We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in the heart of Darling Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #70 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jakarta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great hotel in the heart of Darling Harbour”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have my own list of best hotels, and this hotel became one of it. This hotel provides everything. First, the location is at the heart of Darling Harbour area, one of the main tourist destination in Sydney. It connects directly to Harbourside Mall, Hardrock Cafe Sydney and all cafe and restaurant strip in the area.
Second, you can find all transportation mode in a close distance with the hotel, from tram, monorail, bus and ferry that connects you to the city center, Circular Quay, and Paddy's market, another main tourist destination in Sydney. One thing not to be missed, take ferry to Circular Quay. You will find spectacular view of Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House at the same time.
Third, the hotel it self is really really nice. The lobby, the restaurant, the balcony facing Darling Harbour, the open deck pool, game & internet corner. The room is magnificent. Take a look at my photos and it will tell..
Try this hotel when you visit Sydney. Superb

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cahya-Awl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    1,773
    803
    247
    174
See reviews for
1,351
1,434
253
883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose this hotel because we were able to use reward vouchers toward the cost. Considering their claim as a "premium 4.5 star hotel" we were pretty underwhelmed by the room size, tired decor and dreary Pyrmont view. It was however clean & comfortable and extremely convenient, with the Light Rail station immediately below and a short walk to Darling Harbour. We were easily able to get around to trains & ferries, and the view from the restaurant at breakfast is certainly eye-catching.

The buffet breakfast was reasonable, 'though we didn't really linger or eat a huge amount. Again, the decor was tired and uninspiring.

Unlike previous reviewers we found staff most helpful & polite and were able to store our luggage securely after checkout until returning later in the day with our rental car. Overall a good experience, but totally lacking any "wow" factor.

Room Tip: If you want a view, pay for Harbour view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recently stayed 2 nights at Novotel Darling Harbour and found both positives and negatives. Negatives - check in was very slow and in fact some rude gentleman pushed in while I was being checked-in and the reception person looked after his concerns before continuing to serve me!
Bellboy forgot to bring one lot of luggage and we had to call and chase this. Adjoining rooms we booked were locked and we had to call for someone to unlock them, but this person only unlocked one side, not the other, three phone calls and several hours later they were properly unlocked. Beds were uncomfortable and badly in need of replacing. Parking was $45 per night.

When I called to confirm my booking I somehow ended up talking to Central reservations who after 20 minutes on the phone couldn't find my booking and said I would have to call Novotel directly, they didn't offer to do this which I thought was pretty slack.

Positives, it is a nice hotel and the rooms were good size with plenty of room for family overlooking the harbour - good for watching the fireworks. Towels were plentiful and good size and quality. We were offered a breakfast special of $20 instead of the usual $30 and kids ate free, there was a play area at the restaurant also for little ones. Breakfast was the fairly standard buffett and could have been better. There was a lovely lounge area to sit and have a coffee or drink at any time with free wi games for the kids and free computer access.

It is right next door to Darling Harbour and everything is within walking distance. Of course the rooms were expensive as are all Sydney hotels.

Room Tip: Harbourview room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even though I was upgraded I didn't rate this hotel much. All the furniture looked like a cheaper version than IKEA. It was however clean.

The location in Darling Harbour is near the monorail and you can walk to the main area, I'm just not sure I liked doing it as an alone female.

The gym was unimpressive and when sitting outside there was a lot of cockroaches coming out of the drains.

I wouldn't stay here voluntarily again, but for some reason my company keeps picking it.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Ria_UK,

Thank you for writing this review.

We are sorry to hear that your experience at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour did not meet your expectations and we apologise for the inconveniences caused during your stay. We have a preventative maintenance program in place which includes pest control measures every three months and this includes the outside terraces area where you state you saw the cockroaches. Should anything like this be noticed during your stay, we ask that you contact the hotel staff immediately so that the situation can be rectified.

In relation to the Gym area, we had this refurbished last year with new flooring and an air conditioning system. To date we have received some great feedback in this area. We would be interested to know what you felt was unimpressive about the Gym and would welcome this feedback on your next stay.

Safety in Darling Harbour is something only you can make that decision about but as employee of an establishment in the area we can say that we feel this area is safe and without incident.

Ria_UK, once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again at Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour soon. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail I can be contacted on +61 2 9288 7107 or h1181-am@accor.com

Kind regards
Klaus Kinateder
Acting General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I chose Novotel because I knew the chain and the name, but I have to mention that was a bad experience.
In Australia all prices are terrible such as in Brazil, but the service that they presented it is horrible.
I asked a simple power addaptor and took me about 4,5 hours to get one, only after I claim to talk to the manager.
For people traveling from abroad on business is not a good place to stay, You have to pay for all internet and is something that today is excential.
I was totally disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelOJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear JoelOJunior

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. The power adaptors we provide are complementary for all our guests and we apologise that there was none available on the morning of your arrival.

We have different options for internet with complimentary wifi access in the lobby, a complimentary Mac corner and Business Center with complimentary internet and copy facilities on Level 1.

JoelOJunior, please aceept our apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. Should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail I can be contacted on +61 2 9288 7107 or email h1181-am@accor.com.

Kind regards
Klaus Kinateder
Acting General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I've chosen to stay at several of Accor's hotels over the years, from Formule 1 through to Sofitel but struggle to think of a reason why I would choose to stay here again. The location might be worthwhile if you must be near Darling Habour perhaps but only if you are looking for an average Sydney service experience.

The room was a little tired, particularly the bathroom. The hotel style is a little dated looking also, possibly from the 80s. The breakfast was ok but nothing spectacular.

Our overall stay here was however ruined at checkout by a very rude staff member who refused to believe our booking included breakfast. When we finally managed to extract the booking email out from the iPhone to prove the listed breakfast he finally started to listen. Unfortunately though, the staff member who checked us in had only officially listed one person (in error, the booking had 2 and we were both there at check in) he refused to budge and charged us the full amount for one of the breakfasts - it was like he had an agenda and a point to prove, either that or had very strict management. The breakfast is definitely not worth paying for either by the way, go find a nice cafe nearby!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landersonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear landersonic,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We are concerned to hear of your check out experience. This is not the standard of customer service we provide and have discussed this with the Front Office Team to ensure this does not occur in the future.

Here at Novotel we are continually adding new offerings on our buffet to ensure we have the best possible standards. It is Novotel brand standard Australia wide to have organic offerings, Barista made coffee to order and eggs any style or omelet’s cooked by our breakfast chef. Further to this, here at Darling Harbour we offer Congee, Poha, fresh orange juicing machine plus many more.

Landersonic, once again please accept our apologies. Whilst we cannot turn back the clock o your experience, we certainly value your patronage and do hope to see you again one day soon so that we may have the opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from Novotel.

Kind regards
Klaus Kinateder
Acting General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#69 of 177 in Sydney
627 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing