We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #71 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kianga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We were initially allocated a room with a connecting door. We could hear the people talking in the connecting room and requested a room change which we were given. Check that you have not been given an interconnecting room as the walls are very thin. Reception staff seemed very confused and made several mistakes like trying to charge twice for parking although they were under pressure as the hotel was very busy. I made the mistake of booking breakfast online and so did not get my 50% reduction as an Accor member. Waut till you check in to book breakfast which is really good and if half price value for money. The $31 per person I paid was far too much. Hotel becoming a bit grubby and bathrooms were not consistant with the price we paid, not very clean. However location is fantastic and the beds extremely comfortable. $35 per night parking is a bit steep on top of the expensive room rates.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKianga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    1,775
    805
    248
    174
See reviews for
1,351
1,435
253
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The position was excellent, walking distance to the heart of darling harbour. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed but the bed had the most uncomfortable mattress we have ever slept in. Very Very soft and so we were falling to the middle. Otherwise everything was very good including the service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I was sorry to hear your comments about our beds, please accept my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are in the process of looking at new beds for the rooms.

I have to agree with you in terms of location, Darling Harbour is a renown tourist destination that has access to many bars, restaurants, entertainment, close to transport etc.

We value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next returning to Sydney.


Warmest regards,

Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Our trip was for business & leisure. We upgraded to the Darling Harbour view room - it was beautiful - very roomy - surprised us. All amenities were clean and to our expectations.
All staff were friendly and helpful. Special mention to Evelyn in the Restaurant - she made us feel very welcome. She tried her best to make sure we were looked after. We were very impressed with her and hope she goes along way with Accor Hotels. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Hotel is very good and it is situated in a good location at the Darling Harbour, convenient to the city, China Town and entertainment centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

In terms of location I have to agree with you, Darling Harbour is a renown tourist destination that offers many bars, restaurants, entertainment, and within close proximity to transport.

We value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next travelling to Sydney.

Warmest regards,

Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 23, 2010

i've been 3 years being the accor advantage plus member and hv tried to accommodate with all of the hotels joined in the group .. to my opinion, it 's more worthy to live in novotels rather than the 'sister or brother' hotels, even just for one night .. i'll ever recommend this hotel either to my families, relatives or friends

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you are making full use of your Accor Advantage Plus membership, and we thank you for your loyalty with Accor, in particular Novotel.

We value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next travelling to Sydney.

Warmest regards,

Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Whilst the Novotel Darling Harbour is very well located the hotel lobby lacked the atmosphere that I expected in such a wonderful location. The bed was very soft and I did not appreciated the doona being covered with two sheets with the ends folded over - this became tangled during the night and meant that I was sleeping against the doona itself rather than it's cover. I would have expected at lease one other sheet between the doona covers and myself - it would have been preferable to have had a proper doona cover to provide adequate bedding. The airconditioner appeared inadequate for the size of the room and did not provide a coolness that we expected. Apart from that the service was very good at reception and downstairs with the porters, the location is perfect and the room itself was very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#69 of 178 in Sydney
647 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing