We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views for a nice dinner at sunset”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #6 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

You can't beat the gorgeous views of Sydney Opera House across the bay of Circular Quay. The bar next to the restaurant is absolutely classy and a great place to hang out for a pre-dinner cocktail with your friends. Absolutely hotel grade and an adult, classy hangout.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alicia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent time with us.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence and had a memorable experience in The Bar.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here earlier in the year. As a Diamond member, I was upgraded to an Opera Deluxe room. I've stayed here several times prior to the renovations, and the changes have dramatically increased the room's amenity and design! Dinner in the dining room was excellent, wonderful service, great food. No complaints at all.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank norby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you were well taken care of by our team and had enjoyable experiences in both The Dining Room and your Opera Deluxe room. As we strive to exceed our guest expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Truly a class act. From the moment my wife and I checked in the service was perfect. Sincere and not overwhelming. The views of the sunset were spectacular. The pancakes with fresh fruit made us wake up earlier than normal. Could not have been better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Opera House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback . We are always delighted to receive feedback on our guest’s experiences and are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at our Park Hyatt Sydney was a memorable one

We appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sydneysiders can be justly proud that they have one of the best hotels in Australia if not the world - and I say this with conviction as we are well-travelled and have experienced many!
Why? Location. Class. Location. Ambience. Location. Staff. Location. Interiors. Location. And the list goes on.
Yes, you pay top dollar but many a time we have paid top dollar and been disappointed. This is value. The refurbishment has been tastefully done so the decor is not showy.
The amenities are excellent as are the toiletries and there are plenty of them. Love that toilet!
We ran out of tea and asked for a few packets more - a whole box arrived! It's these little touches that count.
The views are superb and what a wonderful way to wake up in the morning and see the Opera House and Circular Quay close by. There is a lovely quay to walk along right in front of the hotel.
The staff are friendly, knowledgable and well trained.
The swimming pool is excellent with superb views.
Room service is expensive and $45 for breakfast is pushing it a bit but at least the food was top class.
If you are from out of town or from overseas and want a classy experience or just want to spend a special occasion with a special person in a special place - this is it!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the bay as close to the bridge side as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback .We are always delighted to receive feedback on our guest’s experiences and are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at our Park Hyatt Sydney was a memorable one.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. As we strive to exceed our guest expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed two nights on a very busy weekend to see the International Fleet Review. Every member of staff we encountered went out of their way to ensure we had a perfect experience (particular thanks to Darcy). We arrived and left at the busiest times and were not kept waiting at all. The room was clean, lovely toiletries and a magic view. A very memorable experience. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dragonflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback .We are always delighted to receive feedback on our guest’s experiences and are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at Park Hyatt Sydney over the Fleet Review weekend was a memorable one.

We continuously strive to exceed our guest expectations and your kind feedback is a gracious commendation of our team. I will most certainly share this with Darcy and the rest of our team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

As good as ever!! Spectacular views of the Bridge and the Opera House....made even more special with the beautiful autumn weather.

A fantastic hotel in every respect.

I arrived in Sydney early and the hotel were able to accommodate an early check-in, without any fuss. It made such a difference to be able to shower and take an early lunch before continuing with my day.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to enable you top take advantage of the magnificent vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney as we live interstate from each other and hadn't seen each other since my birthday so it was my late birthday present. This information was written on the requests section when booking, as well as also requesting a high floor. We have stayed at our fair share of amazing hotels all over the world and even though this was gorgeous. However, I wouldn't call it one of the best I've ever stayed in.

Although the staff were friendly, I called early in the day as we wanted to request early check in (normal check in is at 2pm). The person at the front desk said they would put down a request but there were no guarantees and we wouldn't know until arrival. We decided not to risk having to wait around, so we had lunch and arrived at 2:30. At this time we were told that our room wasn't ready and that it 'should be ready in approximately 45 minutes' (in hotel time this usually means longer). We were quite unimpressed with this and told the woman at the desk that we really didn't want to wait as we had not only requested an early check in but it was already half an hour past normal check in so she handed us a key to another room.

When we went upstairs we discovered it was on the 1st floor (even though we had requested a high floor for my birthday). Now I understand that she had told us the first room (which may have possibly been on a higher floor) wasn't ready but if this was the case she could have explained that if we if we wanted a higher floor we would have needed to wait. It was past check in time and this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel - one of the best in Sydney apparently.

Having travelled all over the world and having had hotels go above and beyond for us (free champagne on birthdays, chocolate on pillows while we are out at dinner) I wasn't really impressed. I have also had hotels in the past at least mention my birthday as a nice little touch but this wasn't mentioned even though it was the specific reason for our stay. It may sound like I'm expecting a lot but I don't think I am considering the nightly rate for the rooms can be upwards of $1000.

I must admit that the room was very beautiful although a little smaller and dimmer than I imagined with a little balcony. We did however have a stunning view of the opera house which is really what you pay for. The location of the hotel (in the Rocks) was great - very quiet and a short walk to a beautiful little view of the harbour bridge.

Although the hotel is gorgeous I have definitely stayed in places with better service (such as the Intercontinental Sydney - who learn your name off my heart just to greet you everywhere you walk!). I do feel that a little bit more attention could be paid when people are spending insane amounts of money and let's be honest, even if you are rich, $1000+ is an insane amount of money for a hotel room for a night but everyone has their own opinions.

Room Tip: The opera view is well worth the extra money! Although if you can splash the cash I would upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Sydney.

We were disappointed to learn that your requests weren’t recognised as we place great importance on our guests and always strive to exceed expectations. This is not indicative of the level of service to which we strive, and we will certainly share your feedback with our team so we may continue to enhance our offerings and service delivery at the hotel.

On a positive note, we were very pleased to hear you really enjoyed the convenience of our harbourside residence.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 186 in Sydney
1,510 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 186 in Sydney
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darling
#10 of 186 in Sydney
942 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 186 in Sydney
4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $760 - $1,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing