We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding anniversary and Australia day celebrations!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #68 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dampier, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wedding anniversary and Australia day celebrations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Impressed with the service and cleanliness of the room. Room was spacious and nice to chill in after a hard day's sightseeing.Found the bed and pillows uncomfortable.The blockout blinds were great and the room was quiet.Locality was fantastic, with many lovely restaurants nearby.I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 94travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,720
    779
    241
    166
See reviews for
1,310
1,391
245
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Arrived late after some transit problems - staff helpful and offered upgrade to suite overlooking the harbour. Great room with a memorable outlook. Convenient for restaurants and tourist attractions. Breakfast buffet good selection. But avoid horrible frankfurters !

Room Tip: Harbour view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermott q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Novotel is a conference type hotel. Vast and pretty soulless. The room decor is tired and dated. The furnishings and carpets badly stained. The outslde pool area is very basic. No wi fi in rooms (come on Australia! This is basic almost everywhere else) and not free. The staff, however, couldnt be more helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was very hit and miss; dirty cups and glasses not changed; tea and coffee sachets not replenished. It gets away with being an expensive stopover as the view from the rooms (9th floor) over Darling Harbour is magnificent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 9th or 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wineguruuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments and have passed these on to the relevant department heads. For future reference, after a study into Wi-Fi costs in our Australian Hotels, Accor now offers free internet for our Le Club members of Silver Status and above. This program is free to join and more information is available on the Accor website.

We hope this information may help for future stays in Australia and we hope to see you again.

Warm Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've stayed here before so arrival, car parking and check in was trouble free. Staff were friendly and attentive. Our bags were brought to our room within minutes of our arrival.
Our room was clean and tidy, complete with a welcoming card addressed to Llyod (their spelling - not mine) even although my name is David.

On our second day we returned to the hotel after an evening harbour cruise and decided to have a nightcap in the bar. There were a few people there but the bar was not busy, however every available table was literally covered with dirty crockery and glassware. We chose the least cluttered table, pushed the debris to one side and spent a full 15 minutes over luke-warm coffee and liqueurs - at no time during this period did any of the 3 staff behind the bar come out to clean up our table or any of the others, and when we left, there were 8 uncleared tables.

On our third day, we left the hotel just before midday and returned around 5pm to find our bed pulled up with the pillows just thrown against the headboard. The room hadn't been cleaned, evident by the no smoking sign which had fallen under the desk. The wet towels were as we left them, and with the exception of emptying the bin, the bathroom was untouched.

We called housekeeping who apologised, and offered to redo the room, but we said that fresh towels would suffice.

It should be noted that last time we stayed in this hotel we had the same problem, and when one considers the cost - poor quality of service is simply not acceptable.

Fourth day was a good bit better. Our bed was changed (at last), the bathroom had been cleaned and we had fresh towels, but the no smoking sign was still under the desk, the mini-bar area hadn't been cleaned (evident by the rings left by the teacups) and the crumbs etc on the carpet tell us that there was no attempt to brush or vacuum the room.

On our return to the hotel late afternoon, we decided to stop in the foyer for a coffee, however after waiting at an unattended bar for 2 or 3 minutes, gave up and repaired to our room.

It should be noted that when we booked our 5 night stay, we asked for a single night, one week prior to this as we were flying in from interstate, arriving late and didn't want to drive for 3 hours after a 5 hour flight. To our amazement we were told that the minimum stay was 2 nights, even although we were going to spend some $2000 for our accommodation.

Whilst we love the Darling Harbour area - we'll seriously consider alternatives before giving Novatel our business again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on trip advisor.

We appreciate both your positive and negative feedback as it helps us to continuously work on improving our product and service to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

You have addressed some very valid points in regards to the bar and housekeeping service you received during your 5 night stay with us and we have highlighted these with the respective managers to investigate, as this is definitely not the Novotel way.

Should you wish to return to the hotel, we would welcome the opportunity to provide the type of experiences in which we pride ourselves and in which one would expect from a Novotel.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of celebrating my 59th birthday weekend at Novotel Darling Harbour recently. We were welcomed at the front door and directed to check-in on the first floor. Tina booked us in with a lovely smile and attitude. She wished me a happy birthday and offered us an upgrade to a Junior Suite, which we greatfully accepted. Our room was terrific with a great view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline. Being Advantage Plus members (all dining room food bills 50% discount) we chose to have breakfast each day in the dining room. The quality and selection of food was awsome. The chef would cheerfully cook eggs any way you like them, including omlets. Freshly squeezed orange juice and a wide selection of coffee options also impressive. After a long Saturday exploring Manly and Sydney we arrived back at the Hotel and were met by a young, smiling and very friendly doorman by the name of Hiam (small world, we were cruising the Pacific Islands with him a few weeks ago) he suggested their was a small surprise waiting for us in our room. It turned out to be a lovely bottle of bubbles and chocolates, much appreciated.
Dinner at the DISH Restaurant turned out to be a night to remember. We were greeted by Onn, who was extremely welcoming and friendly. Our table overlooked the spectacular city skyline. The food was spot on and the service was the same. The dining room staff were aware of my celebration and surprised us with some nice touches during the evening, especially a beautifully decorated birthday cake for two which was delivered as the Saturday night Darling Harbour Fireworks began.
We checked out at 11.00 Sunday morning and once again the staff could not have been more helpfull or friendly.
Overall our weekend getaway was very special thanks to the friendly and efficient staff plus the terrific facilities and fantastic location. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranston55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and once again a belated Happy Birthday to you!

We appreciate your great feedback and are glad our staff and facilities were able to provide such a memorable experience.

Please rest assured that your comments have been passed on to all the staff mentioned in your review! It is experiences like these that serve as a reminder to our staff as to why we continuously strive to better ourselves and our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing