We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #67 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Starke, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, but that's about it”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I dislike Novotel hotels and try to avoid them whenever I can, but a client had booked this hotel for me, so I didn't want to make a fuss. The room I had was great—overlooking Darling Harbour, so if you are here on a Saturday night, you will have a front-row seat for the free 9pm fireworks display. But that's about it for the pluses. The internet is expensive—but I expect that in Australia. What I don't expect is to be charged $25 PER DEVICE—this is just gouging. It was reasonably fast (4Mb/s) but after you have downloaded just 300Mb in a day, they either cut back your download speed, or charge you an extra ten cents per Mb. This is useless for business users who need to access large work files from the Cloud. There is a pool and a seating area outside, but no waiter service out there, and there are no vending machines anywhere in the hotel, so you will have to go to a local convenience store for drinks. The fitness center has a few machines, but it is very small for a hotel of this size. The breakfast is OK, but the housekeeping service is erratic. I was going out for a few hours, and asked housekeeping to make up the room, but four hours later, it hadn't been done. And on another occasion, the housekeeper thought that a plastic bag of teabags that I had placed on a shelf was garbage, and tossed them in the trash. There was nothing about this stay that made me reconsider my negative view of Novotels.

Room Tip: Get a Harbour facing room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanWadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,738
    789
    242
    169
See reviews for
1,328
1,400
247
860
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My partner and I just stayed in an executive room with city views for a night away. While the room was clean and the view awesome. I must say that I was less than impressed with the service. When we checked in we were given a card that didnt work or allow us to use the elevator so we could et to the room on top of that we were provided all in all inaccurate information on how to get to our room. It took 20 mins to find the room after we went back to the service desk wheer one person was working and we again had to wait in line behind checkins. While we were running late this made us very late to meet friends who we had gone to see. The next morning we went to have breakfast at the buffet. The girl asked us why we were there, and looked like she had just come off a big night out her manner was rude and when I said I could remember if we ordered the buffet breakfast or not she sighed and said well let me see...it seemed like it was an effort for her to look. On checkout I was handed a card so as to have my parking validated when I went to use the card to leave the next door parking lot it would not work. I had to call the intercom and was advised I had been handed the wrong type of card the guy said he could help and I would need to go back to the hotel and ask, which didnt play well to a few motorists behind us as I had to back up out of the exit while one person shouted some nasty names about having to reverse also. I then had to make my way back up to the hotel and I explained the situation. The girl said I was handed the wrong card. I tried to explain to her that this was the second time weirdly enough this had happened. She handed me two cards and informed of the process. I attempted to tell her of the other situation as I have worked in customer service and only wanted to make her aware. She said "allright here is your card, good day" maybe she was having a bad day,I dont know. Overall good venues near by, room was nice a bit dimly lit in the bathroom in which the fan didnt work beds were awesome. But I got the felling they just didnt care if you were there or not, so the serive as the only dower of the day. I wont be recommending to friends or going back ever again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Jason A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback as allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

We were most concerned to hear of your comments in relation to the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies that the service you experienced was less than satisfactory. We have discussed your concerns with the Front Office Manager to ensure that all of our staff are providing the best customer service. Here at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour we pride ourselves in warm customer service which appears to have fallen short on this occasions.

Jason, whilst we cannot turn back the clock on your experience, we certainly value your patronage and would like to welcome you back upon your next trip to Sydney so that we may have the opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from Novotel.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Recently stayed with family of two adults and two young children in an Executive room with 2 double beds specifically so could have breakfast with the Koalas at Sydney Wildlife on Sun morning which was a 7.15am start . Check-in was quick and friendly. Staff very accommodating. Room was large with comfy beds and great views of Darling Harbour. Enjoyed Sat night fireworks from verandah of hotel on level 1 although could have seen them from room. The location of the hotel is fantastic as so close to huge variety of restaurants, shopping and all the Darling Harbour attractions. Thought it was overpriced but would stay there again with family because of its location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Meets the standard of what you would expect of a hotel for the price. The friendly staff were quick to fix a minor problem with the bathroom.

Great location close to good restaurants and the best tourist activities Sydney had to offer.

I didn't eat at any of the hotel's restaurants so cannot comment on their quality.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mordi3195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4,698 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#82 of 174 in Sydney
3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing