We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #4 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in Opera Suite (room 212) for 2012/13 New Year. Can go to sleep and wake up with gorgeous views of Sydney Opera House. Room large (two full size balconies), very well appointed and the double glazing is effective at cutting out any harbour and walkway noise. Hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing, getting into city, and is well appointed. Book early for high tea (yummy). Food choices are great, room service efficient, staff are superb and the hotel itself very modern but elegant.

We shall return.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David16Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 2,651 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stay often at Hyatts and decided on the spur of the moment to extend our anniversary by a use points to stay.

The room faced the city but looking to the left you could see the bridge. the room was nice but the position of the table in the room meant that if you were sitting and closing the blinds it hit the chair. Also bubbled surface of the table didn't look very complimentary to the room.

We dined that night in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal. The pillows proved a challenge for my husband to get comfortable.
All in all a nice night away

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivestarsandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Best location; walking distance to ferries, restaurants, opera house, botanical gardens, shopping, harbor bridge. Incredible concierge service. Dining room service was excellent and delicious. Loved the minimalist room decor and our view of the Opera House. Business Center was lacking; unable to access internet. Pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for an Opera House view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickandDeborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here twice in December, both for a night, and both using Hyatt Points. Both rooms faced the back of the hotel, meaning the views were of the bridge and a tiny bit of harbor underneath it. Both rooms were beautifully redone and very well maintained. Both were large, especially by Sydney standards. The new minimalist decor makes a big improvement from the previous rooms. About the only problem we had was with a dinner in the Dining Room; we were ignored for awhile, and then once our order was placed, we were ignored again (we could see other tables getting service), having to ask for bread and water. But the bigger problem came when the main courses arrived and one of our dishes was not prepared as directed. We were ignored again, until finally, we grabbed the sommelier and asked him to send it back, after which we were ignored again for 30 minutes, while one of us ate and the other stared. Finally, once the dish came back (it was good this time), we asked for a manager who made everything right. It marred an otherwise lovely dinner, and two wonderful stays. These things happen, we know, but we generally don't expect them at hotels of this calibre. That said, the hotel did make it up to us.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALKDVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great place awesome position only bit of a let down in the kitchen.I received a complimentary birthday cake with a moldy raspberry perched high on top.the meal we had in the downstairs cafe area not the restaurant.meal was average undercooked pasta clagging together if they can improve in this area I don't think their is much out their to compare with we stayed in the opera house sweet beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This property is in the absolute best location to see the attractions, be within walking distance to transportation, great restaurants, etc. Expensive, yes. Worth it, yes. The staff is great. Ask for a room that has views of the Opera House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChgoSlsGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Hyatt in Sydney ( 2 at the beginning of our trip and 2 at the end). We arrived early in the morning from the US and they were kind enough to let us have our hotel room immediately. Both our rooms overlooked the Opera House. It was so nice to sit on our balcony and watch the ferries and the people touring the Rocks. We were able to walk all over Sydney from our location and it was only a few short blocks to the train station. Our daughter who is studying abroad in Sydney loved the rooftop pool. The staff was always helpful, friendly and efficient. The concierge was especially wonderful recommending places in the area to eat and always remembering our names.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank MiBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 182 in Sydney
1,467 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Darling
#9 of 182 in Sydney
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#6 of 182 in Sydney
1,934 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#37 of 182 in Sydney
6,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $757 - $1,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing