower doesnt work well despite following their instructions. Be careful, you can either get scalded or shower with extremely cold water when hot water runs out.

Room Tip: be careful of their shower and water pressure
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear shoptiludrop1

I am sorry to hear that you encountered problems during your stay with us. The hotel floors are located between levels 6 to 15 with residential floors located above the hotel. As mentioned in previous replies, the hotel is currently installing double glazing and this has now been completed on 3 floors of the hotel. This is making a big difference and these rooms are noticeably quieter. Regarding the shower, I apologise that it did not work correctly for you. We have recently upgraded the older shower heaters to new models which are more reliable and efficient. Rest assured we take all feedback seriously and this will be followed up with our maintenance staff.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Pros
Good price and Rooms stayed for my past 3 time in Sydney.
Got a free upgrade after getting back from Jenolan cave

Cons
A little noise during weekends
Water pressure need to improve for the shower.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank kohdesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear kohdesmond

Thank you for your recent review and your continued loyalty to Park Regis City Centre. I am glad we were able to offer a complimentary upgrade, we always try to look after our regular guests subject to availability. Our hotel is currently installing double glazed windows to a further two floors, this is reducing the amount of noise which can be heard from inside the hotel. The water pressure in the showers is not normally a problem, I will ask our Engineer to inspect the shower in your last room. I apologise if this impacted on your stay. Thank you once again for staying at Park Regis City Centre and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Terrible old building. Narrow walkways and extremely small rooms. They did their very best to kind of dress up the foyer, but the moment you turn the corner to the elevators the standard drops to 1 star. Overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymousme00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear bernBrisbane

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I apologise that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay. As you mention the hotel is located in an older building and the corridors on each floor are narrow compared with modern buildings. I must mention that although the corridors are narrow wheelchairs are able to negotiate our corridors without any issue. Our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program which includes installing double glazed windows and the painting of rooms and corridors. The lift lobby and interior of the lifts are currently being reviewed by our General Manager. I believe we offer modern and good quality rooms at an affordable price, especially considering our central location in Sydney. Again I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay, if I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We found this hotel to be very clean and tidy, staff were extremely helpful. The hotel is well located within the CBD. Rooms are a little on the small side, but if you are only thinking of staying a short while this Hotel ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the higher levels.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaTFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear LisaTracy

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be very clean and tidy, we have dedicated Housekeeping staff who have worked at the hotel for a number of years and take pride in their work. Our hotel is located nearby to Town Hall station and is a convenient base to explore Sydney from. Thanks again for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Park Regis City Centre.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 178 in Sydney
292 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#58 of 178 in Sydney
782 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Coronation
Hotel Coronation
#122 of 178 in Sydney
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Centre

Address: 27 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $110 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Regis City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Regis City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Centre Hotel Sydney
Park Regis City Centre Sydney
Park Regis Sydney
Park Regis Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing