We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #71 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 12, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kat366
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,010 - 2,016 of 4,545 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had a good stay in this hotel with my family (hubby and 4 year old son). We stayed here for 2 nights during Vivid Sydney. It was only a 5 mins walk to Harbourside Mall where you can find loads of souvenir items at low price. Once you enter the mall, take the elevator to the ground floor which will take you to the food court. As you walk through the food court you will find your way out to Darling Harbour (it took like about another 5 mins walk from Harbourside to here). There are many activities and attractions for both kids and adults. We really enjoyed ourselves. I think we walked more than 3 times a day from hotel to Darling Harbour. Since it was Vivid Sydney when we were here, it was pretty easy for us to enjoy the light shows at night.

Breakfast was provided for daily. The buffet spread was not very generous but good enough for us. Hotel staff were helpful especially the guys working in the concierge and housekeeping.

The surroundings of the hotel was alright. There are a number of convenience stores just opposite the hotel. As we are muslim travellers, we find that searching for halal food is fairly easy. There are 2 food outlets in the food court (1 serving northern indian food and one pizza parlour). There is also one restaurant called Zaafran located in Harbourside mall serving northern indian food too. If you would like to try Indonesian food, you need to walk down to Chinatown (approx 20 mins walking distance but it does not feel far as there are many attractions along the way to keep you distracted from being tired). I depend a lot on the Sydney travel guide which provides lots of useful info as this was our first time to her. Do grab a copy of it as you arrive in the airport or from any tourist information centre.

I will definitely put Novotel Darling Harbour as one of my choice of hotel if I visit Sydney again.

Room Tip: My room was facing Murray Street hence there were no interesting views to look at. Perhaps the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VinaSoepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Vina

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

It is great to read that our concierge and housekeeping staff were helpful during your stay, I will share your kind words with them, I am sure they will be as pleased as i am to read them.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for many years with children & grandchildren. Great location. Short walking distance to Darling Harbour, shops & food hall as well as light rail. The check-in has always been uneventful & the staff friendly & helpful. The rooms were quiet, clean & all appliances operational. The room service was quick, ample food and the food hot & well presented. The breakfast was well laid out, ample selection & food was replenished quickly. The children always like to get their own meals & the staff are friendly & helpful to their requests. The temperature of the food is good. There is a small play area for the children at the restaurant where they are able to be observed whilst parents finish their meals. There is a pool & gym. Unfortunately the pool is outdoors so children can only use it during hot weather. There is however a large indoor swim centre which has a number of pools catering for all ages within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Armadeus

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Its great to read that the hotel was accommodating to your family. I will pass your comments onto our Food and Beverage team, they are always coming up with new and fresh ideas to make our breakfasts more family orientated.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

After a long training program at Mona Vale, we stayed for just one night at Novotel, which is really a big hotel in my memory. It stretches along the Darling harbor which can watch the view without any blocking. Rooms are within high level standard. It is also easy for us to visit the city using this hotel as a base. Good experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Andrew

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

I would have to agree with you, our view is spectacular, and I am glad to read you had a Good Experience.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

It was our 2nd day at the hotel on the 6 June 2014, we came back in the late afternoon when we realised we need to get our access card re-activated as the booking on the 2nd day is under my husband's name where the 1st day was under mine. So I went to the reception to relate the bookings again to activate the access card (the bookings in different names were already told to the reception on our 1st day check-in so they already have the information and confirmation of our reservation as we booked through our Accor Club Membership Card) but when I get there, the staff seemed unaware and unsure what to do so she referred to a lady whom I assume is more senior than her named Ramona. She checked thru their system, confirmed our booking but request to see physical evidence of our Accor Card which we didn't bring along as we were not told that we MUST have the card with us, and we didn't have any trouble with our 1st night check in or even during our stay at Novotel Melbourne as we have printed our hard copies of our booking confirmation with the code and we just need to sign a verification note. But Ramona still refuse us with that day's booking until she sees the physical card - our luggages, passports and belongings are all in the room and I've got a 3yrd old with me!!! She added that we are not allowed to the room until we present the physical evidence or proof that we actually possess the membership cards. I can't think of how we can get the physical card when we are thousand miles away from home and she's being really difficult about the whole situation and keep insisting that having to present the card is the rule and we should have read about it when we got the membership cards. I didn't know what to do so my husband presented his credit cards which have the same name as the booking and as we were in the midst of this, Ramona just walked away. How rude and unhelpful! Then another male staff came over and help us thru luckily, otherwise we would have been stranded on the streets with a our 3yrd old after a long day and in the chilly climate, thanks to the Novotel staff Ramona who showed us such terrible hospitality and awful assistance. So much for a reputable hotel, we are definitely mortified and this is the worst experience we had with a hotel staff from a well known hotel like Novotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Kathe

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Kathe I have spoken directly to the Front office Manager and I can advise we have taken appropriate measures to ensure that this was an isolated incident and that there will not be any future recurrences.

However we would still very much like a member of our team to speak to you personally in regards to your stay . Due to restrictions we cannot see your details, but should you wish to contact us, a member of our team will be available at any time to talk to you.

Kathe I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank amstr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 179 in Sydney
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,954 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $154 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing