We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous city hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have just spent five nights in a beautifully appointed Opera Deluxe room in the contemporary Park Hyatt Sydney and loved every minute of it. It is one of the best located city hotels anywhere, sitting in the shadow of the Harbour Bridge with, in many rooms, a front-on view of the opera house - and the enormous cruise liners docking in Circular Quay. If you can afford it, don't even consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Must have an opera view room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoginsonetonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,520)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here when the vivid light festival was on and it was amazing. We sat out the balcony and watched the opera house change colour.

The hotel itself is gorgeous from top to bottom. Room is elegant, beds is comfy and the staff members were amazing.

It's worth every dollar!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ceeceerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read you had a positive experience at our harbourside residence, and you enjoyed the vivid light festival from your room. We will be sure to share your positive comments with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and we loved every single moment we are staying there. The room is spacious, overlooking the opera house. Staffs are friendly, breakfast top notch basically everything you would expect from a Park Hyatt. The view and room are so nice that we sometime prefer to spend time at our room!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hktransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We absolutely loved this place. The location, ambiance and staff were all top notch. We arrived early in the morning, coming off a cruise ship (the Overseas Passenger Terminal is just down the street- easy walk) and the staff could not be more attentive and helpful. Our room wasn't ready but they stored our bags and provided us with tourist info and maps. When we returned late in the day, our bags were in our room. We did not have the best view but our stay could not have been any better. The location is superb, with The Rocks just a few short blocks away, Circular Quay just down the street and the Opera House within walking distance as well. The Concierge staff was extremely helpful in suggesting places to visit and restaurants to eat at.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view of the Harbor and the Opera House but it can all be seen from the public...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

It is a great hotel with stunning views of Sydney opera house from one side. Rooms are big. Great bathrooms with heated toilets. Location is unbeatable. The gym is just ok but clean. Staff is attentive

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarnSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great rooms but this hotel needs a major retraining / upgrade of service and staff

This is a beautiful property with views and nicely renovated new rooms.
Very comfortable and stylish feel. It’s the best in Sydney for luxury travel
Internet is free and high speed – very good these days!

However, the hotel needs to have serious look at its staff training and service attitude, something was just not working over the 5 days I stayed

Form the moment I checked in service was just awkward and not flowing
The reception did not have my correct name in the booking and handled the situation quite rudely as if I wasn’t meant to be there. Finally sorted ( 20 mins)
My room was not as per my booking request and when asked to change was only contacted 8 hours later to say no room was available. I was ok with this but still could have been a better response by staff to show they care.

The first night there was no turn down and when I called they just came with 2 towels at the door and I had to ask for water and new amenities that I was promised on check in and never came… as part of group we were offered wine or fruit …even after asking they never came

My first day I went to work and returned to room that was not made up or cleaned I called to ask why and they said I had a privacy light on which was not correct. I also mentioned that I called that morning to request a room clean, again no apology or offer to clean the room.

After asking it took 4 hours for anyone to do anything and I returned from dinner to my room being cleaned whilst I waited another 3o minutes

I asked for a shirt to be pressed and was offered express at 100% premium even though I didn’t need till the next evening yet they insisted, until i suggested normal rates would be fine… the clothes came the next day with a premium charge certainly not an express service

The breakfast was a hit and miss, it all looked good but tasted pretty bland. The menu items sound good but don’t deliver in quality or produce standards. No tea or juice offered until 15 minutes of waiting, a full room and only 3 staff meant service warmth or attention failed and just robotic like feel that can’t anticipate needs of guest

I did order room service one night and received cold fries and a very average club sandwich. Staff forgot my milk shake then returned with the wrong flavor 2 times… they didn’t charge me for the shake but I thought this is just another example of poor attention to detail even when trying to correct the situation

At the pool there were no staff … a few towels. No water or snacks. I went down to gym to see if any water was there but it was empty … lockers in gym were closed towels and amentias pretty low and steam room was off so I waited 30 mins to heat properly

Finally I sent one more shirt for pressing and agreed to express – they only came the next morning on check out some 16 hours late for 2 x price I could see no value

Btw take you key everywhere as access is controlled to pool a gym

Also, I found that calling guest service required patience if they actually picked up the phone – a few times I just hung up as no answer and when they did, the listening factor was pretty odd … they often did what they wanted to do not what I asked.

I would like to say that I spent over $5000 in 5 days here and I am taking time to write the most feedback I have ever had to on trip advisor only to help improve the hotel and warn travellers. I have been in many 5 – 6 star hotels and what I write applies to nearly all staff I met; something is out and not connected.

If they can all just relax a little and try to connect with guest in natural way to make the experience truly 5/6 star ….the rigidity and process driven operation fault this hotel and for the high room rate you really expect more.

Maybe they rest on the views and position but I think they would want to do better and improve.

Maybe take few a lesson from the four seasons (I stayed for week before this hotel) that don’t have the same property but win hands down when comes to excellent service and exceeding guest experiences….

Room Tip: harbour views only - truly exceptional
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mabudo_likes_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Let me start by saying, we just loved this hotel. From the personalized service, to the beautiful view off the room balcony of the Sydney Opera House across the harbour. Park Hyatt Sydney cant be beat. Manager Timothy definitely went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I spoke to him before we got there and he helped extend our stay one night to a room type that was not available online. When we arrived he greeted us and helped checked us in. He then showed us to our room and made sure we were comfortable with everything. The room was really beautiful and comfortable. A few minutes later they delivered a freshly made crib for my daughter with a little stuffed kangaroo. I thought that was a really nice touch. I don't want t to bore you, so in a nut shell, the place, location , room and service were "perfect". If ever in Sydney again, this is the place we will stay.

Room Tip: Harbour front room is a must.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luv_totravel121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 178 in Sydney
1,810 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $723 - $1,476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing