We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad budget option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Regis City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Regis City Centre
Ranked #119 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Concord, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a bad budget option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Quite centrally located and good for shopping, the hotel is older but rooms have been tastefully updated.

The bed was very comfortable and reception staff pleasant to deal with.

The lifts were a little noisy and quite slow, but the building has quite a lot of floors. On that note, make sure you get up to the roof top, the views are amazing, particularly at night.

I'd stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: The street noise can be a bit of a bother, so aim for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asia_short_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear asia_short_tripper

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found the rooms comfortable and tastefully updated. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our front desk staff. The hotel has two lifts which are normally more than sufficient for guest usage. These lifts are occasionally taken out of service for regular maintenance and during these periods there may be a small delay. As you mentioned there is a fantastic view from our rooftop level which is open to all guests between 6am and 10pm. Thank you once again for your nice comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    638
    543
    291
    188
See reviews for
283
627
243
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Location is the only reason to stay here. I booked $99 a night and when checking in was told that I could only have a standard noisy room by the lift for that price. Tired from travelling I had no choice but to agree to paying $100 extra on checkin for my stay to be away from the lifts.

Deco is not up to standard and the internal walls are makeshift false walls to make the rooms smaller. Bathroom plumbing has a weird pump and a plaque informs how to get the hot water working!! Most of the staff on front desk are unfriendly except for the manager in the mornings who is great.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra if you expect to get any sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sj295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Georgetown, Penang
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

For the price we paid, we were happy. The bathroom/shower area was a little outdated, but otherwise, everything was clean and well maintained. The best part about this hotel is that it has a very good location- walking distance to Darling Harbor and other areas in Sydney. Staff were attentive and friendly and they also have an amazing view at their pent house. The only thing that can be something they should look into is having free wi-fi?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grunge_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Grunge_Princess
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms clean and well maintained. Our hotel is located a few minutes walk from Town Hall and is very central to most of the sightseeing locations in the city. I am happy to hear that our staff provided you with a friendly service and that you had an opportunity to visit our rooftop observation deck. There is a charge for using the Wi-Fi at the hotel as you mentioned, the prices for internet access are competitive compared to other Sydney hotels. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My sisters and I stayed at the Park Regis as we were going to see a show at the Capitol Theatre which is a couple of blocks away. The location of the hotel was great as it was close to everything we needed.

I purchased a deal through a website (OurDeal.com.au) which entitled me to a Superior Queen or Twin room. I booked one of each for $99 per room.

I had read several other reviews from other Tripadvisor travellers and most reviews were quite poor. I must honestly say that for $99 a room on a Saturday night I couldn't have asked for much more.

The rooms appear to have fresh carpet and some new furnishings. Our bathroom was quite decent and wasn't cramped as some reviews described. The rooms really need a coat of paint desperately. We were on level 12 and could still hear some road noise. Our room windows had no lock on them so we couldn't even shut them properly. Our rooms and the hallways also smelt like a hospital.

The rooftop pool is nice and the view is really amazing. You can get some great shots of the harbour and the city.

All in all, I wouldn't stay again unless I was desperate and the rate was no more than $100. I have found better accommodation in the city for similar price. The staff were very welcoming and upon checkout were very courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the building as you get less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Not big on bagging things in a review but let's start, very cramped room, ok it's cheap, curtains wouldn't close properly making it hard to sleep, I swear it sounded like every time someone above, below or next to me flushed their toilet they were using mine,very noisy. I will be making sure I avoid it in the future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SquidMalacari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear SquidMalacari
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. The hotel is progressively installing double glazed windows into our rooms which is improving the sound proofing and reducing the noise from outside the hotel. We have also recently had maintenance work done on the elevators to reduce the noise as the lift opens on each floor. I apologise that the curtain did not fully close in your room, I will arrange for this to be included as part of our daily room inspections to identify any issues. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review.
Kind Regards
Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is an excellent location, for walking to most of the main sights & trains, just 10min walk from Town Hall station. The staff, both reception & cleaning were exceptionally helpful & friendly & always had a welcoming word.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear DarrenDaz
Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our central location in Sydney. I will pass on your feedback to our Reception and Housekeeping staff, it is always nice to give recognition to our staff for their helpful & friendly service. Thank you again for staying at Park Regis City Centre and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here one night, and it was great for our purposes. Took the AirportLink train to the Museum stop and then walked about 5 minutes to the Park Regis where we dropped off our bags and then went out and about until returning around 9:30pm. Hotel upgraded our bed to a king I believe, which was nice. Also, the staff at the reception desk were very friendly.

So here's the deal with the hotel room: it's small, with the bed taking up most of the room. Bathroom is small too, and there is only a curtain separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom (no tub). So it's not a great place to hang out. But if, like us, all you're looking for is a relatively cheap place to sleep and keep your stuff while you're out exploring the city, it's a good
deal.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grabowcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear grabowcp

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Park Regis City Centre. The closest train station to the hotel is Town Hall station which is 2 minutes walking distance, Museum station is also within walking distance like you have mentioned and is about 5 minutes from the hotel. The rooms at the hotel do vary in size according to the room type, our Reception staff is able to upgrade into a larger room for an upgrade fee. The bathrooms at the hotel have a shower only, we do not have any bathtubs in any of the rooms. Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Centre

Property: Park Regis City Centre
Address: 27 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Regis City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Regis City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Centre Hotel Sydney
Park Regis City Centre Sydney
Park Regis Sydney
Park Regis Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing