We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #70 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wollongong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in great location”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over Australia Day long weekend with family including 3 primary school boys. Hotel was generally clean and modern but not a lot available on site for kids to do. Pool is small but ok. Boys enjoyed playing Nintendo Wii - 2 available in lobby area. Having said that, you come to Sydney to do stuff around town not particularly to sit in a hotel all day.
Breakfast and dinner were good. We benefitted from discounts with being Accor Advantage Plus members. Avoid arriving for breakfast at 9am as this is peak hour - probably only an issue with full house like it was when we were there. Otherwise it was great to have dinner away from the noise and crowds in the Harbourside shopping centre restaurants and food court in front of the hotel.
The room we got was nice and large with amazing panoramic view of darling harbour. Had all we needed but not always fun being stuck in the room with 3 kids :) Beds were comfortable but we were incredibly unfortunate enough to be disturbed in the middle of the night on both of the nights we were there by a false fire alarm.
The biggest thing going for the hotel is its location - so close to everything including aquarium, powerhouse museum, ferry, IMAX and for us, the fireworks. Made life so easy as a family.
All in all the hotel was a good place to stay, and whilst it probably didn't have a huge wow factor in and of itself, and definitely did not detract from our stay. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Taketimeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    1,773
    803
    247
    174
See reviews for
1,351
1,434
253
883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My first experience in Australia did not disappoint me to some extend.the location is perfect ,you just take the lift and come down to lower floor and after 2 minutes walk you are I middle of a good food court and then you walk out there and you find yourself in middle of the harbour.
You can walk to anywhere in city centre in just few minutes .

In terms of the hotel itself the reception was fantastic ,quick and easy,the room was OK,big as I booked a two double bed,but the cushions need changing as been very old and dirty.
The one thing that needs huge improvement was breakfast .
You can wait for good few minutes before you find any clean glass or plate,there is just one chef who really did try hard to serve everybody but he was the only one and cold not mange all.
After all fuss that you can see on Australian hotel websites about the bank fats and its pricing
I did expect much higher standard I should say,with the same money or less you can get better
Breakfast anywhere else in the world .

Room Tip: Book a room in high floor and with street view,you will be in darling harbour until late anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Perfect spot to stay close to Maritime Museum for Art Exhibition Would stay again And hope my art is selected again next year ! I also can recommend dinner in the restaurant & breakfast was excellent !! The beds were very comfortable too !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Denise2151,

Congratulations on your art being selected to be on display at the Martime Museum and we do hope that you are selected again also as we look forward to welcoming you back to Sydney.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner. Thank you for providing this lovely feedback on your stay with us.

See you again soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great Location, good amentities and friendly staff...however I requested adjoining rooms as traveling with family (and booked months in advance) but request wasn't fullfilled so it was difficult to spend any family time in our rooms with 5 people squashed onto two beds with no lounge area within the rooms. Also our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 4.30pm (check-in time 2pm) and we had to wait a further 1/2 hour before we were able to go to our rooms...they did offer us a complimentary drink though which was nice. Also it was a bit strange having to walk through reception to get to the pool as that was the only access...slightly uncomfortable. Other than that the hotel itself was great, and breakfast delightful and would definitley recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3BigBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many time during my business trips. The location itself is unbeatable. Unlike those establishments in CBD, Novotel on Darling Harbour has access to CBD within 10 min on foot, 3 min to Darling Harbour, 10 min to the famous Fish market.

The room itself is always clean and spotless.I like best is the roll-down blind which could make me sleep really well even in the day light. Gym though small but work just fine for me. Food quality I must say it is value for money. Very good quality of food! I enjoy the burger (A$16) and sit at its verandah facing Darling Harbour under the blue sky. But the breakfast buffet is a no- no. Too crowded and the quality of breakfast buffet is below par.

Staff are generally friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_man_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed three nights and had a room on an upper floor overlooking the harbour. Room had a fantastic view of the harbour, was of a good size, clean, a good bathroom and air con. Breakfast was more than ample with a good variety of choice. There is a good gym and swimming pool area. Location of hotel really is excellent, a walk bridge connects hotel to shopping mall right on darling harbour. Sydney harbour ferry is approx 200 yds, the monorail and hop on hop off bus stops outside. For someone stopping as a tourist this hotel was ideal and would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms facing harbour are away from street and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#69 of 177 in Sydney
627 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, ACCOR, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing