We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney's best hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #4 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night for a special occasion in a harbour deluxe room. Unfortunately we were on the ground floor which made it hard to enjoy the stunning views from the bath (people in the park outside can pretty much see straight in), but everything else about the huge room was first class. It included a good size dining table for two, a full sofa in front of the TV and a great ipod sound system.

It does cost twice as much as any other Sydney hotel, but it is a long way ahead of whichever hotel is second best (we usually stay at the Intercontinental or the Shangri La). The view from the lounge of the city and opera house by night can't be beaten. We also appreciated the fact they don't nickel and dime you on extras - there were free bottles of water, Internet, nespresso machine and welcome chocolates.

We can't afford to stay here every time, but certainly look forward to coming back one day.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor as there isn't much privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryam A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,969 - 1,975 of 2,584 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed at many upmarket hotels however the Park Hyatt hotel at the rocks in Sydney is definitely up there as a hotel to consider staying at if you want either a special night out or a week in luxury at a hotel. This hotel is definitely of 5-6 star standard very close to the heart of the Sydney CBD and other Sydney attractions.

From the moment you enter this hotel the staff are extremely friendly and courteous. The layout of the foyer area is simple but elegant not to mention the fabulous view over the rocks and the famous Sydney Harbour and its iconic Opera House. This is the same view you can get from many of the rooms from the balcony.

The rooms themselves have very unique features such as the night switch on the panel near the bed that lights up night lights in the toilet and bathroom if you get up in the dark of the night. Electric operated sheer and well as complete block out curtains that operate from the bed panel. Tea as well as espresso coffee machine facilities in the room. A large bath with a water nozzle that moves away from the bath once you have filled the bath as well as a shower area with both a wall as well as a rain shower head.
Two separate basins with a screen that slides closed or opens so you can look out the balcony to the view outside.
A small balcony to sit on and have a cup of tea and enjoy the fabulous view across the harbour and The Rocks area (Larger balconies with the suites)....
Oh and a comfortable bed! There is also a nice hotel pool but weather wasn't the best to enjoy this facility...
Only negative is that it is one of the more expensive hotels in Sydney however it is worth every cent..go ahead and spoil yourself....!
PS....go on a weekend and you can stroll down to the famous Rocks Markets

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimnhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryam A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel ranks as one of my favourite hotels in the world, together with the Four Seasons in Hong Kong.

What I love most about this hotel is:

- the spectacular location and the view of the Opera House
- clean and tidy rooms with lovely bathroom facilities
- exceptional and highly professional customer service
- great quality food

I particularly love having breakfast overlooking the Opera House with sun streaming through the window.

It isn't a cheap hotel but given the quality of the hotel and the location, this is fine. Would always stay here ahead of other hotels in Sydney.


Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank FrequentFlyersAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryam A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is a delight and runs with the precision of a fine Swiss watch. The service is above and beyond efficient. They know exactly if you have a tour and what time a car will come for you. The concierge will gladly check your flight and print your boarding passes or get you tickets for the magnificent opera house. The views are superb and our room, facing the Opera, was fabulous. The breakfast buffet was also excellent. Food in the lobby was not so good and quite over priced; avoid if possible. Treat yourself to this "gem". It is like a lovely "boutique" hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poodlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryam A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Couldn't fault it. Enjoyed our stay very much. Staff were very friendly, food nice, early morning swim in the rooftop pool, amazing, view terrific. Only con, light switching was a bit odd. I would defiantly stay again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heids22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryam A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

They literally had me at hello. What a fabulous hotel. And what fabulous service. From the moment we walked in until the moment we left, I knew we were being pampered exquisitely.

Although we arrived about 8AM, they were so sorry that our room wasn't ready. (We didn't expect it to be). So they offered us free breakfast. How nice.

I was somewhat disappointed that we did not get an opera house view, the view of the Sydney Harbor Bridge was fabulous. Our room was huge and lovely. It was actually part of the Presidential Suite on the very private 4th floor.

The location was perfect. In the heart of things, but very quiet.

I didn't realize that this hotel isn't a high rise. So nice to feel so special in this smallish hotel.

They also have a private car that will take you anywhere in the neighborhood. Very nice touch.

Words cannot begin to tell you the wonderful feeling this hotel conveys.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryam A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt lSydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest's expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent the final seven days of our thirty-two day New Zealand/Australia vacation in Sydney and are glad we chose the Park Hyatt to enjoy the week of Christmas. The accomodations were excellent and location convenient for first class dining, shopping, and harbor activities.

Our only regret is that we didn't arrive sooner and extended our stay.

Room Tip: Request a second or third floor room with a direct view of the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,387 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
6,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,865 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
4,510 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $803 - $1,338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing