We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, reasonable hotel, refurbishment overdue !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #72 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable hotel, refurbishment overdue !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a double executive room this May.

We tend to concur with several reviews on tripadvisor :

- Good location, right on Darling Harbour, quite central, good connection to public transportation although the most accessible one, the monorail, will be taken down in a few weeks so this advantage will vanish.

- The staff is usually very pleasant and helpful, with special thanks to the concierge, Akif : very gentle, helpful, efficient and of good advice.

- Nice view over the harbour

- Good buffet breakfast. A bit expensive but on the other hand they have this nice policy to offer complementary breakfast for kids staying with adults.

- But significant issue with the overall condition of the hotel : carpets worn and full of stains (some of them I even dare not describe), beds so-so, and furniture missing !! We arrived in a large room with no chair at the desk and nowhere to sit except on the beds. Normally those rooms have a desk chair and a sofa... I was told at the reception that they might not be able to find any, actually. They almost seemed irritated I was asking for that... (finally at least they managed to get a sofa in the room). Room stuffy with no aeration (none working anyway) so after shower it would turn very damp and you can feel the room never gets much fresh air : it smells mouldy. When we checked in there was a nice clean ozonation smell but I guess they do that only between guests and not during your stay (even though we did stay 3 nights).

- Wifi for a hefty price. Quite ridiculous and extortionate considering the price for the room. But on the other hand they have 1/2hour free per day in the lobby and some computers at everyone's disposal.

So not a bad experience, but definitely this hotel could freshen up quite significantly in order to keep justifying its price and grading.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asilux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    1,604
    724
    216
    152
See reviews for
1,185
1,263
231
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room provided was pretty basic.
My 'platinum' status was not even recognised.
No greet and bell service upon entry, or in exit.
Location on the other hand is excellent.
Service could be better, especially as in my above comment upon 'greet and entry'.
Value in this instance was acceptable.
The quality of sleep achieved upon the beds provided were not as expected. We woke up with excruciating back aches..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jjdanest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are very sorry you were not happy with the allocation of your room. We pride ourselves on all of our rooms being true to the Novotel brand and suitable for all our guests, including our loyalty members. We apologise that the room and bed did not meet your expectations; however we are working towards improving and upgrading all of our rooms.

We have to agree Darling Harbour is an unbeatable location in a renowned tourist destination. We are glad that you found our location perfect for the purpose of your stay.

We are very disappointed to hear that you were not welcomed at our lower floor. We would like to apologies on behalf of our Porters and Concierge who are always waiting with a smile to great and assist our guests however failed to meet expectations on this occasion.

Whilst we cannot turn back the clock on your experience, we certainly value your patronage and would like to welcome you back when you are next visiting Sydney so that we may have an opportunity to provide the service and standards in which we pride ourselves.

Kind Regards
The Novotel Darling Harbour Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Recently my husband and I attended a confrence at the convention centre and so we booked Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. Our room had a fantastic view of the city, the staff were helpful, coffee at the bar downstairs was good and the rooms, though not fancy, were very clean.

As well as being so close to the convention centre, it had many restaurants, Star Casino and Harbourside shopping centre within walking distance. For these reasons and those I mentioned above, I would recommend this hotel. However, if you were after something particulary upmarket, then this one isn't for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Run_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

An excellent and well located hotel. Rooms are a generous size. Would prefer a stand alone shower rather than a shower over a bath. The wind down shades on thw windows are excellent and block out all external light.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kiwi407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Cant complain about service, cleanliness or location these are some of its very best qualities. However....my room needed a major renovation with some basic things that had been overlooked eg a hole plaster patched in the ceiling had not been repainted so there was this big ugly patch, tiles in bathroom cracked, grout missing, bath surface chipped & worn. But as I didn't spend much time in my room, it didn't concern me a great deal, it just leaves an impression and that's what you come away with. I left feedback with the hotel so hopefully they act on some of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ShopHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was welcoming with lovely views of the Sydney Skyline across Darling Harbour. We stayed in a very large beautiful room also with a view of the harbour - two double beds. Happy hour between 5 and 6pm and the food was nice. Car parking a little pricy but this is practically the centre of Sydney. No complaints. Staff friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_Noela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Room ready on arrival even though we were there 4 hours before offical check in time. The view across Darling Harbour was just beatiful and the lage window framed it to perfection. Had dinner in the hotel restarunt and the meal and presentation were top class. had a bit of a problem as the entree order was lost in the system but easily sorted out. Very comfortable room with all the things you need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MRitchie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour.

I apologise that there was a mix up with your order in the restaurant, but I am glad we were able to remedy it and that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards
The Management Team at Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing