We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera house view can't get any better than that”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #6 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Location location location this is the best hotel to be if you have extra bucks! Little pricey but worth every penny. You wake up in the morning waking up to an oper housr view. Breakfast was well served and the rocks is just 3 mins away! Circular quay 10 mins walking scenic and romantic view thst i highly recommend to honeymooners!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,096 - 2,102 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

The refurbishment of this property costing in excess of 70 million dollars has put this hotel on the international stage. Everything about this hotel exudes charisma, detail and passion. The Opera House facing room was somewhat extraordinary at different times of the day. I found Sunrise just sensational!

It is not uncommon to find mediocre service at Australian properties. Park Hyatt Sydney can be wholeheartedlty singled out on exceeding service levels. The prompt response time and attention to detail were only second to SAFFIRE HOTEL, TASMANIA. It was unfortunate however to experience "staff snobbery" from several staff members who seemed to think that working at Park Hyatt meant that every guest would "look the 5 star part."

The restaurant was certainly a massive let down. Staff knew very little about the menu or about the produce and were hesitant to serve at 9:15pm even after making a booking! What the? After a rushed meal, I left feeling dissatisfied and not wanting to return for breakfast.

For the above reason, I would NOT recommend families or young travellers who challenge the status quo stay here. The lack of communication between staff post stay was obvious too when trying to obtain lost property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jourdan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow - one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Location just out-of-this-world. Rooms are gorgeous, newly renovated and kitted out with everything you could ever need. Bathrooms are stunning. Lots of light and plenty of space. Balconies overlook the sunrise which are the perfect place to take your conference call. Rooms are Superb service in the dining room. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CD_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at Opera Deluxe (212) on the 7-9 January, $1200 per night. Superb view from the room to the Opera House, hotel location is great, staff are friendly and the concierge very helpful.
But lack of attention to details from housekeeping like they only put complementary water bottled on the 1st and 3rd day but not on the 2nd day. They took the coffee/tea cups on the 3rd day, 1st and 2nd day we were enjoying our tea in the morning, but not on the 3rd day because we had to wait for the cups, not so luxury.
Ordered room service, asked for warm croissants for breakfast but came out cold croissants.

Hope they will improve and definitely we will go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for about 4 days recently and found the staff to be super helpful and friendly. The actual facilities in the hotel are fabulous and very luxurious. We had breakfast every morning in the dining room and found that on the weekend it is super busy (almost too busy - staff run off their feet) so service suffers a little. During the week it all slowed down which was nice but I also found the service also lacked (items that were available over the weekend suddenly not there).
We didn't end up eating dinner in the hotel as there are lots of nice restaurants nearby which are easily accessible by foot.
Probably one of my favorite hotels in Australia!

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room which overlooks the harbour as opposed to the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schreiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I recently joined friends there for lunch, they having stayed overnight on a New Years Eve package. They had had a bad experience there at lunch the previous day and suggested eating at one of the nearby external restaurants which abound in the area. I said I was happy to assume that had been a once only experience and, this being a ?6 * hotel, it could not happen again. Two of us ordered fish and two ordered medium/rare steak. The fish arrived and we all awaited the arrival of the steak. The wine, meanwhile was apparently still being vintaged. When the steak finally arrived 10 minutes later, the fish meals were then cold and the steak was leathery well done. It took a further 30 minutes for the meals as reassembled and as ordered to be returned to us together. It is clearly a management problem which in a hotel of this standing will, hopefully, be cured

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had lunch at The Dining Room recently on a Monday. The deal is complimentary valet parking with weekday lunches which was too good an offer to pass up.

Not many people so all who were there were given a window seat. The view is wonderful, ferries going in and out of Circular Quay, view across to the Opera House and the buzz of people passing by on the boardwalk .

We opted for the one course $39 menu which includes a glass of wine. You can also have two courses for $59 or three for $69.

My companion had pan roasted ocean trout, Spring Bay mussels, saffron, guanciale and I had grilled grain fed beef tenderloin 200g. Both were nicely served and very tasty. Unfortunately, they don't come with vegies, so we ordered baby carrots and a salad. All sides are $9 each which is rather pricey for the quantity received.

Service is very attentive and staff pleasant.

Will try the Living Room next time, which looks a little less formal but I don't think it comes with the complimentary parking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 186 in Sydney
1,510 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 186 in Sydney
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darling
#10 of 186 in Sydney
942 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 186 in Sydney
4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $760 - $1,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing