We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you have a back problem !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #71 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located next to the convention centre. The rooms have a beautiful view of Darling Harbour. That's the positive stuff, now the other stuff. The mattress was soft like a sponge, as if it had no springs ! I had back spasm every night due to this. I asked them to change the mattress or change our room but they just put a board under the mattress which did absolutely nothing. At the buffet breakfast, I had to check out about six cups before I could find one that didn't have thick coffee stains all around the inside - pretty bad. Then when we checked out, I saw a charge for the first morning's breakfast which was suppose to be complimentary which was organised when we checked in. They had no record of this and I had to argue with the person at he front desk before they accepted it. Won't be back.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Ivan_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Ivan_G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We very much appreciate this feedback as it continually allows us to review and improve our service and facilities.

We were most concerned to hear of your comments in relation to the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. Please accept our sincere apologies that mattress and breakfast did not meet your expectations.

We are currently replacing older mattresses and there are ones which we are yet to change. We would ask that you let our Executive Housekeeper, Leigh Salas, know which room you stayed in so that we can immediately rectify this issue. Leigh can be contacted on +61 2 9288 7107 or email h1181-hk01@accor.com

With regards to the coffee mugs, we thoroughly soak, rinse and wash our mugs and glassware to prevent stains. We have passed your feedback on to our Chief Steward to discuss with the team. We are also sincerely sorry for causing issues with your account. This certainly was not our intention and would be happy to discuss further to ensure everything is ok.

Whilst we cannot turn back the clock on your experience, we certainly value your patronage and would love to welcome you back when you are next travelling to Sydney so that we may have an opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from Novotel.

Kind regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,658 - 2,664 of 4,580 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed here before and think the location is its biggest asset. It is so close to the city or in our case the exhibition centre where we attended a trade fair. Lots of good restaurants nearby.
Our only criticism is that a light bulb on the desk was blown when we arrived and we left the bulb on the desk and it sat there for our entire stay without being replaced.
Having been in the motel industry we know good staff would have been more aware and replaced it.
Overall we enjoyed the stay and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alderwiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Reasonable price hotel in a great location. Close to casino, Darling Harbour, lots of restaurants nearby. Breakfast is great lots to choose from. Stayed with two older children and the room was good even through try had to share a bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice05161
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed here several times before, and yes the Novotel is handily located, and reasonable value however it's getting a little tired on the fringes.

My last stay was punctuated by :
- The usual room not ready please leave you bags at the bell desk until 2pm

- When we did finally check into our two rooms under my bosses name, was told the bags would be sent right up only to wait for 40 minutes, and when I called looking for them a rather put out bell desk staffer replied "Well I wasn't about to send them anywhere without a matching name that's checked in now would I ?" Would have thought they could have used thier initiative and rang reception to find out which room I was in without having to ask frankly.

- As usual with this sort of Hotel price band, something in the room you need is always broken, and this time around it was the ironing board which I had to Macgyver in order to use. Secondly the LAN cable was too short to use at the desk provided, therefore had to use wireless when on this occasion I needed the faster speed.

- Coffee in the downstairs bar was great just to add a positive.

End of the day I'd stay there again as I'm an accor member, but I check elsewhere for deals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakar1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I have now stayed here a few times, and it is always good!

The service is really good, the rooms are a little on the small side, but I suppose you do get what you pay for! Perfect for a couple or small family.

Very short walk to the Casino, King St wharf and many other great Sydney attractions. I stay here almost Everytime I come down to Sydney for something, and I will continue to come as the price is always right.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Naomilou,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is not city central but the service and the ambience makes up for that. There was a tram service almost at the door so access to Casino and shopping is no bother. I cannot comment on the food as we decided not to eat at the Hotel this trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggi14au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
4,986 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $157 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing