We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just spent two lovely nights here celebrating our wedding anniversary. Fast check-in and then shown up to our room to open the doors and step out onto the Juliet balcony with views across Circular Quay – unfortunately the first day we had to spend looking into the stern of a large cruise ship (not the hotel’s fault but it did detract from the overall view). The rooms are elegant and very comfortable with a spacious bathroom and separate wet area. We managed to use the rooftop pool facilities for a short time on both days and it felt very decadent sitting in the spa checking out life passing by below, and overhead watching the groups walking along to begin their Bridge climbs. Note to hotel – please put some hooks in the changing areas upon which to hang towels, etc. whilst using the showers.

We returned to our room on the Thursday night to discover an unexpected bottle of French champagne with the compliments of the hotel which was wonderful. We had dinner on our first night in the Dining Room, which was very good with friendly and competent service; we selected the tasting menu with matching wines and the head chef made two excellent substitutions for me as I do not eat meat. A lovely anniversary meal. :-)

We did, however, experience delays with our requests to guest services - it took some time for a requested champagne ice bucket and two glasses to be delivered on the Friday night and on Saturday morning, we realised that the milk in the fridge hadn’t been replaced – despite being assured upon our phone call at 8.30 am this would be brought up straightaway, the milk still hadn’t appeared when we left for breakfast at 9.30 am. The breakfast options in the restaurant were very good and excellent coffee.

A very good stay for a special occasion.

Tip: When ordering a water taxi, be aware that this doesn’t pick you up from the jetty outside the hotel; we were not made aware of this resulting in a little dash to the jetty a little further away before the driver left.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel when booking as to which view your room will have – some (ours - 117) only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

We are grateful that you shared your comments regarding the delay experienced with the delivery of an ice bucket and glasses, and the milk to be replaced which did not occur. I would like to express my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for comments relating to hooks in the changing areas, we have taken your comments on board and will consider your suggestion.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    244
    81
    37
    22
See reviews for
363
1,074
106
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent location, walking distance to transport and restaurants. This is our second stay at this hotel and it was just as fabulous second time around. We had a lovely view from our balcony over Sydney harbour. Even though the ferry terminal and nearby boardwalk was at times quite noisy the double glased windows/sliding doors blocked out all the noise when closed. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. When assistance was required, this was met with immediate and prompt service.
Concierge staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We found the conceirge staff to be knowledgeable about the Sydney area and provided helpful hints and tips to assist us in our daily travel plans.
Room service was prompt and food delicious. This hotel will definately be top our list when we return to Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanchepian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to learn that you and found the hotel service and facilities to your satisfaction.

It is always very rewarding to be recognised and appreciated for our service excellence and professionalism that we strive to maintain. Your kind words will certainly be shared with all the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This was a surprise for my husband. What I didn't realise is that I would also get a surprise by being upgraded to a Cove Suite, OMG it was stunning, very large and magnificent views.

We enjoyed watching the dozen or more brides being photographed with the Sydney Opera House as their background while drinking french champagne on one of our 3 verandahs. We had friends join us for predinner drinks and watched the city turn from day to night before going to dinner at The Dining Room. Terrific restaurant in the hotel, wonderful food and service.

After a great nights sleep breakfast was good and we had a late checkout.

The finish and feel of opulence is what makes this make you feel special.

It is very expensive but you can see why it is and for a special occasion why not. We would definitely come back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmCeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney and you enjoyed being upgraded to the Cove Suite. I will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The moment we arrived, we felt really welcome in this hotel... Since we were arriving very early and the hotel was completely booked, the reception desk showed us the gym and pool area to freshen up a bit.. The room was ready after a hour or so...

The rooms are very nice and clean, make sure you have a room facing the opera or harbour. I can't complain about anything, service was good, rooms were good, restaurant was REALLY good (try the tasting menu, worth the money)!

The only downside is the really high room rates... But you REALLY get what you pay for..

Would stay definitely again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

It is our aim to strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and we really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Park Hyatt Sydney has it all! Great location and views, Impeccable well appointed rooms, and a fantastic staff. I stayed in room 210, with it's two "juliet style" balconies and direct views of the Opera House and the Harbor Bridge you can't ask for a better Sydney experience. Room service is prompt and delicious, (get the cheeseburger-yum!). The fitness center is cozy, but very clean & well equipped. Head upstairs to the outdoor pool and deck - my favorite spot. Enjoyed a great massage at the spa with Maria. My hats off to the entire five star staff who made my two stays in two weeks unforgettable. Special kudos to Simon Z. rooms mgr., Christian-concierge (take his advice and dine at Cafe Sopra/Fratelli Fresh), Sarah-front desk and my pal Dylan the bellman. Thank you all for your friendship and attention to detail. Till we meet again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinceonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, from Room Service, to the Concierge and Bell Desk staff. I will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team, particularly those you have named.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Breath taking location. Second visit for two of us. This hotel is simply Five Star at all levels. We stayed here four years ago and needed some TLC. After one year of refurbishments this hotel is simply five star at world class level. We utilised all services of the hotel during our three day stay. Pool and service simply great, pool on the top of the hotel open air and views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House, Harbour, Sydney skyline....simply to die for. Restaurants and cafes of very high standard with great food and beverage, with very helpful and pleasant staff. Our experience a check in right from the concierge and check in very helpful especially when our room was not ready and had to wait a short while in the lounge area. Hotel is very centrally located and a very short walk to the Rocks area, ferry terminal to all the sights of Sydney and shopping is only a short walk into town or a short taxi ride. Overall felt very happy on our departure from the hotel and will definitely recommend this gorgeous hotel to all our family and friends. If in doubt where to stay in Sydney, stay at The Park Hyatt Sydney and you will definitely not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view of the harbour, city and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to learn that you and found the hotel service and facilities to your satisfaction.

It is always very rewarding to be recognised and appreciated for our service excellence and professionalism that we strive to maintain. Your kind words will certainly be shared with all the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited the Park Hyatt over xmas 2012 and used some of our many Hyatt points.
The first room we got had a view out the side and over a roadway and after an incident involving a very large spider in the room (and no-one responding to my phone calls after about more than 10 minutes and ending with my husband having to get rid of it) we were moved to another room with a side view of the water. (After my husband did the deed with the spider a member of staff finally arrived with a litter picker. Don't know what the intention of that was)

In the second room I noticed that the duvet cover was tucked in to the bed at the bottom - and I don't like that when I'm sleeping so I took it out. The duvet was very badly torn! I mentioned the next day when I bumped in to the housekeeper and she came and saw the cover and just shrugged her shoulders!

I was also disappointed in the concierge service in that just before we arrived at the hotel I cut my finger and it was bleeding. I asked for a plaster but they didn't have any. I wrapped my finger in a tissue and was told that plasters would be put into the bedroom for my return that night. They weren't. Next day I spoke with the same concierge and he apologised. I would however have expected better from a hotel of this calibre.

All in all the service (although it was with a smile) was sadly not the standard we expected. We are regular Hyatt users but they even forgot basic things such as complimentary newspaper.

It is a great location for a hotel however I don't think there is any need to stay there unless you are guaranteed a room with a good view (and they come at a very hefty cost)

Room Tip: Room with a view or nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Park Hyatt Sydney in December.

We were disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations, and value your constructive feedback.

I would like to express my sincere apologies that we failed to provide you with the high levels of service that you have come to expect. Please rest assured your comments have been shared with all the team to remind them of the importance of providing and maintaining our standards at all times.

Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you and your husband back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,805 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Property: Park Hyatt Sydney
Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing