We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly 5 star resort minus one poor manager” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A truly 5 star resort minus one poor manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent3 nights there and had numerous problems upon checkin. Even with these problems, it was how the staffs and managers (Leon and Michael) dealt with the situation which made us felt we could move on from the problem.
It's obvious the staffs have had extensive customer service training as it shows (except by a particular manager (T) and staffs working in Living room).
Overall, we were exceptionally impress with most of the service and the room given.

I would recommend you try their Dining room restaurant As we loved it so much we went twice!

TIP - ask for higher floor! However the insulation is so good even on a Fri/Sat night the noise can't be heard :) avoid ground floor as there's no privacy from the public.

If you encounter a manager (starts with T), don't expect anything to happen. You need to work on tracking him down as he's good at avoiding people). Ask for Michael or Leon and you'll see results :)

Concierge teams were ok. Christian was fantastic!! Nothing is too much for him.

House keeping was very good and professional. Our room was always cleaned and prep very well :)

Swimming pool was small but has amazing view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    244
    81
    37
    22
See reviews for
363
1,076
106
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

For location, has to be the best in Sydney for views of the opera house from the bedrooms as well as the rooftop jacuzzi. I have stayed in every Hyatt hotel in Australia and whilst the service is top notch in all of them, this has the edge and you truly feel special here. The bar serves killer cocktails and has a sophisticated atmosphere. The restaurant food though was slightly disappointing, for a hotel of this class and location our expectations were higher. Try a nearby restaurant for truly fine dining and leave the restaurant to tourists who want great views of the opera house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here the night of our wedding, it was just after it was refurbished and had reopened, and I can only say WOW!!! The view was incredible looking out onto Circular Quay. The bed was one of the most amazing ones I have ever slept in. The bathroom was incredible, facilities within the room were great, and the staff were exceptional.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinmetz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just finished a stay at the Park Hyatt so wanted to write everything while it was fresh. We stayed three nights in a Opera Deluxe King room. The room had two balconies with views of the Opera house in the middle, the cruise ships docking to the right, and the Sydney Bridge to the left.

We had room 011. Though there was a view of the Opera House, it was partially blocked by a big tree. I think if you're on the 3rd or 4th floor on that side, you would have unobstructed views of the Opera house. We were staying three nights for free from credit card sign up and points, so I didn't ask if there was a higher room available. I was just happy to get the deluxe room.

There is also a lot of people walking around and hanging out right outside of your balcony. Understandable cause it's a scenic spot. I enjoyed people watching, but I can see some may not like it cause of privacy issues.

Room Pro:

The room was spacious. King sized bed which we slept so well in every night, couch, big round table, big closets, huge bathroom, shower with strong water pressure, a separate toilet room with a bide. The TV was nice and had a good selection of channels. The AC was nice and cool. The huge windows have a sheer curtain and a blind. It did a great job of blocking out the sunlight overnight.

Room Con:

There is a small window to the bathroom from the hallway. Found it a bit of a strange design. Basically if you're coming out of the toilet room there is a window there where you could look into the bathroom and part of the bathtub. There's no way to cover it up. So just make sure you're traveling with people you're comfortable with. We were fine with it.

Overall:

I found the service around the hotel very nice. We didn't dine at all in the hotel but it looked nice. The gym was nice. Not large but big enough. Was never more than one person in there when I went. The rooftop pool is small, but has a great view.

The location is wonderful. 10-15 min walk to Circular Quay with trains and buses that'll take you everywhere. Of course the Opera house is not far away. We were there for three nights and we saw three different cruise ships docked in the water.

We're at another hotel now closer to the Central area. Though the location is close to lots of restaurants, we do miss the service, view, and room of the Hyatt.

A great place and we hope to stay there in the future again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level. Choose a higher floor for better views and more privacy especially you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhsu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I visited Sydney for the birth of my nephew and decided to have three nights is this great landmark hotel, I have stayed many times especially before the renovations and have always been impressed but this trip changed my mind. The staff and service was not as I was expecting, mind you still did enough but not to the usual exceptional standard that I was used to.

I did have a disagreement about the wifi being included and because the discussion was dragging on I agreed to pay the $30 for the usage so I would have time to see my new nephew and catch my flight.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BBM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

A wonderful experience to stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and would do anything for you. The hotel is situated in the best spot to see the Opera House and the bridge as it is right next to it, however you do not hear any of the noise that you would expect from the bridge being so close. The only down side is that it is very pricey but well worth it. Things have changed since the re-fit with a little penny pinching at times, such as tea and coffee at breakfast, if you order a second cup they charge you for it, where as before they just gave it to you. Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend the hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: If you want an Opera house view you have to ask and pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janicedempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

It’s all about the location and the view with the Park Hyatt Sydney. Hands down it’s in the best spot of any hotel in Sydney. Located in The Rocks and directly on the water, you have unobstructed views of the Opera House, the Sydney skyline, bridge and harbor. It’s less than a five minute walk to any location within The Rocks and ten minutes to downtown Sydney or Circular Quay which is the harbor hub for ferries as well as the train station.

The hotel itself is relatively small in relation to the larger downtown hotels such as the Four Seasons, InterContinental or Marriott. The smaller size and the recent total refurbishment the hotel has undergone give it a more boutique hotel feel. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. There is a small gym with a nice locker room with a shower and steam room which comes in handy if you arrive early (like we did), and your room isn’t ready yet or if you check out late and need a place to freshen up before your flight. All of the staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful and made it a point to try to address you by name on any encounters you have with them throughout your stay.

We didn’t have an opportunity to dine in either restaurant (we were always on the go), but they both seemed to have a lot of activity going on so I’d I assume they met the same high standards as the rest of the hotel.

There were a couple of minor disappointments however. Having recently stayed at both the Park Hyatt Paris and the Park Hyatt Saigon, both hotels offered Hyatt Platinum members a free continental breakfast. The Park Hyatt Sydney does not.

I also encountered a problem using the in-room telephone. Their information sheet clearly states that local calls are billed at a flat rate of $1.50 per call. I needed to contact Virgin Australia Airlines due to delays surrounding a cyclone that was in the area during our stay. I was informed that this was a local call and the phone dialed out using the local access number. However when I checked out, I was presented with a $75 phone charge and told that this in fact was not a local call (which only encompasses the immediate area around the hotel). While I realize hotels use phone calls and internet access as a way of increasing revenue, $75 for what was in fact a local call…really? On top of that all Hyatt properties I’ve stayed at (Park Hyatt, Grand Hyatt, etc.), have always offered both free internet as well as free phone calls to Platinum and Diamond members.

Then it was like “let’s make a deal” when speaking to the front desk associate to try to have the charge taken off my account. At first she offered to reduce the charge to $50, then half and finally to $20. Since I was in a rush to catch a flight, I didn’t have time to get a supervisor or the GM involved although I plan to still follow up with them about this. I know she was only doing her job but this was something that simply should have been waived since there was zero cost to the hotel for this service.

Overall however, our stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney was very nice. Worth the $1200 per night price tag? No, not by a long shot as many others have said as well. Hotels in this price range have to offer much more than just a nice location or a view of a city harbor. Maybe an overwater room in Bora Bora or in the Maldives or a resort such as Qualia on Hamilton Island (see my review). These are hotels that should command a $1,000 per night or more price tag. Luckily I was able to use some of my Gold Passport points to pay for my three night stay otherwise I would have definitely stayed elsewhere for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Just about every room has a great view although there are a handful located in the back corner of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyMan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,805 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Property: Park Hyatt Sydney
Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing