We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Great Service But...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #68 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, Great Service But...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in the Superior 1 Queen Bed Darling Harbour View for 4 nights. The view is superb! Room is clean, location is very near to Harbourside shopping and Darling harbour with great dining and chilling out restaurants and pubs. Service at front desk is pleasantly good but everything went smooth during our check in and stay.

However, both of us find that the queen size bed is rather small in width. It doesn't really look like Queen size to us and is kinda bouncy, which was affecting our sleep quality quite a bit. Maybe is just us but we weren't satisfied with the bed during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Lawgan,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear your stay was great for the most part.

Here at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour we have a preventative maintenance program in place which assists us with the replacement of beds should any problems occur.
We would like to further investigate the bed issue you had during your stay and discuss this in further detail to ensure that the bed in the room you stayed in can be fixed immediately. I can be contacted on +61 2 9288 7107 or email h1181-am@accor.com

Lawgan, we appreciate your feedback and hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
Klaus Kinateder
Acting General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    1,724
    781
    242
    166
See reviews for
1,314
1,392
245
850
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay... Being our first trip to Sydney with lots of activities planned the motel is situated in the most convenient spot with easy access to all that Sydney has to offer. Staff could not of been more helpful, room was exactly as described on the web site with a stunning view of Darling Harbour. We will definately be returning in the future.

Ken & Venessa O'Connor

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandVenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Ken & Vanessa,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, our hotel, team members and our location. Darling Harbour is a renown tourist destination and here at Novotel we strive to provide the best service.

Ken & Vanessa, once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Kind regards
Klaus Kinateder
Acting General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights in Sept/Oct. The hotel is very well located, maybe 15 minutes walk to Martins Place in the CBD and about 35 minutes walk to the Circular Quay Ferry terminals. It's on Darling Harbour. The Front Office people with one exception were good and the Bell hops excellent, particularly N O'B. The housekeeping was a bit spotty - we were left short towels on two occasions. The beds are good.There is free wifi in the public areas of the hotel but only for 30 minutes per 24 hours. The in room cost is very high, made worse by a brochure with guff on how they have listened to their customers and reduced the cost.
When I was checking out, I was asked to pay a 1.5% surcharge for paying by credit card. I was told that this was mentioned on the check-in document which I had signed on check-in. It is mentioned in the small print. I have uploaded a photo of the check-in doc to show how small the print is. It wasn't drawn to our attention. I maintained that the contract was formed prior to check-in on the Novotel/Accor web site where we had booked but the clerk refused to budge. The conversation getting heated, I asked for the manager. He appeared having been briefed by the clerk and opened the conversation in the traditional manner by asking could he help me. My normal response to this is always to ask if the clerk had not briefed him and why was he wasting time by pretending that he was not aware of the problem. He (Mr P.A) told me "my attitude was disgusting" which of course raised the temperature further. The fee was quickly "waived". However, I was given a document setting out their policy on credit card charges a photo of which I have uploaded. In it it clearly states that the fee is not payable for those that book on the Accor website which we had done.It clearly is very questionable to try and extract a fee when it is not due even by reference to their own policies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great Location. Walking distance to all major attractions on Darling Harbour.
We stayed in a Executive Harbour View Room, with 2 double beds. It was a lovely big room, beds where comfortable, only downside was the cleanliness of the bathroom. Mould on the walls in the shower.
Check In Staff where extremely pleasant and polite, as was the concierge downstairs. The staff in the restaurant however weren't so pleasant. 1st morning for breakfast i asked a staff member for some apple juice as there was none left. His exact words were " im busy you will have to wait".
Overall our experience was great and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Bel2201,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour.

Whilst we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and it's location we are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for the short comings you experienced.

Bel2201, as we place a large emphasis on customer service we would like the opportunity to further discuss the shortfalls you experienced during your time with us. I can be contacted on +61 2 9288 7107 or email h1181-am@accor.com

Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards
Klaus Kinateder
Acting General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and tidy with amazing views of the harbour and close walk to shops. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend as a lovely relaxing place for families. Beds were very comfortable and the view of the city at night was awesome!!!! Could not fault anything at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the third time my family have stayed here and we found the location to be perfect. It is close to the Pyrmont Ferry Station and is just a 10 minute walk into the heart of Sydney CBD or a 5 minute walk to Sky City.
I travel quite often and have found the beds here are probably the most comfortable out of all the hotels I have stayed in.
The Buffet Breakfast is magnificent, with "Kids Eat Free" policy it is definately a must do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,659 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#80 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, HotelsClick, Prestigia, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing