We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in the heart of Darling Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #72 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Have always wanted to stay here but never found the right occasion. Finally, with a free night to use up on our Advantage Plus membership, and a conference for my husband to attend, we booked in for three nights.

The executive double room which we booked through Advantage Plus was very spacious and comfortable, though much of our "Darling Harbour view" was dominated by the demolition of the Exhibition Centre right outside our window. Not the best, but it kept our toddler amused, who would run to the window each morning to see if the "diggers" were working yet! A small box of chocolates delivered to the door as a welcome gift made up for the view.

At check-in I requested a cot and was surprised to have a proper metal cot wheeled to our door five minutes after arriving at our room. Well-done Novotel for providing a proper cot for the little ones. My husband and I spread out and took a double bed each, which were supremely comfortable as were the pillows (there is also a pillow menu if the ones in the room are not to your liking).

The executive double rooms (two double beds) are very spacious with a slight L-shape, which meant we could sleep our toddler around the corner away from the TV which helped with going to bed. It also provided space for a lounge, work station and small dining table, and a second TV.

We had buffet breakfast each morning - good quality and variety, but expensive, and without the Advantage Plus discount we probably wouldn't have dined there every day. Who eats $35 worth of breakfast?

We dined in the restaurant one night for dinner, and also had room service dinner, both of which were good (including a decent kids menu). There is also a small play area for children in the restaurant which was a nice idea, however it was not well-equipped and there was very little to keep the kids entertained.

The hotel is connected to the Harbourside Shopping Centre by a walkway and ramp which means you are down on the foreshore or amongst the shops of Darling Harbour (with myriad take-away and dining choices) in five minutes.

Parking is expensive and at $45 pd it was no wonder the carpark was half empty. Maybe check out other parking options near by or better still leave the car at home if you can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the northern end of the building or on a higher floor if you don't want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear dgtravelbug
Thank you for providing us with feedback, it was great to read such a positive and constructive review, you have highlighted a lot of key features here at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour.

In terms of your other comments, we understand the need of parking for most off our hotel guests whilst here at the hotel , I would like to advise that the hotel is currently under negotiation with the owners of our car park, and hope to reach a decision soon to help alleviate the cost of parking.

Dgtravelbug once again we thank you for such a well thought and written review, I do hope you visit us again soon and your next stay is as pleasant as the last.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,254 - 2,260 of 4,690 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were lucky to be on the ninth floor overlooking Darling Harbour. The view was to die for and we were also lucky to watch fireworks from our room on the Saturday night - and it was an awesome display. The room was comfortable, simple but well set out. Amenities were good and the bathroom was clean and bright. Mini bar was affordable. We had breakfast included in our room rate ($25 extra) and it was a good selection but over-priced. Could have gone across the road for a full breakfast for $9:90.
Overall a good stay but watch prices. Was quoted on the internet a price and had to pay an extra $150 when I checked out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xanerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Xanerin

Thank you for your feedback,

I am glad to see you had such a comfortable stay, I will share your comments in regards to price with our front office manager so she can investigate the additional charge. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact us.

Xanerin thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank santorinifan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TerrySenior
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

we wanted to stay a few days in Sydney before going off on a cruise and the Novotel gave us a perfect start. Room was fine, breakfast excellent, position on Darling Harbour great (and a good view from the upper floors). Booked through the internet - totally hassle-free. Two minor criticisms - can't see why they charge for Wi-Fi use (albeit a very modest charge) - and can't see why they haven't got a shuttle arrangement to get guests to/from the airport - with the Ibis hotel next door, and another Novotel nearby at Rockford, there must be sufficient custom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank boycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Boycs

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, it is always good to see our guests enjoy their stay.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast; our food and Beverage team are always looking for new and fresh ideas to produce a variety of breakfast options.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to hotel WIFI, we appreciate the need for WIFI when staying in the hotel for all our guests but are restricted in service and cost provided, however we are currently reviewing our options in regards to our internet and we hope to reach a decision soon that will help alleviate the cost and provide a more efficient service.

I would also like to inform you that the Novotel does provide a shuttle service to back to the airport at a cost of $16 per person; however I do apologize if this wasn’t clearly communicated to you.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went here for a girls weekend. We stayed in an executive room with 2 doubles. Very comfortable beds, black out blinds (a bonus for the night after!) and spacious room.
However we had an awful view of a construction site which was a bit of a let down when promised a 'darling harbour view'. I also didn't like the fact that they took $100 more from my card as a deposit but didn't inform us of this at check in so I found out days later when this money had been taken off my credit card and I had to call to get the refund.

There are so many other places to stay in Sydney for the price (Novotel was $460 for 1 night) I would probably be inclined to stay elsewhere next time. If you can get a deal for under $200 then it would be worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with an actual darling harbour view if you are paying top dollar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poshw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Poshw5

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I apologies.

I am sorry if that our Pre-Authorisation policy wasn't clearly explained upon check in. Upon arrival a pre-authorization of $50 per room per night is required to be held upon your credit card to cover any incidental charges you may occur whilst staying with us. Upon departure an automatic alert is sent to your bank notifying them to release the funds back into your account, however with some major banks the release of funds can take up to 5 working days in which the transaction will stay showing as pending up until it is released.

In regards to price paid, similar to the airline industry our rates fluctuate depending on supply and demand. During the month of February we were at high occupancy which is resulted in your room rate to be at the higher end of the scale.

Poshw5 I do hope that you give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#76 of 186 in Sydney
1,543 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#21 of 186 in Sydney
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $183 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing