We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Possibly The Nicest Hotel We Have Ever Stayed At!”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #6 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I had an unforgettable time during our recent stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney.

The newly renovated property is absolutely stunning and is in a perfect location right in the Sydney Harbour with spectacular views of the Sydney Opera House and the bridge. It also is located within walking distance to many tourist locations, Circular Quay, restaurants, pubs, cafe's, and the weekend market at The Rocks.

The staff is unbelievably accommodating, helpful, and friendly. They made us feel like royalty during our stay at The Park Hyatt Sydney... We even had an on-floor butler! On our check-in day, we arrived to the hotel early and our room wasn't ready for check-in, so the hotel let us order some complementary refreshments and snacks after our long flight to Sydney... It was so nice of them!

The rooms are amazing and have great views of the city. The rooms and bathrooms are large, bright, and comfortable. They even come equipped with an espresso machine, and MP3 dock for your iPod, blackout curtains, etc. Everything in the rooms is so luxurious and made us feel so pampered during our stay.

The restaurant, The Dining Room was exquisite! It has spectacular views of the Harbour from the floor to ceiling windows encapsulating the restaurant, which is beautiful during sunset. The Dining Room’s chef, Andrew McKee, makes phenomenal Australian-inspired contemporary dishes using only local produce. During our stay, we participated in the Dining Room's five course tasting menu with Australian wine pairings and were blown away with each and every dish - HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

The Dining Room also has a wonderful breakfast. The coffee is great, the buffet has almost every breakfast item you could ever imagine, and the menu has delicious pancakes, french toast, etc.

Overall, we absolutely LOVED our stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney and are already dying to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandingStanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,129 - 2,135 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Maybe we came with too high expectations. Before arrival we've read reviews of how terrific the Park Hyatt is, and how many awards it has won. It's one of the best hotels in Australia, if not the world. How we anticipated.

Our verdict after a 3-night stay in the? No doubt it is pretty good. The view from our City Harbour Room is amazing. The Sydney Opera House can be seen at an angle. It is pampering to see Circular Quay from our room both day and night.

The unit, even though the hotel's standard room, is huge, pretty and comfortable. We enjoyed the nice touches, from the full-length windows with motorised blinds, extra long thick towels to the lovely spa toiletries. We counted 3 sinks in our room. They even left little notes to us, addressed to my little girl and me by name. And the bed! It's one of the nicest we've ever slept in. No kidding. Once we get in we don't want to get out. The bed's THAT good.

The heated pool and jacuzzi on the roof-top enjoys the same good view over Circular Quay, and we could even see the throngs of people climbing the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Pity the pool's only open in the day.

The room service also impressed. Once we asked for help to heat up some pasta for my daughter (there's no microwave oven in the room). Noticing that the portion is too small, the concierge went above its call of duty and brought up some extra bread and juice just in case, at no charge.

While staying there (or even when not), it's worth taking up the all-in breakfast at the Dining Room downstairs. For AUD45 you get a buffet of both pre-cooked and ala carte foods, even freshly squeezed juices. The serving is substantial and quality impeccable. Plus the restaurant sits beside the lovely broadwalk on the bay. On most days the windows are lifted, so you can feel the cool breeze blowing in and hear the sound of the waves. It's really worth the price.

Overall the hotel delivered a good overall experience for the price it commands. But besides our encounter with room service above, the hotel didn't really really wow us that much. The view from the room is good, but Circular Quay is a public area and you don't have to stay there to enjoy it. Or you can get the same view having a drink at the hotel restaurant.

The vaunted butler service is a glorified guest service that most people won't use (the difference to typical room service is that they can run errands for you on request). Our papers stopped arriving after a day. Our room occasionally blacks out due to a circuit problem, which they weren't able to find a fix as hard as they tried (though at one point they did offer to change a room for us). The tv signals are also fidgety so the programs sometimes freeze.

The hotel's spa service is kinda ok, which quality depends on who you get. They charge a lot for wifi access which I don't agree with (surely they can make it complimentary for the premium pricing?).

And while the food at the restaurant is good, the service isn't necessarily so especially on busy weekends. One day we were seated for 15 min and lots of waiters came and went, but no one even stopped to give us the menu.

That said we did enjoy ourselves on the stay there and were sad to have to leave. We'd likely return, maybe not to stay next time but for breakfast, just to enjoy the terrific views from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

stayed at the park hyatt before they renovated, it was a fabulous stay with all the staff making you feel so special, the restaurant was superb, the location amazing probably the best in sydney to stay, now they have refurbished not sure how it is but if its anything as good as before then its a great place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We entertained friends for lunch this weekend.

the main course food was inedible for 3 of us, Rissotto, seafood Linguine and asparagus with eggplant.

The first courses were ok but what the hell happened to the mains??? tasteless, gluggy, cold and poor quality.
the overall service was reasonable but slow, no attention to detail. you ask why do we monopolise these 5 star dining rooms??? because our friends recommended the lunches were good?????? Monday to Friday is a deal with two courses and wine, no deals on the wekend, do they change chefs then?? very disappointing espicially it is not CHEAP!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the dining room for lunch on SUNDAYS!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bullant3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for a week and can't say enough about it. Leon at the front desk, Nikita and Tom in the Living Room and Charles the concierge may be the best hotel staff I have ever experienced in travels around the U.S. and the world. Just the right amount of attentiveness without "too much," knowledgeable, forthright and clearly empowered to get things done. Views of the harbor are great and the food is very nice. Can't miss with Park Hyatt Sydney!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights in September, before heading overseas, so sorry for late review. This hotel deserves star-status as even with the recent renovations which are classy, it's staff and location are just brilliant. A great stay, highlighted by excellent service, especially by the Concierge Team of Patrick, Christian and Rebecca (?), who organised so many things for us especially the helicopter ride at short notice. The staff all had such a natural courtesy, which is a rare quality nowadays. On arriving, we were upgraded ( without asking ) to a large Opera House view room with two balconies....view was magic. Our breakfast each morning was brilliant and other in-house services of Spa and massages were a perfect way to relax. Thanks for a great stay and looking forward to returning on my next visit to Sydney.

Room Tip: Go for Opera House Views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in November 2012 for one night, to celebrate our anniversary. Whilst we had an enjoyable stay, we were left very underwhelmed by the experience, in light of the expensive rates charged to stay there. This is undoubtedly the most expensive hotel in Sydney, effectively charging 6-star rates, and for this price the experience should be faultless. Our main gripes were:
- We chose an Opera King room because we wanted a view of the Opera House. Unfortunately you could only see the Opera House when standing out on the balcony, not from the general room itself which we felt was a bit misleading. (The image of this room on the website also gives you the impression that you will see this view from the bedroom).
- I don't believe you should have to pay extra (about $30) for wifi access when you are paying such expensive room rates
- The hotel generally felt understaffed; attention to detail lacked on several occasions, as an example we had room service for dinner and it took an hour for our plates to be cleared; after 2 phone calls and at 10pm we ended up leaving the plates in the hallway ourselves so we could go to bed
- The breakfast buffet seems very small and limited in what it offers you, and is not at all on par with a 5-star hotel breakfast that one might expect.

Overall, a pleasant enough but very expensive night away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 186 in Sydney
1,510 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 186 in Sydney
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darling
#10 of 186 in Sydney
941 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 186 in Sydney
4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $760 - $1,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing