We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #71 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 22, 2013

great location and very quiet at night. Saturday parking a bit difficult, but alternatives close by, and the hotel paid the difference when you produce the receipt!! concierge was very helpful and provided a local map describing where to park.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gandl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,475 - 2,481 of 4,545 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you can get a harbour view, the view is spectacular and makes for a wonderful stay.

It was everything you'd expect in a 5* hotel - and my wife kept mentioning about this 5* hotel - but I found out that it is - in fact - an unassuming 4* . So it punched above its weight! Well done, Novotel!

It is superbly positioned for central Sydney with Hard Rock Cafe next door and many other eating and drinking outlets very close by.
It's also served by "Convention centre" on the tram - which is included in the MyTravel pass - which we found extremely useful after each day's travelling - usually allowing a convenient trip back from central statin or whenever without having to keep enduring expensive (as everything is in Australia at the moment!) Taxi fares.
It is also on a monorail stop - but that is chargeable for each journey and is soon to be withdrawn from service. if you go there soon - take a trip before it disappears!
We didn't eat at the restaurant - so can't comment on that. Free wi-fi in reception is good - but a tad annoying that a separate purchase needed for wifi access in the room.

If you're not sure where to go: try these options which we found great:

- Walk through gardens, via Art gallery, then Botanic gardens onto Sydney harbour Bridge. Come back via an eating establishment/ watering hole on circular quay.

- Walk on opposite bank of Darling Harbour away from City. get one of the ferries, via the Bridge to Circular Quay - then go to "The Rocks" the traditional heart of Sydney with music and British style pubs,

- Go up the "Eye" for spectacular views of Sydney

- If you fancy a day on the Beach - get out to Bondi via train + Bus (Just so you know - it's probably close to 40 mins by public transport) - not next to Darling Harbour!

Hope that helps!

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Novotel on Darling Harbour is in an excellent location within walking distance to excellent bars and restaurants. Look out for the happy hours. Star casino only around the corner. Very comfortable beds and block out blinds for a great night sleep. Nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GgKk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We came to the conclusion the higher up the building the better the rooms. When we arrived we were given the 'best room in the hotel' which turned out to be one of the rooms a few doors away from the reception. We asked if there were other rooms available and were shown other rooms on other floors. Were opted for the suite in the end which given its title was very basic. The view was fantastic looking right over the harbour. A few hiccup with the cleaning and not clearing away crockery but on the whole it was just ok. Staff were ok. It was our wedding anniversary the day before we left and decided to have a meal in the restaurant. It was a Sunday night and only 2 other couples there. One of the main courses came out twice with the chicken under cooked. Not very good considering they were hardly rushed off their feet. There was no atmosphere and it was also cold probably because it was all open planned. Definitely over prices for what you got. They did try to charge us $5 for a small jug of milk!! wouldn't stay again. A typical business hotel which tried to cater for tourist but badly!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveller0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed the view from your suite. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually review the service we offer our guests.

We are very sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations. Please rest assured that your concerns are being addressed in order to avoid such occurrences in the future.

Kind Regards
The Novotel Darling Harbour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The location is just fantastic - especially now Ultimo has such great coffee shops and eateries - head north west, not east to the very touristy Darling Harbour precinct :-). The service and maintenance is as expected from Novotel, clean, efficient, friendly but nothing to write home about :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent location within walking distance of the CBD, right in the middle of darling harbour with plenty of choices to eat out and for entertaining, close to star casino and mono rail station, very clean rooms, great beds and friendly staff. Will definitely return whether for business or personal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kapsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Last night of visit and thought we would treat ourselves to a luxury hotel. Took an hour and a half to get bags delivered,Had to ring, and then went down to find out where they where. "just coming". Was advised at reception to upgrade for harbour view. Left hand view obscured by the building, and we looked out over the road and Harbourside. Could really only enjoy a view if you stood, as the windows were not full length. My partner (on crutches) could not shower, as it was over a bath. I thought this went out in the 1940's. Room was ordinary and a bit tired, even the pen didn't work!. The TV had appalling reception, and the remote worked only if you held your mouth the right way. Prices on mini bar were outrageous, as was the rate for this very ordinary room. Only positive was the night view was great. Was this worth $270? Definitely not.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Yvonne7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful night views of Darling Harbour from your Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour room. The night sky is spectacular and we are looking forward to the VIVID Light Show which is about to start this Friday evening.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. We regularly discuss issues and review our service as we strive to offer our guests a positive experience. We take your comment seriously and were particular concerned with your experience in receiving your luggage.

We value your patronage and would like to welcome you back so we may have an opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from Novotel.

Kind Regards
The Management Team of the Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 179 in Sydney
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,954 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $154 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing