We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay at Novotel Darling Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #69 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Katoomba, Australia
1 review
“Overnight stay at Novotel Darling Harbour”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very comfy bed, lovely city view, great breakfast. The decor is not terribly inspiring or inviting, however it was very clean and spacious. Very good value city stay, as we booked and paid in advance on the Accor website. Plenty of food options close by if you want to venture out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstyKersty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    1,752
    792
    244
    172
See reviews for
1,339
1,413
252
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

While in a good location in Darling Harbour the Novotel doesn't have much else going for it, particularly for the price. The rooms are clean but the old air conditioning leaves that must dank smell and the service is average with desk staff being fairly slow to get anything done. From a business travel perspective an express checkout would be beneficial.

OK for a business trip but I wouldn't want to spend much time in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Breakfast is too expensive for what you get, Needs to add some more hot food choice.
Excellant service, parking could be cheaper for accor members also.$45 is alot when you are spending alot on room as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loukim26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I just spent 5 nights here with my husband and 3 teenage sons and overall we were very happy with our stay. As tourists we couldn't ask for more from the location! Monorail and ferry stops just a short walk, numerous options for food from basic to special at varying prices. Even a small supermarket across the road for basics if needed. Star city short walk away too!
We had interconnecting superior and executive harbour view rooms ( that's darling harbour not Sydney harbour). Great views, spacious, comfortable, clean rooms. Decent sized bathroom. Bed too soft for my liking, but that's a personal thing and different for everyone. Staff were friendly and helpful in all areas. Pool area good, though small pool. Good shade for watching though.
On the negative..... I'd give the restaurant a wide berth! Breakfast buffet was ok but service not great and items not replenished quickly. We also went once for dinner which was a mistake! Food was very ordinary, service poor and pricing completely off for what it was. To their credit, when we complained it was handled to our satisfaction. It is a good thing there are so many options nearby for all meals!
Car parking is expensive at $45 per day but from what I can gather that is just sydney and if you have a car that's the way it is! You should always check into these things before uou book so there are no nasty surprises when you arrive!
We would definitely stay there again, but would eat all meals out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my partner at this hotel, as soon as we walked into the lobby, it was beautiful! Very fancy and modern. We got in our room and I was expecting something a
Little more spacious since it is a large hotel but to my disappointment it was tiny! I wouldn't even have enough room to do a cartwheel ! The view as great but would have been better with a balcony .. We bought food thinking we'd be able to eat there but they only had teaspoons!! All they had was a bar fridge , cups/mugs and x2 teaspoons! The bathroom was as expected, good, and the bed was a good size. Pros : The View , bathroom, location, bed, aircon.
Cons: the wait for elevators, not much room to move around , no cutlery, the television reception was terrible and the window doesn't open. Never coming back ! I expected more from this place, they must have spent a lot of money on the lobby that they didn't think to get at least spoons and forks! Not worth the money unless everything you need is situated in Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed only a few weeks back for a single night, as the aircon in our own apartment broke down during the heat. So it was a last minute booking for convenience sake.

Our impression was that there were very distinct pros and cons.

You simply can't beat the location, it's close to everything, the monorail ststion is below the hotel, there's a ramp that attaches the property to Harbourside Shopping complex, and only a few blocks walk - across the walk bridge - to the centre of the city.

The service wasn't bad at all, but consistency depended on the time of day. During the middle of the day, the service was relaxed and personable. But during the early evening, it was mayhem.
There are something's that couldn't be helped and the staff could only do so much, but standing there waiting for a table in the bar, there was a distinct lack of management about, to coordinate the vast number of people in the lobby. Being a 4.5 star property in the heart of the city's attraction area, you would think it would be a little more sophisticated, but unfortunately, it was a mess. Again, I'd like to stress it wasn't the service standard, it was the lack of staff and space.
Whilst we were standing there, another guest walked passed with only a towel wrapped around him, coming from the pool area, across the main lobby to order drinks. In a beachside resort? Yes maybe, but in a city property? It was quite bizarre.
The lobby was so busy that it resembled an airport departure lounge.
We waited approximately 15 minutes and then decided to step back out into the heat, to go get dinner at Harbourside. The bar staff were inundated and doing their best.

The rooms are quite well appointed but very small. It was more than sufficient for a single night and had the usual levels of amenities and features.
The price on the night was in the mid $200's - which was more than the going rate at a few of the bottom end five star hotels. Again, we only chose this property for convenience as we only live around the corner.

The check in and checkout was seamless and the reception staff were very professional.
Overall, it wasn't unpleasant, and the rooms are fine, but wouldn't call it great value.
I'd still recommend the property based purely on location, at just a little lower rate.

***If the management do read this, I'd inform your concierge staff, not to lean on their desk with their elbows when on the phone, it really looks bad. And if theres guests in the waiting area, why not have one stand by the door instead of two of them standing behind the desk chatting? Not a complaint, just a suggestion***

Room Tip: Rooms facing Darling Harbour/Cockle Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KVE1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear KVE1005,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We very much appreicate this feedback as it continually allows us to review and improve our service and facilities.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and apologise that we fell short in some areas.

Thank you for your comments on our team members service. We are delighted to hear that even though we fell short on some occasions, our team members were able to work in a professional manner even during our busier periods. We have discussed with our team members your feedback about leaning on desks as this is not acceptable and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Without feedback like yours, we would not be able to improve our service and facilities. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again some day soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,753 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing