We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist in my own town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #74 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Tourist in my own town”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A very well located hotel with easy links to the city centre. Our room was not ready when we arrived however check-in staff handled the sitation well. Friendly and efficient staff in all areas of the hotel made this stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    1,784
    814
    252
    175
See reviews for
1,364
1,443
256
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was a very convenient place located in the heart of Darling Harbour. Great size rooms for family. We had two teenagers with us and room was plenty big enough for all of us. Excellent Staff who were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Service was extremely terrible. 1st day there, kids went swimming - no towels available. Requested 3x and an hour later, still no towels. Asked the maid, "can't give - not enough". Next day, requested for new towels and was turned away again "not enough - call room service". At the end, went to buy new towels for following day swim.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Accorhotels.com Traveller,

Thank you for your comments.

We are most concerned to hear of your feedback in relation to the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies that we did not meet your expectations.

Due to the number of people in the hotel over the festive season, towels were in high demand and continually being stocked up and processed to keep up with the higher than usual demand. We pride ourselves in our warm customer service and we are disappointed to hear that you have experienced less than perfect service. For this we sincerely apologise. We have passed the feedback to our Executive Housekeeper who will be addressing the concerns with the team to ensure that our guests are being given the relevant information and resources to enjoy their stay. Certainly we will also follow up with our Housekeeping team members, who normally are very obliging to our guests as this is very out of character.

Accorhotels.com Traveller, we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly and discuss your concerns and most importantly the need to purchase toweling when it should have been supplied by the hotel. Please feel free to contact me on 02 9288 7107 or h1181-am@accor.com. We certainly value your feedback and hope that we could welcome you back once again when you are next traveling to Sydney so that we may have an opportunity to redeem ourselves to you.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The experience i had with this hotel was the worst i have ever come across.The service at my check in was horrible.I was accused of fraud because i had my name on the accor advantage plus member for the day voucher (which was sent to me from accor) and not the card holders name.It took over 2 hours to check me in.Upon check out,my credit card was charged double the amount of the room rate and $50 hold deposit.Still waiting for the hotel to fax my bank a release confirmation letter.It was an appauling service and will never stay there again.I will be notifying the travel adviser website about my experience..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drums72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Accorhotels.com Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback and explaining the details of your stay.

Firstly, please accept our apologies for the less than favorable stay you had with us.

We have investigated your concerns and have found that our reception team along with our Front Office Manager explained and talked with you at length regarding the use of the complimentary voucher and that it is issued for the actual Advantage Plus member only. It was also discussed that the use of the free night voucher by a third person is not permitted as per the terms and conditions set by Advantage Plus. These terms and conditions were also shown to a guest in your party which had them clearly printed on the voucher.

Accorhotels.com Traveller, we would very much appreciate having the opportunity to discuss the matter with you further. I can be contacted on +61 2 9288 7107 or email h1181-am@accor.com. We value your patronage and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you to avoid any such inconveniences to you.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel is a total rip-off. We were charged $329 per night for what we thought was a luxury room but was pretty standard and nothing special. Even at this price breakfast was not included and internet was extra. And then on top of that they charged almost $15 for paying by credit card.- am I supposed to carry large amounts of cash around? I have never been charged any extra for paying by credit card by any hotel chain before. The receptionist was not helpful with any explanation. The cleanliness was very basic - we found a lump of metal on the carpet floor that I almost cut my foot on - so the room had not be cleaned properly. I have certainly paid a lot less per night for a far better hotel. Needless to say - I will not be staying at the Novotel Darling Harbour again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Accorhotels.com Traveller,

Thank you for the time you took to write this review. We very much appreciate your comments and hope to clarify some of your concerns.

There is 1.5% surcharge for all credit card payments which is stated on our reservations terms and conditions as well as signage on our reception desks. These surcharges have been in place in all Accor properties along with most other Hotel chains since 2008 and indeed many service and retails outlets in Australia. Whilst we have found that most people are aware of these surcharges, we do apologise however if this was not made clear to you on this occasion.
We have investigated the room cleanliness with our Executive Housekeeper and vacuuming is the last thing that is done in the hotel room before a final inspection, clearly on this occasion we have missed an area for which we sincerely apologise. We are also very relieved to know that you were not harmed in any way. We will follow up with our Housekeeping team to ensure these issues do not reoccur.
Traveller, we would very much appreciate having the opportunity to discuss the matter with you further. I can be contacted on +61 2 9288 7107 or email h1181-am@accor.com . We value your patronage and should you decide to return to Sydney and stay at our hotel we would welcome the opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from Novotel.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Hotel is clean and good service received from staff. It is in a good location, just behind harbourside shopping centre at darling harbour but looks a bit old inside - probably due for an upgrade in furniture?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 28, 2011

no guidance or information on facilities when we first checked in took us a while to find the pool area, bath had dirt in it had to clean it before we bathed our young child, one towel was dirty. credit card was debited the holding deposit had to wait 4 days for it to be credited back to our account.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Accorshotels.com Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback - we value your advice.

Your comments have been discussed at length with our Front Office Manager and Executive Housekeeper. The hotel facilities should be explained to you upon check in and we apologise that this did not take place. It will be addressed with our team to ensure that this does not occur again. The room cleanliness has been addressed with our Housekeeping team to ensure that our rooms are cleaned to the highest standard. For your information our bath tubs are cleaned with a specially designed bathroom cleaner that is approved for use in hotels and the bath is first step in the process when cleaning a bathroom.

In regards to the credit card holding deposit, as this was the method of payment you would have nominated to use, the money held is not charged by the Hotel rather held as a deposit for services that will be used. If you chose to use another method of payment then the Hotel would have released the amount upon check out. It can take 1-5 working days for the money to be released back onto the card by the bank issuer and no interest is charged on the monies held. We apologise if the monies were not released back onto your card immediately, had we been made aware we would have contacted the bank on your behalf to have the money released as soon as possible. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further. I can be contacted on +61 2 9288 7107 or email h1181-am@accor.com

Accorshotels.com Traveller, we certainly value your feedback and hope that we could welcome you back once again when you are next traveling to Sydney so that we may have an opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from Novotel.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#67 of 179 in Sydney
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing