We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #71 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were booked into a room facing the front of the hotel and quickly upgraded to a room facing Darling Harbour on the 10th floor for only an extra 30 $ a night. Well worth it for the superb views over Darling Harbour which looked even better at night. Firework display on Friday nights. We stayed for 3 nights en route to New Zealand. Only ate once in hotel as there were so many cafes and restaurants around. Hotel dining room lacked atmosphere but enjoyed a good bar meal one night. Went down ramp into shopping mall for breakfasts. Handy for boat trips and only a very short trip round to Sydney Harbour. Would recommend this hotel over any others for a short stay in Sydney.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing harbour on an upper level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mike

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your room. We are pretty lucky with our spectacular views and location.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be a more memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    1,775
    805
    248
    174
See reviews for
1,351
1,435
253
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our favourite hotel to stay in Sydney when travelling with the family. Close to Darling Harbour, Chinatown and the city. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. The hotel staff are friendly and always willing to assist. The breakfast buffet offers great value, especially as an advantage plus member. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Harbour view and city view rooms are more expensive, but well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Sparky

Its great to read that we are your favorite hotel in Sydney and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable but most of all our staff are willing to assist your needs.

Please feel free to contact us directly or alternatively "like" our Facebook page to see more great details and to see what else we have on offer here at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fairly standard for a Novotel, but the view from a harour view is terrific - worth the extra $20. However, the view would be better if the windows were cleaned more often.
Nice comfy bed, with what appears to be standard in the chain hotels now - a pillow menu :-)
A few minor glitches with our room -we checked at 4pm,the bathroom smelt strongly of bleach. Within 10 min two different staff members arrived and knocked on the door to deliver additional towels - some miscommunications between the house keeping staff ?
Terrific blackout curtains for when you have had enough of looking at the city lights.
If you are driving there - it advertises onsite parking ($45 for 24 hours) - but spaces are ,limited and you may have to end up in the parking building next door. No big deal, but just be prepared to do a loop around.
Slow check out.
Overall though the room was up to expected standards - service perhaps down a bit.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the harbourside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Geoff

Thank you for providing us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. I am glad to read you got a good night sleep, thank you for mentioning our "sleep talk" pillow menu which allows our guests to choose from a range of pillows to use whilst in house.

I will share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure we are effectively communicating between our staff.

Geoff please feel free to contact us directly or visit us on our Facebook page if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the Novotel Darling Harbour for one night during the Sydney Vivid Festival. We had a wonderful room overlooking the harbour and were able to watch the Light Show from our window. The room was beautifully clean and well appointed, the bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home with me! The staff could not do enough to help us and were all so polite and pleasant. Breakfast was delicious with the only difficulty being in deciding what to have. Easy access to Darling Harbour and the light rail (tram) made this a perfect location for a stay in the city. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a city break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Marion

Thank you for your kind comments, it is encouraging to hear that our staff went above and beyond to accommodate you during your stay.

I have shared your kind words with our Facebook page, make sure you check it out and you can also see whats coming up within the hotel for your next stay.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W.A
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is my favourite hotel to stay at when in Sydney.. The location right on Darling Harbour is just perfect to go and check out everything Darling Harbour has to offer. It’s also virtually attached to a shopping mall with a food hall, restaurants and cafes (walk across small bridge attached to hotel car park). This was very handy for eating and shopping! And Darling Harbour itself has many cafes, restaurants and tourist attractions. The hotel is very family friendly. We stayed here in April for 4 days over Easter break after returning from a cruise with our two young children – 3 and 4 years old. There is a PlayStation / chill out area in the lobby for kids. As well as a designated area in the restaurant with toys and a separate tv /playroom in the lobby. The hotel also has an outdoor pool / gym and tennis court. We booked an executive Darling Harbour view room with two double beds. We have stayed in this before and was enough room for the four of us. However we checked in quite early on the morning that our cruise docked into Sydney and the Manager on duty that morning upgraded us to a Junior Suite. I can’t remember what his name was – but he was excellent and we were very thankful. The Jnr Suite was great. I love this hotel and would definitely recommend it! Especially for families and the staff are lovely.

Room Tip: Get a room with view over Darling Harbour. If you have 2 children the double rooms have two double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Club334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Club334

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I hope you enjoyed your cruise and delighted to hear that your prefer our hotel to stay at when in Sydney.

I would also like to personally thank you for your feedback in regards to being a family orientated hotel. Here at Novotel we pride ourselves on providing superior service to all our guests and understand that our families are a large part of our hotel and we are glad to here you made good use of our leisure and family facilities.

Club334 we look forward to your return next time you are in Sydney.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#69 of 178 in Sydney
648 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing