We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #68 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location. The room was a little tired - dirty/stained carpet, shower flooded the bathroom ( we were put in a disabled room so maybe thats why the shower setup was a bit unusual) but overall quite happy. Having just returned from a 3 week holiday to the US we were suprised to see that you charged for internet access and all the properties that we stayed in in the US did not. The staff were very efficient and pleasant and the overall feeling of the motel was very pleasing. Would stay again .

Room Tip: We had a room right near the lift which was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,720
    779
    241
    166
See reviews for
1,310
1,391
245
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

On arrival our bags were put in to storage instead of been brought to our room. Even after several calls, we had to go down and get them from storage.Complimentry biscuits need to be supplied with tea/coffee like every other hotel in this country. Nice rooms and great views and close to city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank grant666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was in Sydney for a little over a week with a colleague planning a small meeting for later in the year, as a result of our experience we are cancelling our plan to base that at Novotel. To start with the best things: the location of Novotel is good with a Light Rail (tram) station essentially in the hotel car-park offering direct access to Sydney Central railway station and also a stop there for the convenient Sydney Monorail (though sadly the monorail will be closing completely at the end of June). It is also an easy and largely undercover walk to Darling Harbour shops and restaurants. The list of bad things is longer. Breakfast was poor (but not cheap) and essentially the same every day apart from the flavour of the sausages. Choice of items was very limited and fruit and some other items such as tomatoes mostly came out of tins. Internet connection in the room was very poor, the cable connection did not work at all (the "helpline" promised to get back to sort it out but did not do so) and wireless internet was very slow despite the high additional charge being made (AUD 24.50 per day). The only electrical socket in the room was for Australian 2 flat pin plugs and a request for a converter was met with the response that there was a waiting list to which my name would be added (after 8 days I am still waiting). The room was very spartan with only one (broken) easy chair, and the minibar was basic and was not replenished. The Room Service food menu was one of the most basic I have ever seen (and was largely vegetarian). The hotel is simply not up to the standard of Novotel hotels elsewhere and apart from anything else needs a major revamp.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel elsewhere on Darling Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate all feedback we receive as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

If you have the opportunity to contact the hotel to give us more information it would be most helpful. You have listed a number of issues that disappointed you during your stay. We would like to further discuss these issues with in person.

Kind Regards
The Management Team at the Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

eccellent hotel, staff very professional friendly & helpful. In the middle of restaurants plenty to choose from. the rooms are spotless with all you need, the hotel's restaurant very modern with plenty food & delicious. The only dis like was the overnight parking , pricey

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were delighted with this Hotel and it definitely exceeded our expectations. We had a Harbour view room on the 9th floor and wow! what a view. The room was spacious, clean and above all quiet. We also had the buffet breakfast which has an amazing variety of hot and cold foods as well as pastries, fresh fruit etc, and sets you up for the day.
Shopping centre, restaurants, light rail (to Central station and Paddys markets), ferry and of course Darling Harbour are all within minutes of the hotel. It is only a 10 minute walk across Pyrmont Bridge to the city.
We used public transport from the airport and were taking in the Harbour views in under an hour after touchdown,
The staff were friendly and helpful and even the room cleaners wished us a safe journey when we checked out!
We have already decided to stay here again on our next visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Harbour view is well worth the extra few dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are always very happy to hear that we have exceeded expectations.
I will share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards
The Management Team at Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights in an Executive room overlooking Darling Harbour. Although it was a work trip, the Novotel made it seem very enjoyable.

The room was larger than normal hotel rooms and was very comfortable. Huge bed, large bath to stretch out in, fantastic views. It was a short walk to Darling Harbour shops and restaurants. Gym was medium size, had 2 treadmills, a rickety cross trainer, one bench and some dirty rubber mats (only complaint) & some dumbells. Showers and towels in the gym.

Very friendly staff and the public areas including the friendly bar area were a great area to work and play. Highly recommend the jug of sangria....mmmm yummy! :)

Room Tip: All is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Novetel Sydney on Darling Habour is a lovely hotel, great position near heaps of restaurants, near the habour, shopping centre, short walk to ferry stop (so we could explore outer Sydney this way) and mono rail (great for Paddies Market). No need to hire a car as public transport is so close. Or if needing to hire a car only 10 min walk to 2 hire car depot. Had been recommended hotel by my cousin who is an Accor member. We joined to take advantage of free night and discount breakfasts. We had interconnecting room as we have kids - I found inner Sydney is really hard to find family accommodation. Hotel has 5 interconnecting rooms they couldn't promise which was the only disappointing part of booking - but we did get. Rooms very clean, spacious and no light through cracks - as they have great modern blinds on runners. Don't know why we haven't been to Sydney for long weekend before - all great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kellie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing