We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great especially on weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #72 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed 2 nights over a weekend in May. 1 night paid and 1 night complimentary under Accor membership.

Was disappointed at first sight as the demolition/construction work of the convention centre opposite the hotel make the whole area looks like a pile of mess! The hotel was located above a multi storey carpark. The momemt I stepped in the lobby, I feel differently. It has a cosy lobby. Have had a free upgrade to Deluxe room with a harbour view (partially a construction view). Though the room is tired looking, it is spacious, clean and comfortable. Novotel bed rarely fails. The bathroom is probably the most tired place in the room where some wear and tear were spotted. Water temperature was quite diffcult to adjust. It will suddenly turn scalding hot or freezing cold.

The only downside is there is no complimentary bottled water, bedroom slippers and bathrobes provided. This is the minimum I would expect from Novotel after visiting a couple of hotels under the same group.

Location is convenient if you like an active dining and drinking scene and of course near to several key tourist sites. There are good lunch/dinner set options and happy hours offers hence do walk around the area before deciding. Loved the Saturday fireworks at Darling Harbour. Connected to harbourside shopping mall which is convenient for some late night shopping since they operate until 9pm daily. About 10 minutes walking distance to Fish Market, Chinatown Eat Street and Paddy's Market and of course George Street. Took more than 30minutes to walk to King Cross with our luggages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SereneSwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Serenswee

Thank you for taking the time to write such a well written review. We really appreciate all the feedback our guests provide to us.

I would like to advised that we do provide complimentary slippers and bathrobes, however due to the size and constraint of our hotel we provide them upon request from our guests.

I will also share you feedback with our team as we are always looking at ways we can improve our standard within the hotel.

Please feel free to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,467)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,970 - 1,976 of 4,467 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is luxury and location in the heart of Sydney.
Although it is away from the ferries at Circular Quay it is very close walk to Darling Harbour.
Close to restaurants, cafes, and the Maritime Museum.
Fabulous views of Darling Harbour available from some rooms.
Recommend buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for Darling Harbour view and expect to pay a bit more
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriterritory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear loriterritory

Thank you for you kind words. I am always pleased to read such positive feedback especially words such as "Luxury".

Please feel free to contact us if we can be of any further assistance

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed last Thursday night in a superior room on the 3rd floor with a view of Darling Harbour. Check in, and service throughout the hotel was exemplary and done with a smile. Position of the hotel is fantastic, the room was clean. The bathroom was a little rundown - it was clean, just showing wear and tear. The pool was clean and there were ample towels to grab poolside. The only unfortunate thing was the 'dash of shame' dripping wet through the reception lobby to get back to the lifts :D The breakfast was totally fantastic - the food was fresh and cooked well, and the choice was extensive. Looking forward to coming back in a month's time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iCat_351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Icat_351

Thank you for your great feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in a months time. I am glad to read that you found our service exemplary.

Please feel free to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Staff friendly and extremely helpful. Special mention to Kate at reception who show us exceptional customer service, when first room offered was located next to young family with screaming children she moved us to another room without any fuss. Location is excellent with covered walkway linking to darling harbour shopping centre. Convenience store across road and many different restaurants located at darling harbour. Rooms are clean and the bed comfortable. We were disappointed our stay was only for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sand809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Sand809

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am pleased to read such wonderful comments about Kate. She is certainly an asset to our hotel, I will be sure to share your kind words with her.

sand809 we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel and hopefully for a longer stay next time round.

Kind Regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Fabulous Darling Harbour views from our window. Check in easy and staff friendly. Room clean. Very central for catching cruise ships from the new terminal at White Bay. 15 min taxi ride. Shops adjoining hotel for last minute purchases. Lots of dining options in the area, nice to walk around on a nice night, felt very safe.
Breakfast plentiful able to eat outside. Reasonable price. Would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Carol

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is encouraging to read words such as" friendly staff". I will be sure to share these comments with our staff.

Carol we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon and I am sure your next stay will be as pleasant.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

excellent service by all staff very friendly happy staff and atmosphere and location excellent would highly recommend for a family holiday! food excellent and location at darling harbor was close to all services

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Kathy

Thank you for your kind words, I am always glad to read such positive things about our staff and hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon and I am sure your next stay will be as pleasant.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#69 of 178 in Sydney
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $187 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing