We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Novatel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #67 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Novatel Experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The motel and accommodation was excellent! The only let down was the parking! We were very disappointed at the cost of the parking and the difficulty we had finding parking! What we paid for the accommodation should have had parking included! We will definitely look around more for other options before making a return trip to the big smoke!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank N0vatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    1,755
    793
    244
    172
See reviews for
1,340
1,413
253
877
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brandy Hill NSW Australia 2324
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at the Novotel Darling Harbour plenty of times - great location and consistently of a high standard - from the quality rooms; friendly staff; good restaurant and the inhouse gym facilities. One of the few with parking available too. Will be staying again soon !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael9160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour offers all the necessary services that can be
expected from a Hotel of this class. The location is excellent. However, the general atmosphere is cool and without much style and ambiance. There is hardly any of the usual "artistic" decoration in the Hotel or in the rooms. It is very bare and totally impersonal. The rooms are large and offer all necessary conveniences but no more. By international standards the price for a standard room was extraordinarily high, over 400 US$ per night, which is the highest we have ever paid anywhere in the world for a Hotel of this class. And in addition there is a high charge for the use of the wifi internet in the room whereas most Hotels offer this service today for free. Also totally unacceptable is the charge the Hotel makes for payment by credit card of 1,5% which surely is most unusual by international standards. All in all I do not recommend this Hotel and will certainly not return there. Hans von Keller

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 93Hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerNSODH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Von Keller,

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on both the location and the quality of our hotel product. I am unsure of the “artistic” decorations that you usually expect but would be more than happy to investigate should you wish to contact the hotel to provide more information.

During your stay I see you decided to stay in one of our executive rooms for close to $350 AUD and I apologise that this was more than you had expected to pay. Certainly we do have cheaper rates well under $300 on a lower room standard and would be more than happy to assist you with this on a future stay.

We are certainly looking at better options for our Wifi as the country’s infrastructure improves and already are including free internet onto some of our rates.

Lastly, with regard to the credit card surcharge, many companies have done this for a long time. At Accor Asia Pacific we decided to be transparent and tell our guests of this charge which has been a part of our business for several years now. We certainly hope this did not ruin your time in Sydney and hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind Regards

The Team at the Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Unfortunately the Novotel chain is going down hill. Some idiot manager somewhere has decided that Advantage Plus cannot be used on public holidays, so we ate elsewhere. check in was poor, the "we'll ring you when you're room is ready" call never came. Room cleanliness was questionable. I won't be staying at the Novotel Darling Harbour again and I won't be using Accor properties on public holidays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mark1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerNSODH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate all feedback we receive as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

If you have the opportunity to contact the hotel to give us more information it would be helpful. Certainly Advantage Plus does have some limitations as set in their Terms and Conditions but we would like to know which holiday you dined on to ensure you were given the right opportunities.

During the check in process we do indeed offer to call our guests that are waiting on rooms, before the guaranteed check in time of 2pm. Once we have passed this time we do let our guest return at their leisure and have a nice room waiting for them after their long day in Darling Harbour. I am sorry that this did not meet your expectations. Certainly something we can investigate further to ensure we are giving the best service available.

Please do not hesitate to contact so as we can better understand your issues.

Kind Regards
The Management Team at the Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had booked a room with 2 double beds to cater for my 2 children, my husband and myself a month before our stay. We arrived to check in around 9:45pm after the Easter Show. No rooms were available. My husband was told we would be 'upgraded' to another room & they would put an extra bed in there...long story short - by 11pm there was still no extra bed. We were put into another room with the two beds but little was done to make up for the inconvenience caused.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerNSODH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate your feedback.

We are terribly sorry for the issues you faced during your most recent stay at the hotel. We assure you that it was not our intention to ruin your stay with us and I certainly hope we looked after you after the delay. If you would like to contact us, we would appreciate more information on your stay so we can better understand the situation.

Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for the Front Office Manager.

Kind Regards
The Team at the Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Look it's dated and overpriced, but you stay here for the location because many attractions are within a reasonable walking distance. The Powerhouse Museum, Australian Maritime Museum, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay and so on - are all within walking distance. It gives you a chance to take a breather from the crazy intensity that is Sydney's Darling Harbour. We stayed here as 2 adults and a tween in an Exec room with a view which gave us 2 double beds. To be honest, it would have been better to upgrade to another hotel or room which gave us 2 queen beds. Anyway, it was also quite full with families there for Easter. I couldn't fault the staff or the service - they work hard and they earn their money. Their valet and concierge staff have always been friendly whenever I've stayed. The hotel is dated and overdue for a reno but it's hard to fault really.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor overlooking Darling Harbour and it wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkingMumCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay. Our room was on a high floor with the harbour view. Gorgeous view by day and by night. Room has simple design which is pleasant aesthetically and also very comfortable.

Breakfast was delicious and as Accor member, I received 50% discount. There is free wifi but only for half an hour a day. Would be good if free wifi could be available 24 hours. Carpark at $45 a day is expensive but Sydney parking is generally exhorbitant anyway.

Location of hotel is excellent. We enjoyed morning walk at Darling Harbour and there is plenty of entertainment, good food and shopping just outside hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank drlawrencesoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#61 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,760 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#74 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing