We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had lunch at The Dining Room recently on a Monday. The deal is complimentary valet parking with weekday lunches which was too good an offer to pass up.

Not many people so all who were there were given a window seat. The view is wonderful, ferries going in and out of Circular Quay, view across to the Opera House and the buzz of people passing by on the boardwalk .

We opted for the one course $39 menu which includes a glass of wine. You can also have two courses for $59 or three for $69.

My companion had pan roasted ocean trout, Spring Bay mussels, saffron, guanciale and I had grilled grain fed beef tenderloin 200g. Both were nicely served and very tasty. Unfortunately, they don't come with vegies, so we ordered baby carrots and a salad. All sides are $9 each which is rather pricey for the quantity received.

Service is very attentive and staff pleasant.

Will try the Living Room next time, which looks a little less formal but I don't think it comes with the complimentary parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,519
    224
    75
    32
    21
See reviews for
327
958
97
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited a lobby lounge. Lady staff were really kind & keen to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really nice hotel, for $1000 a night not too pretentious either. Great rooftop pool and spa with views of the opera house, also you can wave to people doing the harbour bridge climb! We had some room service which was great as you would expect. The room itself was spacious and comfortable with mod cons, electric shutters and great views.

Our bags weren't in the room by the time we got up there (im talking 3 minute delay) and they sent a bottle of $65 wine as an apology without us having to say anything...says a lot!

Room Tip: the hotel is in a kind of 'L' shape. I would recommend trying to get in the angle area as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Opera Suite (room 212) for 2012/13 New Year. Can go to sleep and wake up with gorgeous views of Sydney Opera House. Room large (two full size balconies), very well appointed and the double glazing is effective at cutting out any harbour and walkway noise. Hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing, getting into city, and is well appointed. Book early for high tea (yummy). Food choices are great, room service efficient, staff are superb and the hotel itself very modern but elegant.

We shall return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David16Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stay often at Hyatts and decided on the spur of the moment to extend our anniversary by a use points to stay.

The room faced the city but looking to the left you could see the bridge. the room was nice but the position of the table in the room meant that if you were sitting and closing the blinds it hit the chair. Also bubbled surface of the table didn't look very complimentary to the room.

We dined that night in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal. The pillows proved a challenge for my husband to get comfortable.
All in all a nice night away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestarsandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Best location; walking distance to ferries, restaurants, opera house, botanical gardens, shopping, harbor bridge. Incredible concierge service. Dining room service was excellent and delicious. Loved the minimalist room decor and our view of the Opera House. Business Center was lacking; unable to access internet. Pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for an Opera House view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickandDeborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here twice in December, both for a night, and both using Hyatt Points. Both rooms faced the back of the hotel, meaning the views were of the bridge and a tiny bit of harbor underneath it. Both rooms were beautifully redone and very well maintained. Both were large, especially by Sydney standards. The new minimalist decor makes a big improvement from the previous rooms. About the only problem we had was with a dinner in the Dining Room; we were ignored for awhile, and then once our order was placed, we were ignored again (we could see other tables getting service), having to ask for bread and water. But the bigger problem came when the main courses arrived and one of our dishes was not prepared as directed. We were ignored again, until finally, we grabbed the sommelier and asked him to send it back, after which we were ignored again for 30 minutes, while one of us ate and the other stared. Finally, once the dish came back (it was good this time), we asked for a manager who made everything right. It marred an otherwise lovely dinner, and two wonderful stays. These things happen, we know, but we generally don't expect them at hotels of this calibre. That said, the hotel did make it up to us.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALKDVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,238 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Property: Park Hyatt Sydney
Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing