We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip to Remember”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #5 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

From the moment we arrive we were made to feel like we were special. This started with a 1000 check-in and the room was available with a view to die for. And things just went up from there with the location, restaurant, reservations, concierge and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhino1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in April 2013 the night of our wedding. Initial impressions were that the hotel was extremely tasteful and it was a pleasure to be in. My wife and I both thought that our room was good enough to live in full time!

The staff were fantastic, especially Jonathan the concierge. Nothing was too much trouble, and a few gifts were arranged on my behalf at very short notice.

As somebody who spends half his life in hotels throughout Asia, I thought this was probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the buffet breakfast, they don't charge extra to use the ala carte menu in add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machaltcrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Every inch of the Park Hyatt Sydney just wreaks of upscale sophistication & modern class! We walked in & knew 'we'd arrived!' Nestled right on the point in the Opera Deluxe room, we had no idea this Hotel would be THAT close to the Opera House...or expect to be staring at a giant Cruise Ship the entire week out of one of the windows. (boo) Hyatt is right in 'The Rocks' - which is fun for shopping & exploration - plus only about 10 mins walking to the Circular Quay to catch Ferries/Tram anywhere you'd like to go! DEFINITELY working on finding ourselves one of those heated Toilet Seats they provided! Great sleep, very quiet & just a perfect place to kick-back & people watch, if you so choose. The thing that stands out the most is the wonderfully accommodating front-desk staff + Concierge. All were genuinely friendly, outgoing & full of attentive gestures. Not a fan of minimal food selection at top-dollar, but ordering Room Service was a good option to make sure to get what we were used to for our little one. They have a wonderful Buffet Breakfast, a fabulous Spa facility (90 min Massage is a MUST) & the rooms were very comfortable. If you're considering Park Hyatt Sydney - - BOOK IT!

Room Tip: Know your Budget & personal desires for your stay. Rooms can vary from $500 to over $1k! They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank facosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first stay at the Park Hyatt in Sydney.

The rooms are large, modern, and bright. Located a five minute walk from Circular Quay, it's great for bars, restaurants, and views of the Opera House.

Our booking had been made via my wife's office; benefitting us a corporate rate. The stay in Sydney during Easter was the first stop on a long trip, all of which was for leisure. Unfortunately there seemed to be an conflict between the travel policy within my wife's organisation, and the Park Hyatt Sydneys' policy on bookings utilising corporate rates.

Fair enough.

What I didn't understand was why the dispute could not have been had via email months in advance, rather than at reception during check-in. In no way was this resolved or handled well by the staff on duty that day. We understand that each hotel group will have different guidelines for corporate rates negotiated, however it is the way in which this particular situation was handled that was disappointing. 

In comparison to other Park Hyatt hotels we have stayed at, the service we experienced at the Park Hyatt Sydney was poor, and borderline rude.

It goes without saying that the ability of a hotels management is what should set this calibre of hotel apart. In the event of disputing a hotel tariff; welcome the guest first before shooting from the hip, and start from a position of honouring a booking that has been established months in advance.

Secondly, we were asked if we had just arrived into Sydney and where from. Excellent, but having learned that we have just stepped off an overnight flight, accept that we are tired, and perhaps offer a glass of water.

Worst welcome to a hotel ever.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What can I say about this hotel except!!!!!!!!! Amazing views of the Opera House, comfortable beds, large rooms, fluffy bathrobes, private toilet room which also had warming seats and a built in Bidet. Marvelous! The service was excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for you and went out of their way to suggest sites and shopping destinations. I will never get over the view and the location of the resort, located in the Rocks you are walking distance to all ferrys and great restaurants. Love this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonisnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This vacation will go down as my most memorable ever! Left home a Miss returned as a Mrs! Owed in part to this wonderful hotel. Rooms are beautiful, clean, beds were very comfy and large. Fluffy dressing gowns and the food was extraordinary. We had a stunning view of the opera house. Staff were friendly, polite and extremely helpful. Unbeknown to me my boyfriend ( as was ) had booked the adjoining suite which would house our beautiful wedding on the eve of our stay. They helped create such a wonderful atmosphere and made our wedding a fairy tale.

The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Truly unbelievable service.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the water for stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

now being the second time in sydney, i thought it would be good to try out the different districts in sydney, so we ended up "on the rocks" at the park hyatt hotel, probably one of the fies in sydney to find, as it had been refurbished recently and its location is just unique! directly opposite of the harbour with harbour bridge towering over the hotel and the opera house oposite, the huge cruise iners in sight, it is so beautiful to experience this city with the view from that very hotel!
we had a double room with view onto the opera house and best of the hotel is, that they are providing a private balcony to each room - great! huge beds, a modern bathroom concept and perfect housekeeping service makes your stay really comfortable.
the pool area lies on top of the hotel with a good sized pool to swim, offering day-beds and regular sun-beds, a little island of relaxation.
compliments to the outstanding service of the concierges! all of them were not only knowledgeable but truly helpful beyond our expectations!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on sydney opera house, 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 180 in Sydney
1,414 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 180 in Sydney
6,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 180 in Sydney
1,884 reviews
The Darling
#4 of 180 in Sydney
916 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $746 - $1,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing